We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mediocre, but cheap”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Blanc

Blanc
Ranked #40 of 498 Restaurants in Girona
Price range: $22 - $33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cocina mediterranea. La inspiracion de este restaurante se traslada a una tienda de ultramarinos, apelando a la formalidad y la nostalgia. Madera robusta, vitrinas con botellas y envases, caracterizan el interiorismo. Fusion mediterranea con reminiscencias orientales en la que conviven en perfecta armonia especias como el clavo, la canela y la nuez moscada junto a productos locales como las verduras frescas, carnes y pescados del dia, otorgando un merecido protagonismo al aceite de oliva Extra Virgen.
London
Level Contributor
316 reviews
267 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
“Mediocre, but cheap”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

We had a lazy Sunday lunch at Blanc and I although none of the dishes were horrendous, none of the dishes were particularly exceptional either...all pretty mediocre and standard uninspired cooking.

We shared the pumpkin soup (6/10) which lacked a bite (maybe add pieces of crisp bacon instead of crisp pumkin?). Then we moved on the Moroccan salad (6/10) and foie gras (7/10). For main dishes we had the duck breast (7/10, cut too thick and sauce lacked finesse) and the gamba pasta (7/10). For dessert we had chocolate fondant (7/10).

The service was ok and the dishes came out fairly quick. The best thing about the restaurant was the price. We paid 65 euros including two glasses of wine and optional service charge.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TKB001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    165
    65
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
105 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“great value Catalonian version of a chic brasserie”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

Adjoining the Ciutad de Gerona Hotel where we stayed,this is where we had breakfast ( good ) and opted for two lunches. The recommended wine of the day was excellent and very reasonably priced. Over the two days we tried four fish dishes - all fresh, light, beautifully presented and interestingly and subtly flavoured eg Cod with a pear,garlic,tomato and cheese sauce which looked and tasted far better than my description sounds! The decor is bright, white and cheerful. Mostly locals eating here and there is a buzz without being too noisy. The service was attentive and friendly. This is neither Michelin star nor Catalonian rustic, but it is an excellent value, modern "white tablecloth" brasserie with a distinctly Catalonian influence in its menu and much better quality food than some apparently more authentic central Girona restaurants . It is also very well located two minutes walk to a bridge across to the old town.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sophie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finlandia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If you eat in Girona, eat here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

A very stylish yet laid back restaurant. Food was excellent quality and prices very reasonable. We were in April 2012 with our little boys and the service was fantastic. I fully recommend to young urban people just as well as to families. Extraordinary!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LottaDoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girona, Spain
Level Contributor
64 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Okay but not a reflection of the local flavour”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

If you come to Girona you will find the restaurants bustling with a constant buzz or large outdoor terraces served quickly by attentive staff. This is the opposite, very clinical, crisp service with no personality and a distinctly med rather than catalan food choice. You could be anywhere. Look for local flavour elsewhere.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DarrenS1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunel, France
Level Contributor
152 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“our hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

the hotel dining t room and our side restaurant combined
very popular with locals as good food and prices lunches 3 courses at 10 euros including some winr e is a steal

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank alicia71lunel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blanc also viewed

Girona, Province of Girona
Girona, Province of Girona
 
Girona, Province of Girona
Girona, Province of Girona
 
Girona, Province of Girona
Girona, Province of Girona
 

Been to Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing