We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Food and Service”

El Rey de la Gamba-2
Ranked #1,790 of 9,400 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $21 - $43
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Barceloneta
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband, my son, my daughter in law and myself wanted to have a late lunch at around 4pm but everything was closing. apparently most restaurants in Barcelona close at 4pm and reopen for dinner at 6 or 6:30pm. We went into El Rey De La Gamba because it was the only one still serving lunch! We were very happy with the food and the service. My son and his wife each wanted a different 2 person plate, so the waiter offered to get half the portion for each, which was very nice of him. We paid half the price for each dish. My husband and I had Paella, that really tasted good. We all enjoyed ourselves and would definitely go back on our next trip.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NimetEgypt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,490 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    392
    447
    241
    156
    254
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“bill cheating”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We always enjoyed eating in this restaurant whenever we go to Barcelona. But this time the waiter was presenting us with a bill which the plate was divided into two plates and with a total which was 6 Euros superior to the correct price. We told the waiter, he was trying to give us all kind of excuses, the 10% service was not included, the VAT was not included, etc. With all these included in the final price, there is still 6 Euros different. Normally we are more than happy to give a big tip if the food and service are good. What upset us most is the attitude of the waiter and his superior. None of them wanted to listen or see the calculation or understand the miscalculation. The language was not even a problem as my husband is Spanish mother tongue. It really upset us a lot even though we finally got our money back. You need to check you bill when you eat there.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Esther N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

My husband an I had the paella and the Dorade. And we can't say something bad. The Dorade was very good and the paella was hot and with much different seafood. The guest's were international, the waiters came when you need them. They have different types of sangria. We had the red one. Very good. We would eat there again.

Helpful?
Thank Marion W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Moscow
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“worth to visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

were here together with husband 30 september 2012 and then 1st of October 2012. Took a plate of seafood for 2 persons. Squid was vonderful, the same about fish, srimps and all other staff. This dish is actually not for two, but rather for 4 persons )

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kartushina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunssum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“never go there!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

never ever go there to eat something, this was our most disappointing dinner ever, high prices, terrible food.

Helpful?
Thank Derjoep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Rey de la Gamba-2 also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to El Rey de la Gamba-2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing