We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent tapas bar with funky atmosphere”
Review of Ginger

Ginger
Ranked #2,089 of 9,689 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $12 - $23
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Description: Ginger, in the heart of the Gothic quarter. Has two entrances: one leads into a cocktail bar and the other, a wine-tasting bar. We also offer deliicious home-made tapas and weekly specials using the very best and freshest ingredients. Low-lighting, good music (including vinyl record nights) and a retro, mellow interior makes Ginger a bar with many possibilities: where you can choose just to sit and enjoy a cocktail, a beer, a gin and tonic, a glass of wine or sample our cooking, rated by our visitors as the best in town......
Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Excellent tapas bar with funky atmosphere”
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Ginger was a great place to have "modern" style tapas with a great selection of cocktails and interesting wine list. Highly recommended for a great night out

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mjj11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    31
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Lovely little out of the way cocktail bar.
Little quirky building, cocktails are fantastic. Been here many times. Never eaten as always come for drink only but the food looks great!

Absolute must visit!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123Emma321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place for a drink”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Didn't eat here (but the food did smell amazing!), but having come across it the drink we popped in for turned into several. Great atmosphere and real gem. Tucked away near Jaume but do go seek it out as definitely worth a visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank thewoodstoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
460 reviews
316 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“On the cusp of being good or bad!”
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Admittedly it was very quiet when we went in which was suprising as it was Easter and most places were heaving.
Maybe that was a clue.
The owner, as many have pointed out is English, having been in Barca 25 years.
Some people found her rude.
We didn't but she wasn't charm personified.
The service was OK.
We wanted a couple of minutes to make up our mind so the server went outside for a smoke?!
The food was OK but not stunning.
Our fault but we chose a wine which was too rich for our palate.
The place itself is a bit chintsy and is laid out on several levels.
It's quite dark and feels "cold" atmoherically.
Maybe it was just when we were there but the music playing was a K-Tel cassette of the worst of the 60's which is a shame as that era produced some mould breaking music.
It's quite quirky which might reflect the Owner's personna.
However I can see some people enjoying the experience.
It is also quite hard to find (an ironic observation given how we felt about it).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent tapas”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

After the disappointing main stream tapas restaurants this was a real find, great food, pleasant surroundings, friendly service.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Timbo186424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ginger also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Ginger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing