We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch stop behind La Boqueria”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Restaurante Papitu

Restaurante Papitu
Ranked #7,451 of 9,396 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $12 - $27
Cuisines: Bar, Mediterranean, Spanish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: El Raval
West Horsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lunch stop behind La Boqueria”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

After wandering around the amazing La Boqueria we wanted somewhere slightly quieter to eat than the bars in the market and found this place just behind. Great service and despite the fact that it was our most expensive lunch Euros 50 for three of us, the food was spectacularly good - I mean really good. Ate tomato bread, gambas a la plancha, entrecote steak, calamares, potato salad - all really perfect.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    51
    18
    17
    73
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the best tapas places in the Boqueria area.”
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

I couldn't agree less with the opinion of Paula1313.
I have been living in Barcelona for 10 years, coming regularly to Papitu and have never been disappointed. It is also one of our favourites when visitors come and are exploring the area close to the Boqueria market.
Here are some of the reasons why we love coming to Papitu:
- Great food using good quality ingredients. Clams, zucchini flower tempura, paella, lentil salad are always good choices.
- genuine Barcelona flavour just off the Ramblas. This is still a family business very popular with locals.
- Efficient and helpful waiters. Although there might be several groups waiting to be seated they will give you an accurate idea of waiting time. They are always accommodating and with a good sense of humor. The manager is generally around which is always a good sign.
- Reasonable pricing
- Great to watch the vibrant atmosphere of the Boqueria market from the terrace
- Open until midnight during the summer. Great to go even for a drink and nibble something really late when the neighborhood is a lot quieter.


Papitu does not take credit cards but draw cash before going or go the nearest ATM a minute away.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nicofrombcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good Tapas”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Found this little locals tapas bar by accident next to a municipal market just off The Ramblas in Barcelona. Good food and drink. Standard prices but very friendly and probably much cheaper than eating on The Ramblas. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian111England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacolod, Philippines
Level Contributor
149 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Very Local and Very Delicious”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My husband and I were looking for a good restaurant at La Boqueria but nothing inside the famous market appealed to us - especially the price. I always go with Rick Steve's recommendation to find a restaurant not within the touristy area but a little off the beaten track - and with only the local language written in chalk on the bulletin board. Papitu is of of these gems outside the La Boqueria market. it is just to the right of the market - several steps outside. We ordered the bread with crushed tomatoes and olive oil, Lentil salad, the Mariscos Paella and the deep fried squash flowers and we had one of the most authentic Catalan dinner in Spain. The servers were very helpful, fast and efficient. There is inside and outside sitting.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JEAN G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
229 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise!”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Too hot inside the Food Halls, right next to them we found Papitu where we got excellent tapas! Not overly exclusive surroundings, still the food convinced us to go back one more time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 1Norwegian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Papitu also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Restaurante Papitu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing