We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience”

La Barca Del Salamanca
Reserve with
La Barca Del Salamanca is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #822 of 9,689 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $40 - $51
Cuisines: Seafood, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Co Durham
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Our party of 6 wandered into this restaurant in Port Olympic on our last night in Barcelona not expecting to have such a fabulous experience. From the outside it just looks like a normal harbour side restaurant. Once you get inside it is huge and able to accomodate around 1200 people. The amazing thing is that even though it can cater to so many, the service and food are absolutely exceptional.
You can view the available fish of the day in a covered walkway between the 2 ground level areas of the restaurant. You can also see into the kitchens and watch the food being prepared.
We had starters and main courses which included prawns, oysters, mussels, seabass and steaks. All were cooked to perfection and tasted delicious.
Our waiter only had a small number of dedicated tables which meant he could take the time to look after us really well.
The waiters were knowledgable and attentive to our every need. To be honest I have never seen so many staff in one restaurant, so you were never left waiting for anything.
This was not a cheap meal out as there are items on the menu that are quite expensive but the main courses ranged from about 20 Euros up to 90+ Euros for some of the more specialised fish dishes.
This was a fantastic experience from the food to the service we received. It really did end our visit on a high and I can highly recommend you try this restaurant - we would definitely return if we visit Barcelona again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jomolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    805
    795
    383
    229
    275
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Conned - be wary”
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Ate here twice as a family group of 5 adults and 3 children. The first night we had a lovely waiter and ok food, not enough choice for children.
The second night, different waiter who pretended that he did have good english, as the meal went on we realised that he actually had very good english. Brought wrong drinks and large beers when we did not ask for them. Over heard us saying that we did not want a starter and pushed and pushed for us to have one. We eventually ordered a starter for 4 people and he brought a stater for 8 people. Fell all over the kids so as to distract us. Constantly hung around our table while we were eating to the point that made us uncomfortable while we were trying to eat. We got a shock when we eventually got a heart attack when we got the bill as it was over double what we had paid the night before. Would never return here again

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Conger101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Disappointed. ”
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Our hotel clerk said this was his families favorite place for celebrations. A local favorite and reasonably priced. What could go wrong? The paella that's what. The rice was good but the important ingredients seemed precooked and just tossed in. The service is good and everybody smiles, but the food is not recommended for anyone visiting Barcelona and wanting a good dining experience.

Helpful?
Thank Icchok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Good food and fast service”
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

And very friendly atmosphere. Fish was good as well as the entrecote and the pasta. Large portions as well, difficult to have a dessert after the main dish.

Helpful?
Thank Anders R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Barcelona first evening dinner”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Our first night in Barcelona with my In-Laws, we were at the Hilton and they were at Hotel D'Arts Ritz Carlton at Port Olympic. We walked from our hotel to theirs on the nice beach path (about 45 min walk) we walked down by the marina at Port Olympic with wall to wall restaurants and in the off season lots of hawkers for business. We walked past La Barca with a nice friendly gentleman hawker and the beautiful display of all the fresh seafood. OK the server was great personality plus comedian to boot. A big bowl of green olives immediately placed on our table. We started with a lovely platter of Iberico ham (which we ate everyday we were in Spain) my husband and father-in-law had the mixed seafood paella. I had a couple big forkfuls so good! not over done on the saffron the calamari was so tender.. I had the lobsterette, simply grilled and lovely presentation and the meat so sweet (as was all shellfish there!) My mom-in-law had the grilled prawns and raved!! We enjoyed the place so much we had our last night meal there also, where we all had paella and asked for our same server. I would definitely recommend!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chewtoy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Barca Del Salamanca also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to La Barca Del Salamanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing