We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely ancient building, in the middle of the old town”
Review of Casa Cundaro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Cundaro
Ranked #4 of 15 Girona B&B and Inns
Amsterdam
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lovely ancient building, in the middle of the old town”
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Casa cundaro is part of hotel Historic. We chose casa cundaro because we like to have an apartment instead of a hotel room. Our apartment was located on the top floor and had 2 bedrooms. The kitchen was basic as was the seating area. I would have given this 5 stars if the kitchen was not that basic. It would have helped to have a watercooker eg. The location of casa cundaro is excellent, in the middle of the old town, next to the cathedral. We slept with earplugs so we didn't hear the bells going every hour. If you are a light sleeper, then this location is probably not suited for you.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saiho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    37
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
22
30
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed in room 202 on the third floor of these apartments in old Girona. The location is a bit of a hike up beautiful cobbled streets, near the Cathedral. The windows of our two room apartment looked over an inner courtyard with a nice view of vine covered, thousand year old buildings.
We had two beds in one room that could have slept three people, and a second, large kitchen/living room. We didn't have a chance to use the kitchen during our short stay.
Bathroom was modern. There is a shower but no tub.
Lots of stairs to walk up if that is problem. Cathedral bells ring every 15 minutes (loudest on the hour) which might bother some but we very quickly got used to it.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pgseee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

A lovely hotel in the centre of the old town of Girona. It's a short taxi ride from the train station... and literally on the doorstep of the cathedral. For anyone driving, please note that parking is limited. On arrival you'll need to pop to the nearby Hotel Historic (1 min walk round the corner) to check in. The front of the hotel is gated so you'll be given a key to gain access. The rooms are spacious, rustic with lots of character. The hotel is only a short walk from the shops and restaurants. Be sure to walk along the old city wall which you can access from the cathedral garden - you'll see some lovely views of the city.

If you're a light sleeper, beware of the cathedral bell which rings throughout the night.

Would highly recommend.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Droulli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here last Dec (very late reviewing I know). We had a great couple of days. We had a one bed apt that overlooked the garden on the second floor. This place is very safe and well cared for. It was lovely and warm with plenty of hot water . It was clean and felt like staying in a grand house rather than an apt.Our apt was very quiet ( bells very faint in this apt) It had a large living/dining kitchen a full bathroom and a bedroom with a double and single bed in it.
The owner Snr Moreno was very helpful and carted our luggage to the apt and even pointed out his home in case we needed anything which is rare customer service these days.
Being in this part of Girona felt very special and made our break that bit more enjoyable. We go back shortly and cannot wait as we are staying here again we wouldnt stay anywhere else now as big chain hotels are so souless. This place is a gem. You get tours passing by who want to get inside as the house has a big garden which is pretty rare in this part of the city. Theres a lot of history here and that what makes it such a nice place to stay. Go you will love it.

Room Tip: Our room was quiet so ask for one overlooking the garden if you want peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I guess that the only negative is the stairs: we were on the 2nd floor. Apart from that the rooms are large and comfortable, the facilities are good and the beds moderately comfortable. The service was great: we were allowed to leave luggage in the apartment when we went away for a few days at no extra charge. This halved the number of times we had to move the luggage up and down the stairs and I really appreciated it.

Cleaning and servicing of the rooms was good.

One tip: if you are a light sleeper then the sound of the cathedral bells in the early morning could be a problem (we could see the bell tower overhead through the skylight in our bedroom).

Room Tip: Choose the first floor if climbing stairs is a problem or to reduce the noise from the church bells.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick_Keogh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We just had a great stay at Casa Cundaro. I was travelling with my family, so we rented out three rooms (see photos). It is a very old building in the Jewish quarter of Old Town Girona. The location couldn’t be more perfect. It is right in the center of where you want to be. The rooms are each unique in their layouts and the number of beds available. Some are actually suites with kitchenettes and additional beds, which would be ideal for families.

Just a few things to be aware of –
1. There is no air conditioning, although they do provide a fan.
2. There are bells that go off quite frequently. Bring earplugs if that sort of thing keeps you awake.
3. It is very difficult to find! I would email for precise directions (both parking and walking) in advance of your stay.

If I find myself in Girona again, I would definitely stay here, because you just can’t beat the location or price!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Don't bother, over priced, bad service & ugly rooms. The area is beautiful with little effort they could improve the decor. It looks like the last time they decorated was in the 80's. Also the rooms are not at the acual address of the hotel,

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Girona hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
#2 of 20 in Girona
759 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Historic
Hotel Historic
#13 of 20 in Girona
334 reviews
0.8 mi away
Double Tree Hilton  Hotel Girona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona
0.1 mi away
Hotel Museu Llegendes de Girona
0.6 mi away
Hotel Carlemany
Hotel Carlemany
#4 of 20 in Girona
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cundaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cundaro

Property: Casa Cundaro
Address: Pujada Catedral, 7, 17004 Girona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Girona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Cundaro 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Casa Cundaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing