We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great neo Catalan food”
Review of Cal Ros

Cal Ros
Ranked #79 of 511 Restaurants in Girona
Price range: $34 - $89
Cuisines: Diner, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Girona, Spain
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great neo Catalan food”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Traditional Catalan food with a modern twist to it. Great ingredients and fantastic value. We had a lunch "menú" for 21 EUR each including wine and water and enjoyed it a lot. Everything was really good. The only very minor minus could be that after paying so little for such a copious meal, coffees at 2 Euros and above felt a bit expensive, though they brought a couple of little chocolates with them. People were very nice and kind too, and wait before and between dishes was fine. Really great value.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    68
    31
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just Perfect”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

My father and I were in Girona for Christmas Day and had been recommended this restaurant by our hotel. It was a total gem. The quality of the food was exceptional.The service was professional and friendly. The decór warm and simple elegance. Bunyols de bacalla (cod fritters) and the secret ibèric (pork with salsify and baby artichoke) were absolutely delicious. It would be worth a trip to Girona just to revisit this restaurant!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caterina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Solid Traditional Catalan Fare”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Cal Ros was cam highly recommended by several locals. The food was quite good. Worth the trip. Portions can be quite big; if you're sampling multiple dishes, you might consider asking for a half-portion.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank manglwurzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great dining experience”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

When we arrived it felt like we were in someones dining room. The staff made us feel very welcome and immediatly brought out a home made martini aperitif and some fresh breads and different oils. There were a number of different "amuse bouche" at different parts of the meal which are added to your bill but they were all wonderful so enjoy. Wine list was great and very reasonable. Service was amazing and presentation great too.
We have made reservations to return later this month for All Saint day cant wait.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Charming and in the heart of the Old Town of Girona”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Cal Ros is one of my favorite places to eat in Girona. It is run by a lovely couple of locals, always ready to be of help.
They bake their own bread and always have a little amuse-bouche ready to serve while we wait for the food.
Their vegetables are superfresh and local, and their menu changes according to the season produce.
The recipes are traditional Catalan cooking served in an elegant presentation.
My favorite dish of all was undoubtedly their caneloni. It's actually only one long big canelloni with a delicious mix of meats and white sauce. It's the only food I actually miss since I became a vegetarian!
I love its decoration keeping the feel of a Catalan mansion, and the fact that there's not too many people there: great way to get away from the crowds.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martalv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cal Ros also viewed

Girona, Province of Girona
Girona, Province of Girona
 
Girona, Province of Girona
Girona, Province of Girona
 
Girona, Province of Girona
Girona, Province of Girona
 

Been to Cal Ros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing