We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creative, efficient, delicious!”
Review of Hisop

Hisop
Ranked #587 of 9,770 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Hisop, the love child of two former Neichel chefs, Oriol Ivern and Guillen Pla, is slightly beyond the Eixample district, and their cuisine is slightly beyond the normal boundaries, as well. The restaurant itself is somewhat monastic with high ceilings and test-tube vases on white walls, each containing a single rose. Yet the ambience at Hisop is lighthearted and relaxed. The dishes are small, intensely flavoured and beautifully presented. The menu is misleadingly simple, 'squab' might be squab with pear puree and tomato confit served with a selection of three different salts and five different peppers. Great carte includes many wines of the region.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Creative, efficient, delicious!”
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We did the tasting menu and were very happy with the creative and delicious dishes they served. The mackerel tartar with green apple ice cream was amazing and gives you an idea of the innovation. The service was excellent and wines perfect for the food choices. They deserve their Michelin star and if I had friend visiting Barcelona I would have no hesitation recommending this restaurant!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beaujae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    141
    81
    27
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious, simple and sophisticated”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

A tasting menu based on the local and the seasonal with a hint of the molecular kitchen held in control by a more traditional catalan style. Every dish inventive and inspired, almost playful like the tiny tuna burger or the caramelized olives that was part of the dessert. The highlight was the way lemongrass and zucchini flower was used for our fish.

Everything on our plates were perfectly cooked with delightful surprises, and if just the waitress would be more willing to present and explain the dishes, the experience would've been perfect.

Definitely our best meal in Spain, ever.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JackTorranceofPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Delightful touch of elegance in a boisterous and flamboyant city”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We ate here following the recommendation of my daughter and it didn't disappoint. The staff were a bit cold and formal at first but soon thawed and engaged with us once they realised we were interested in the food, the wine, the olive oil and the amazing caramelised olives at the end of the meal.
We were hugely interested in the man dining alone next to us who ate with a look of such rapture, wrote in his note book and had a visit from the chef!
I would disagree with one other reviewer who said don't book before 9.30. We booked at 8.30 ( there were another 4 tables booked around that time and more followed shortly after) and it was still after 11.30 when we left so I would say that was perfect.
We had the tasting menu with wine pairing which was useful given that we don't know too much about Spanish wines. I would love to think that we will return one day.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic tasting menu”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

You can't skip Hisop if you visit Barcelona. Excelent creation of mediterranean food.
We have been there with another copule and we has a great time while enjoying a wonderful food.
Very good service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Terelb2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An excellent experience of avant-garde Spanish cuisine”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I regularly visit the HISOP in Barcelona and it’s always a positive experience; I particularly appreciate a daily menu and a la carte dishes prepared with selected, high quality and fresh seasonal products. In my opinion, the combination of traditional know-how with contemporary cuisine techniques (textures, colors, contrasts), of Mediterranean products mixed with a subtle dose of selected imported ingredients and the availability of an affordable and interesting Spanish wines menu, make HISOP one of the most innovative and interesting gastronomic experiences in Barcelona. The restaurant is small and casual (fortunately) and it’s a place where you can enjoy a warm service and an excellent value for money of the current Spanish avant-garde cuisine.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank christoperg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hisop also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Hisop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing