We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Enjoyable dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carballeira

Carballeira
Reserve with
Carballeira is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #565 of 8,495 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $66
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Barceloneta
Description: Carballeira is an emblematic restaurant that, since 1944 has been offering the best fresh seafood delivered daily from Galicia.Located in Barceloneta district, a few steps from the sea and right in front of Port Vell, Carballeira has maintained from its beginning, the essence of one of the most popular and authentic seafood restaurants in town.Local waiters with years of experience ensure an excellent service.Delectable seafood carefully selected. Delicious rices: with lobster, "a banda" or black with cuttlefish. Line-caught fish, succulent dishes of monkfish, bass, turbot or hake. And for meat lovers a good T-bone steak or a Galician Veal entrecote. A wide selection of dishes to please every taste.SPECIAL SERVICES • Private dining rooms with natural light inside for groups of 10-40 people. Group menus, also customizable.• All day dining service from 13h to 24h, to dine at your leisure.
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
217 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Enjoyable dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

If you want fresh seafood this is the place to get it. We arrived without a reservation but were seated right away at the front. I thought the place was small but it is larger than it looks. The service was very good though they don't speak very much english. The prices are reasonable and you get a good quanity of food. We tried some new dishes and loved them. Try the anchovies or the codfish as a starter.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Raymond V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    105
    41
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“very nice place for eating fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

If it had not been for the recommendation of a good friend we would probably not have looked for it / found it.

As we arrived quite early (just had flown in in the morning and wanted and early dinner) we had the place all to ourselves.

The staff was very friendly and helpful (only problem was with the English - but with a little goodwill from both sides that is no real problem)

Foodwise we tried the octopus and the cocotxas as main courses and can recommend both.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jaeger_37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great seafood good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

We dropped in to Restaurante Carbelleira at 9.30pm and easily got a table for 3. However, the place was full by the time we left. The seafood in the display cabinet is fresh and we enjoyed 3 mains-the oven baked monkfish with onion and potato, octopus and scampi. The bottle of spanish white wine was terrific. 2 desserts and a coke and water and 2 espressos cost us 100 euros. Desserts were average, but that is not why we came here. If I had the chance to dine here again I would try the entrees as well and skip the dessert. Also noticed diners next to us with paella and they chose the fresh lobster - looked great! I must say the waiters were all very jovial we were the only tourists on the night.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank walnuticus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Carballeira, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Carballeira, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Walnuticus,
We really appreciate your kind words about our Restaurant. We are also glad you had enjoyed with all the food and wine, that’s definitely our best reward. We are looking forward to seeing you again if you have the chance to drop by here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Traditional”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Classic fish restaurant, on side street just back from sea in Barceloneta. Late on a summer Friday (10.30pm) it was mostly locals eating. Good fish but lacking in atmosphere. More somewhere to eat and move on than to kick back and relax.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank samliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Simple good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

A trademark of Galicia cuisine is that it is of very good quality and simple cooking I mean no elaborate recipes. This restaurant fulfills the expectation for a good meal.
We asked for sole meuniere for 4 persons, we were surprised the fish was served crispy fried filets instead of grilled, on a bed of meuniere sauce, never mind the fish was fried to perfection, probably one of the best fried fish filets I have ever head. Price tag was a little bit high.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gaston22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carballeira also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Carballeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing