We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just had a few beers here” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Konig

Konig
Ranked #92 of 491 Restaurants in Girona
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Bar, Mediterranean, European, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Located in an emblematic spot in the old part of town of Girona, from which terrace you can enjoy the magnificent views of the Plaza de San Felix, dominated by the church of Sant Fèlix. Next to a hallmark of the city as 'El cul de la Lleona'. This may be the ideal starting point to visit the old town and the famous Jewish Quarter of Girona.You will enjoy a large selection of salads and sandwiches. True to the great quality of our products, such as our meat, well known for its quality from 'Casa Baldiró' in Banyoles, Girona. Our specialty are our sandwiches made with focaccia bread or English bread and the extensive list of hamburguers. All accompanied with a juice, smoothie or of our large selection of beers.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
170 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Just had a few beers here”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We just had a few beers on the heated terrace, service good and quick. €2,70 for half a liter. Paulaner was rather expensive, almost €5.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PoisonedIvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    142
    73
    32
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Forde, Norway
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good for a burger”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I tend to go here when I am hungry on the "wrong" times in spain. When everything else is closed during siesta this place is usually open. The offer a varied selection of sandwiches/ burger and tapas, and dont get me wrong - the food is good - its just nothing special when you are in a city of soo many amazing restaurants.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Quick service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

The restaurant is located in the city centre of Girona, right next to the Cathedral, and has two floors (with a total capacity of 100 people more or less). The restaurant was crowded when we arrived, but the service nevertheless was really quick, and the quality good (I had fresh salmon and was very satisfied with my choice).

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank MiguelMeyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice if you like just sandwiches....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

A nice friendly atmosphere. A huge selection of bottled beers,but only 1 on draft from what I could gather. The tapas we're really lovely and piping hot! Set in a nice location in Girona square.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Doe1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girona, Spain
Level Contributor
64 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled, average (at best!)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

There are 3 of these restaurants now in Girona and all having something in common - they are always full (in fact, you usually have to wait in queue even if neighbouring restaurants are quiet) and they always serve up very (very) average food. What are they doing right? Good menu, appeals particularly to youngsters, say older teens and just above, good locations, nice outdoor seating in busy squares and they are cheap (more than a takeaway but cheaper than most sit down restaurants). So far, so popular. The let down - the food, cheap ingredients, made with no flair and, due to the popularity, slow service and no chance of getting served promptly if you forget to order something. Many will say, I can't be right, the busy tables and queues speak for themselves. You don't often see a quiet McDonalds on Saturday night though - does that mean it is good? Overall then, not for me, good luck to them though, good to see them so popular, too many food places struggle in these austere times and, best of all, means no queues at the other places that serve much better grub.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DarrenS1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Konig also viewed

Girona, Province of Girona
Girona, Province of Girona
 
Girona, Province of Girona
Girona, Province of Girona
 
Girona, Province of Girona
Girona, Province of Girona
 

Been to Konig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing