We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very disappointed”
Review of Arcano

Arcano
Reserve with
Arcano is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #109 of 9,770 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $41
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: El Born / La Ribera
Description: Next to one of the main streets of Barcelona, Laietana track and a short walk from the central market of Santa Caterina, Arcane is the restaurant.Located in an old seventeenth-century barn, mark of beautiful Romanesque arched forms and stone walls that crown many of its spaces.The Mediterranean cuisine is an invitation to the traditional recipes of the coastal region from fresh and balanced dishes that will make your stay a real moment of joy and pleasure.Vegetables, meat and fish dishes are a real specialty Josper house you should not miss on your visit to Barcelona.Our extensive letter without being intended to be balanced, with meat imported from Argentina in vacuum packaging, preserving its taste and quality, pastas and homemade pies, grilled cheese, salads with touches of the house, fresh fish and desserts.At noon, the market offers an elaborate menu with excellent value for money. The restaurant has a private event booked, "winery" intimate and cozy space.And if you just want tapas and peck at the bar have an interesting proposal for this purpose, from fried eggs to escalibada coca bread.And after dinner, nothing better than enjoying our cocktails in a relaxed atmosphere and good music.Oh and if you can not be disconnected from the world, do not worry, we have wifi!
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“very disappointed”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We went here because of all the positive ratings & feedbacks on TripAdvisor. We had such a bad experience. The serice was very nice & friendly, but that is where the positives stop unfortunately. We ordered the King Prawns & the Fried eggs for starter. The fried eggs was a lovely dish. Two of the 5 king prawns were raw. I mentioned this to the waiter & he apologised but there wasn't any replacement. For main we had ordered the Cod with garlic mousseline & the 300g Argentine Angus. My cod was raw & had to be sent back. My husbands steak was the worst cut of meat i've ever seen. He could hardly eat it, it wasn't cooked to his asking, and it was pure gristle & fat. When the waiter bought back my now cooked cod, he also had noticed my husband's distaste at his steak, so bought out a hot plate for my husband to cook his own steak to his liking! We were thinking that when the bill came there would be a discount for the un-cooked meals, but it was at full price & he also gave us the TripAdvisor card so we could write a review...so here is my review! Probably not the kind of review he was hoping for though...

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SophieJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcano R, Gerente at Arcano, responded to this review, October 27, 2014
Thanks for coming. We appreciate your opinion. Please, next time, just tell us what doneness you prefer and we will take care of it. We will consider your suggestion. Best regards !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,638
    631
    133
    43
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food, Sangria, and Service!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

OMG, this place is outstanding! Located just a block from the Cathedral plaza, it's tucked into an interesting narrow side street. The original old stone interior of the restaurant, strategic lighting, trendy set-up, fun music, and warm colors inside invite you to come in and have a drink, tapas, meal of the day, or evening eats.The staff were very attentive, spoke English, and were helpful making recommendations when asked. I initially found this place online through a blog, someone mentioned they found a restaurant that makes authentic sangria (not with Fanta like many places use). Boy am I glad I followed their advice!!

I freely admit I gorged myself on a delicious 1/2 liter of sangria vino (they also had sangria cava), empanada (small like less than size of deck of cards but packs a savory bite), an entre with Catalonian style roasted veggies (roasted peppers, eggplant, onion) with super thin slices of sardines on top of thin slices of crusty toasted bread (it was an outrageously delicious explosion in my mouth!!), then ham and ricotta cheese ravioli in a red pesto sauce (sauce was made with sun dried tomatoes and tasted so deliciously homemade - big fat raviolis), and finally a slice of chocolate cake with hazelnut icecream on top! Total food orgasim! HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!

Oh, and they were super on top of bringing little extras for me to try... a potato mushroom soup served in a small martini glass warm and lemoncello digestif (YUM!)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kmdomnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcano R, Gerente at Arcano, responded to this review, October 27, 2014
Comments like yours will drive us forward and help us to give the best possible service to our clients. Thank you! Hope to see you soon ;) Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Årdalstangen
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant nearby the Catedral”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Great restaurant with eksellent food. Old building from 1065. We will defently be back next time in Barcelona.
Best regards
Norway :-)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcano R, Gerente at Arcano, responded to this review, October 27, 2014
Thanks for coming and for your comments. Hope to see you soon ;) Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Meal and Service”
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

This is a fabulous restaurant, with an incredible old world vibe, great food and friendly service. The red sangria was awesome, and we had skirt steak and lamb chops, both wonderful. I would highly recommend this restaurant if bumping around the Born district.

Helpful?
1 Thank Hal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcano R, Gerente at Arcano, responded to this review, October 27, 2014
Thanks for coming and for your comments. Hope to see you soon ;) Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food, amazing location, superb experience”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Dinner, several days during the 2013 Mobile World Congress. Excellent always. Amazing service, very personal, always felt we were the only ones there, and the place was pretty much full. Reservations are key, and easy to make (mail or phone even the same day) and you can chose for a nice table for 2, or a larger one for your group of 15. The Cellar is excellent for small parties or celebration, you can be seated among hundred of bottles in a unique place.

Their chef Mariano knows his stuff very well. There is a nice fusion of Catalan flavors, Latin American dishes and steaks from Argentina. Their wine menu is very comprehensive, from local cheap Tempranillos, to high end bottles. Don't be shy and ask Gaby, the owner, for that special bottle that is not on the menu ... he always has one reserved for friends and the price/value is superb.

If you are in a hurry try their empanadas and a glass of red for just 3.5 euros ... can beat that in Barcelona.

So, either for a romantic dinner, business lunch or for sharing good wine with friends, this is the place you want to see in Barcelona.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Diego B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcano R, Gerente at Arcano, responded to this review, October 27, 2014
Thanks for coming. It has been our pleasure welcoming you, Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arcano also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Arcano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing