We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced and talked up” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Cova Fumada

La Cova Fumada
Ranked #69 of 9,316 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $39 - $49
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Barceloneta
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overpriced and talked up”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

After spending 4 weeks in Spain I think I know Tapas inside out. This was overpriced and not that good.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2cups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    630
    182
    28
    11
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best tapas in Barcelona”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

All my family is from Barcelona. My mum is from Barcelona. I have been going to tapas bars in Barcelona for all my life. It is fair to say that you cannot get a most authentic experience in Barcelona. The place is absolutely crowded and they only open for a few hours. The place is so rustic and basic that it makes you think twice about it, but the crowds queuing outside to get a table make you stick. Once you are inside you are up for a treat: fantastic fresh fish that is being brought by fishermen friends that have guaranteed spots for their lunch. In the open, freakishly small kitchen the whole family works hard, being led by a 80 something years old lady that is always smiling. The waiter tells you what you are going to have since the menu changes depending on the catches of the day and availability at the time you arrive. It doesn't matter; his recommendations are spot on, great fish, meat and tapas. Before closing a bunch of rumba musicians play rumba catalana to entertain the guests and the old lady cook dances while cleaning the kitchen. Considering that Barceloneta is a tourist trap, if you want authentic, unique and very cheap excellent food and a great atmosphere with no frills, this is the place to go.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OscarCarreras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It's a must visit place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Excellent typical catalan place for eating! At lunch timevis quite crowded, but worths waoting for a table. Enjoy!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andre2trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“NJ LOVES La Fumada”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

I've been back a few times. No frills, real Catalans, excellent food. Someone told me this is the birthplace of "La Bomba". Closes in late July for an extended vacation.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eurodollars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Authentic and Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Was one of our favorite places we visited - as much for the atmosphere as for the food. Place was packed, had to stand at bar - bartender/owner was friendly and patient w/us - please was lively, fun and we enjoyed it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cova Fumada also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to La Cova Fumada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing