We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great out of the way place”
Review of Arcano

Arcano
Reserve with
Arcano is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #111 of 9,690 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: El Born / La Ribera
Description: Next to one of the main streets of Barcelona, Laietana track and a short walk from the central market of Santa Caterina, Arcane is the restaurant.Located in an old seventeenth-century barn, mark of beautiful Romanesque arched forms and stone walls that crown many of its spaces.The Mediterranean cuisine is an invitation to the traditional recipes of the coastal region from fresh and balanced dishes that will make your stay a real moment of joy and pleasure.Vegetables, meat and fish dishes are a real specialty Josper house you should not miss on your visit to Barcelona.Our extensive letter without being intended to be balanced, with meat imported from Argentina in vacuum packaging, preserving its taste and quality, pastas and homemade pies, grilled cheese, salads with touches of the house, fresh fish and desserts.At noon, the market offers an elaborate menu with excellent value for money. The restaurant has a private event booked, "winery" intimate and cozy space.And if you just want tapas and peck at the bar have an interesting proposal for this purpose, from fried eggs to escalibada coca bread.And after dinner, nothing better than enjoying our cocktails in a relaxed atmosphere and good music.Oh and if you can not be disconnected from the world, do not worry, we have wifi!
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great out of the way place”
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I visited after reading the TA reviews and we were not disappointed. We arrived around 10PM on a Tue night and only a few tables were taken (I love off season) so we were seated right away. The ambiance was exactly like what was described on TA, interesting interior and quiet. The place is off the beaten trail which is nice. We seemed to be the only tourists there as the rest were locals.

The waiter was very attentive with very good English. He helped us with wine selection and table offerings. We began out meal with the tuna tartar. The portion was huge...biggest we have ever seen. The taste was not the best I have had but definitely passable.

My wife ordered mushroom ravioli in a cream sauce which she liked very much. I had the salmon and it was the best prepared piece I have ever had. Hot and steamy but moist throughout and the grilled vegetables were very good. The portions were again large to the point that we skipped desert.

I would recommend this restaurant to anyone wanting out of the La Rambla and harbor tourist traps.

Helpful?
Thank howie611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcano R, Gerente at Arcano, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thanks for coming, Hope to see you suddenly ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,596
    620
    129
    43
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mmmmm”
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Good restaurant - stylish, classy, yet unpretentious. We had a creol menu for 18Eur each and a bottle of wine. Menu included starters, salad, main course (steak) and dessert. Food was really delicious and more than enough. We had a great time.

Helpful?
Thank Ruta P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Arcano R, Gerente at Arcano, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
We are glad to have served you. Thanks for coming, and remember that you can follow our news and events on Facebook/arcanorestaurante
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, great service, amazing sangria”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We dined at Arcano after reading other TA reviews that said come for the sangria, stay for the empanadas. This is exactly what we did. The red wine sangria was wonderful. The empanadas were fantastic. The atmosphere was modern rustic and the service was great. The staff spoke English with us but I am certain they were nice enough that if one wanted to practice Spanish s/he would feel comfortable. The only thing I can't recommend are the roasted vegetables. I have a feeling they were just off that night because they tasted a bit like lighter fluid. Everything else we had, though, was excellent. I'd highly recommend a stop here rather than the touristy area just two blocks away. There were tourists and locals dining here.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank heartinsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcano R, Gerente at Arcano, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Comments like yours, drive us to continue giving the best. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

We went here on our first night after looking through tripadvisor. We could not fault this meal from start to finish. The food was incredible and staff fantastic and friendly. We chose a particular wine and were recommended something else to consider which was delicious! The interior is welcoming with open stone and had a romantic intimate feel. A must visit.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Becky V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcano R, Gerente at Arcano, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Thanks for coming and for your comments. Hope to see you suddenly ;) Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great local restaurant!”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

A great restaurant! Great food great values! Great atmosphere~~~ The waiters were really friendly! I would definitely recommend it when you visit Barcelona!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CY L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcano R, Gerente at Arcano, responded to this review, October 6, 2014
Thanks for your comments. Hope to see you again suddenly. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arcano also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Arcano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing