We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A part of Uruguay in Barcelona”
Review of La Rueda

La Rueda
Ranked #2,047 of 9,690 Restaurants in Barcelona
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Gracia
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A part of Uruguay in Barcelona”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I have a father from Uruguay and have been brought up on Uruguayan food and this is the real thing and it is very good quality.Environment in restaurant is typical Uruguay,with a beautiful flag that is aurinegro,campeon del siglo.I have only left food to times when I have been out to eat,in this place I had to leave delicios food I was to full in my stomach.when i lived in Sweden people eat potatoes and meat in this place you eat meat and a half potato i like that :) delicious huge meat pieces and adobe sauce to put on meat.chorizos and bread with tomato on also very good.good,fast service and a tv on that nobody watches just like when i visited Uruguay.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MPnr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    113
    63
    30
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Uruguayan restaurant!”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Despite the entrance of the restaurant, wou'll find a nice place to eat.

This is the kind of place you have to go starving to death, because quantity of meat of every dish is for monsters (and even monsters would have problems to eat the whole dishes).

I strongly suggest to try their casserole of differents meats for 2 people. The price of this one is pretty cheap for all the food you'll have to eat, but if you love meat you'll be in heaven for 1 hour.

Also the sirloin or steak with roquefort sauce is great (I think the beef is from Uruguay, not the same kind of veals we have in Europe) but you can order this without the sauce, the meat is great! Burnt outside and red inside, lovely!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank architectBCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious steak!”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

This place was amazing! I never expected to find such good steak in Europe given the food we had prior to this experience. Everything was delicious and reasonably priced. I would go back again in a heartbeat. Do not miss this restaurant in Barcelona!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank myrtle555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belize
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“beefy”
Reviewed February 22, 2012

After sometime craving steak, was directed to La Rueda and went with a large group. The storefront grill was a great sign of things to come. I may have over ordered a bit. Most everyone had steak, they were all big and delicious, though some were a bit over cooked, but not enough to ruin the meal. There was one order of Cochonillo (suckling pig) which left some things to be desired. My highlight was the Sweetbread appetizer. It was surprisingly enormous amount of food and cooked to perfection. This alone merits a return visit. I look forward to going back but will try some sort of 'mixed meat tray' which I had seen on other tables. It is by no means a GREAT steakhouse, but for anyone in Barcelona who has the urge it is worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scro830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Better before”
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Used to be amazing but the quality has slacked recently, the meat seems of a lower quality, but the portions remain as enormous

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank RichWebber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Rueda also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to La Rueda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing