We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet tooth” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caelum

Caelum
Ranked #17 of 101 Bakeries in Barcelona
Cuisines: Cafe, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sweet tooth”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here after a tour of the gothic quarter. It has a nice selection of cakes and sweets. I ordered hot chocolate and a piece chocolate cake. They were both good, but together, it was too much of a good thing haha. The hot chocolate is thick, so you'll need to use a spoon. It's a great place, I'd definitely recommend it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank SD0814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    151
    38
    23
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“If ever I go back, this would be at the top of my list!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Was not impressed by the food offerings at BCN, except for this one!

You should know the cute back story of this restaurant and where it currently stands. You will be quite amazed!

Too many options of pastries to choose from!

Have the heavenly hot chocolate at the end as it would overpower your taste buds from experiencing the cakes!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel.Pavico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
126 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Coffee, Tea, and Cake”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We walked in about 8:30 PM for some tea and cake. I have to agree with another reviewer that it was a bit pricey. We were reminded on a couple of occassions that they were closing at 9, but that seems to be standard practice in Spain: they want you out at closing time. The cake was okay, although it was sitting out in the window display without refrigiration for who knows how long. Tea kettle they bring had almost 3 cups in it, so one kettle would have been enough. We ordered 2 because we didn't know any better.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank conquistador2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
169 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“A PIECE OF HEAVEN!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Our tour guide, Aleksandra, from OrangeDonut walking tours, told us about this marvelous establishment. We are so happy she pointed it out and gave us its history, otherwise we would have missed a beautiful experience. This is a unique MUST STOP place in Bari Gotic, and you MUST order the hot chocolate, either with or without orange liquor. It is actually a luscious dark chocolate candy bar that they melt to make the thick drink. We spooned it up slowly, savoring each decadent sip along with an amazing turron (the best I've ever eaten). The goodies here are made by nuns and the wines by monks in the monasteries! We feel truly blessed to have had this experience and will remember it fondly.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodieLuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overpriced, ordinary and rude”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

My wife, daughter and I just visited this place and I have to vent. With so many great places around Barcelona for a coffee and cake, unfortunately we were enticed into this place because it looks awesome from the outside and the reviews on this site are very good. We had 2 cakes and 2 coffees and had to pay 15 euro. In Aussie dollars that is $22!! My wife's coffee was tepid, the cakes were very average, the service slow and rude. The owners looked like they hate retail. We love our coffee and coming from Melbourne know what is good and what isn't - if these people are going to charge so much they should at least go to a basic Barista course. You always have to get ripped off once on a holiday - this is our once

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GregHod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caelum also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Caelum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing