We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Simple good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carballeira

Carballeira
Reserve with
Carballeira is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #576 of 8,918 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $66
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Barceloneta
Description: Carballeira is an emblematic restaurant that, since 1944 has been offering the best fresh seafood delivered daily from Galicia.Located in Barceloneta district, a few steps from the sea and right in front of Port Vell, Carballeira has maintained from its beginning, the essence of one of the most popular and authentic seafood restaurants in town.Local waiters with years of experience ensure an excellent service.Delectable seafood carefully selected. Delicious rices: with lobster, "a banda" or black with cuttlefish. Line-caught fish, succulent dishes of monkfish, bass, turbot or hake. And for meat lovers a good T-bone steak or a Galician Veal entrecote. A wide selection of dishes to please every taste.SPECIAL SERVICES • Private dining rooms with natural light inside for groups of 10-40 people. Group menus, also customizable.• All day dining service from 13h to 24h, to dine at your leisure.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Simple good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

A trademark of Galicia cuisine is that it is of very good quality and simple cooking I mean no elaborate recipes. This restaurant fulfills the expectation for a good meal.
We asked for sole meuniere for 4 persons, we were surprised the fish was served crispy fried filets instead of grilled, on a bed of meuniere sauce, never mind the fish was fried to perfection, probably one of the best fried fish filets I have ever head. Price tag was a little bit high.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gaston22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    123
    46
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“One of the best fish places in Barcelona”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

This is a great fish restaurant, if you're in fish a must to visit. Maybe a bit hard to find, cropped away in a little street, but worth the search. The restaurant is friendly from the inside and re-painted recently but the chairs (a little bit uncomfortable) are still there. However the food is great and served with a smile. And don't forget to save some space for a great desert, their sticks with vanilla cream!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frans C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oslo
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic food , great service and good price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Popped in to this small cosy restaurant close to the beach . Alive seafood to choose from at the table. This is a place where local people go so try it you will like it .

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Noktrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subligny, France
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Very good fish restaurant, nice service, very clean and a big variety of fish. I loved the Squid a la galega. My table friends were a bit disapointed as as the quantity in their plates was concerned. anyway, we would all recommened it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank laoge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Amazing, strongly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

On our recent trip to Barcelona, we went with some friends that had a clear vacation plan. Eat and party their way through Barcelona; and so we ended up at Carballeira.
First of all, the restaurant is located in a very central part of Barcelona, but not on any main street, so I would recommend you get some very good directions before going there. We actually used the maps app to get us there even when we were very close. Added help, the signage for Hostal Miramar, located opposite the restaurant, is actually much more visible. Just like many businesses in the city this one, is locked behind rolling metal blinds during the day, so if you go there during the day you would get absolutely no idea of the great restaurant located just step from you. Parking in the area is a challenge so the restaurant offers valet parking, which takes about the entire street in front of the restaurant. Watching the valet shuffling expensive cars in and out is entertaining in itself, given the fact the street is a cull de sac, about three cars wide, and he would park three cars from one end to the other when busy; very cool.
Second important thing is to make reservations. This could be tricky especially during the weekend, so call well in advance. The place was packed during our visit.
Once you get in the restaurant, you realize that this is a high end seafood restaurant. Everything is spotless, service is impeccable and there is wide range of seafood available. We chose a number of dishes and we ended up sharing just like tapas, although that was not our initial intention. Strongly recommend the seafood platter, for two, expensive but very much worthwhile and the opposite end of the price range, the white anchovies in vinegar. These two dishes were absolutely amazing.
I yet have to have some bad wine, when in Spain, and Carballeira did not break the trend. Wine prices while elevated, were still very reasonable compared to North America. The restaurant has a good selection of wines well paired with the food.
For a great dinner for four, with a good amount of wine, we paid about 200 euros, tips included.
In my opinion, Carballeira is definite must during a trip to Barcelona.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveler2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carballeira also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Carballeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing