We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than you might think looking at it”
Review of Tony's GIRONA

Tony's GIRONA
Ranked #66 of 616 Restaurants in Girona
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed April 19, 2019 via mobile

Had a lunch here. Was disappointed before I walked i, as the most highly rated tapas bars in Girona were all open for dinner only.

Tonys is part of a chain - and looks it, plastic coated menus with photographs of all dishes, etc. - although in fairness the chain is only found in Catalonia.

The food itself, though, was quite good.

Large tasty fried boquerones, wide selection of jambon, good cod croquettes, reasonable prices and the service better than adequate.

You could probably go a lot worse.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Torbek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 194 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2019

It was later on a Monday night, and one of the few places open. Our waiter gave us a selection of tables and started us off with a beverage as soon as we were ready. His service was warm and friendly, and the beer was good. Unfortunately, the food that followed wasn't. We had the chicken wings and cod croquettes, neither of which were good. We were hungry so we ate most of them anyways. Good location, and nice staff, but they need to serve better prepared food. Sorry to report, but our worst meal in Girona.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2019 via mobile

We are really confused by the (good) reviews for this restaurant on TripAdvisor. The food we had was tasteless, luke-warm at best and certainly not fresh...for the week it seemed, not just the day.

I don't like to leave negative reviews but I would seriously advise to skip this place. Both my wife and I felt nautious after we got back to our hotelroom that evening.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank jgbos77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2019 via mobile

Very good place. We ordered 2 glass of wine, veal cheek and steak, both served with potato. All in around 30 eur. Everything were very tasty. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank renatk2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2018

Fantastic tapas a and a great variety of dishes to choose from, centrally located, popular with the locals also - always a good sign! Good wines, great service and the Galician octopus and padron peppers & juevos were exceptional.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank velo-oeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celedonio M, Director General at Tony's GIRONA, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2018

Thanks for your comment, we wish to see you again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tony's GIRONA also viewed

Girona, Province of Girona
Girona, Province of Girona
 
Girona, Province of Girona
Girona, Province of Girona
 
Girona, Province of Girona
Girona, Province of Girona
 

Been to Tony's GIRONA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing