We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food, relaxed atmosphere”
Review of Pulperia A Gudina

Pulperia A Gudina
Ranked #874 of 9,770 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $37
Cuisines: Seafood, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: El Raval
La Teste-de-Buch, France
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice food, relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Popped by this restaurant after reading the reviews on trip advisor (nothing new), family of 3; including a 3 year old toddler.

Although there was a link for reservation on City Guide, it was not necessary on my night of visit - Saturday (strange as it seems; as one may expect such places to be packed). Bustling with loads of life throughout our dinner - Mixed group of 8 middle-aged customers came by to celebrate birthday, and another group of 10 youngsters on a Saturday night out. All in, it was certainly a nice experience.

Perhaps we were early by spanish standards - 9:30pm.

There were a few tables of 4 - 5 pax (all locals), and atmosphere was relaxed, but staff were still efficient and prompt in their service. A middle-aged waiter attended to us, and spoke english.

Now onto the food:

1. Galician Octopus was soft with the right amount of chewiness,
2. "Small fried fish" (similar to Japanese Shisamo without the pregnant bellies) was crispy without the feel of having been soaked in oil,
3. Fried green peppers was sweet, although it could be a lot less oily, and
4. Potatoes with farm fresh egg was soo good my daughter finished 2/3 of the plate.

Wine was served in a very unique container that I mistook for a device to put my green pepper stalks (which were of course not edible). Waiter had a good laugh.

5 dishes, 3 desserts & 1/2 a jug of white wine cost around 65€.

We were all stuffed to the brim. Luckily we planned this as a meal break en-route to the magic fountain display.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fv18m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    146
    47
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Tapas 4 U”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Made two visits to this lovely Tapas Bar. Wonderful food, very pleasant staff (Manuel deserves special mention )
Manuel guided us through some lovely choices of various Tapas.. Wine and Cerveza very good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BernieBowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

. The restaurant was quite a distant from our hotel but we are so happy to have gone. Restaurant is very simple looking , nothing trendy but has the most delicious seafood all prepared so differently . The grilled octopus was so soft and spicy- just perfect. We enjoyed both the house red and white wine . Visit this place if you are looking for delicious seafood in a casual environment .

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peachdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great tapas (especially seafood)!”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

The restaurant offers a stream of delicious and fresh tapas in an informal setting. The waiters are wonderful, always smiling and happy to go through the menu and offer recommendations. Upon our arrival, we were shown to the fresh seafood counter, where we selected some amazing looking langoustines that were soon after brought to our table, simply grilled. Delicious! We tried several meat, vegetable and fish/seafood tapas and we were happy with every single one. The house wine is great and reasonably priced, too. The restaurant was full of locals, which is always a good sign. Strongly recommended!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tuscany82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“If you like seafood, very good”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

went to this bar/restaurant last night and it was really good.

We had the sepia and the octopus and both were really well cooked. The wine is cheap and very drinkable.
My husband was less impressed as he isn't a huge fan of cuttle fish and octopus etc. so for him, there wasn't enough meat on the menu so I wouldn't recommend it if you want standard tapas but if you like seafood tapas then it's really great. Very relaxed environment and friendly, helpful staff.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrsdutchburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pulperia A Gudina also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Pulperia A Gudina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing