We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Seafood in the Eixample” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ca La Nuri

Ca La Nuri
Reserve with
Ca La Nuri is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,287 of 9,317 Restaurants in Barcelona
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Eixample
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great Seafood in the Eixample”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

When we couldn't get a reservation at one of the seaside restaurants by the port, we did some online research and decided to give this place a try. We were greatly rewarded with one ofthe best dinners we enjoyed in Barcelona. The place has a nice clean, contemporary look, with white chairs and tablecloths. We were seated right away. Most of the other patrons were locals, especially groups of friends or extended families.
Had a very inventive soup as a starter. It was a Tomato-Strawberry gazpacho with mozzarella balls and sardines. It tasted great, much better than it sounds! We decided to share the paella of fruits de mer with vermicelli ( fideos are more common in Catalonia than rice). Plenty of seafood, including squid, mussels, clams, octopus, and langostines. Great meal! Service was very efficient, somewhat of a rarity in Spain. Total meal for 2 with a nice bottle of Penedes white and desserts and coffee came to about 70 euros.
I would go back, and would recommend if you are in the Eixample and desire a nice seafood place without having to walk to the Barceloneta.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Grnwayrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    147
    75
    25
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

This is a nice seafood restaurant to go and enjoy a relaxed meal. The menu is not that extensive, which to me is a good sign... meaning they only offer a select number of dishes, which they do with love.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Barnsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
174 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice modern restaurant with good seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

The four of us had excellent salads and seafood with excellent service. I would definitely recommend visiting here when you are in the Eixample district.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kwanyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Much better than the ranking suggests”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

This is a great place to dine - mostly frequented by locals this is definitely worth venturing off the beaten track for. Your journey will be rewarded by the most authentic Paella you've ever tasted. Prepare yourself for the wait with a selection of Tapas: anchovies that are home cured; potatoes with spicy tomatoe sauce and aioli; calamares to die for; fresh bread rubbed with garlic and tomatoe. This is a proper Catalan dining experience by the sea. The wine list deserves attention for its selection of good local wines at reasonable prices with staff that really understand them. The desserts though not adventurous are all produced in the kitchens and a delight. Try and speak Spanish and the service will be attentive and forgiving of your poor language skills. Don't try and then you're just another tourist that strayed off the beaten path. Personally I love this place and will certainly return.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JR958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Delicious rice/paella”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

This place serves the best paella I have tasted. It is worth the wonder off the main streets.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Theodora-x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ca La Nuri also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Ca La Nuri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing