We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the chefs' best night”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of L'Escola

L'Escola
Reserve with
L'Escola is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #861 of 9,411 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $43 - $72
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Spanish, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
682 reviews
445 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“Not the chefs' best night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

I almost hate to write the review, all the others have been so glowing. So first let me say the service was excellent. Definitely, staff was in training, but friendly, crisp and eager to learn/please. Love that they make you a cocktail - I had the mint/ginger/tabasco one and loved it. The amuse of quail? egg on ham/toast was very nice. I also love that there are so many options on 1/2 portion. They didn't have the 18.5E menu printed in English, and I would have liked to review it once more before deciding, but it was a struggle for the waiter to go through the first time, so I just ordered off the menu, using the 1/2 portions. The brie salad was dull, the brie a bit over-sugared on the glaze, dressing uninspiring; there were bits of pink-tipped (not fresh) lettuces in there. The stuffed squid was overcooked (it shredded when cut, like an old, dry rubberband), as was the stuffing, and I couldn't even tell by taste or smell what the stuffing was. The duck confit/mushroom sausage was also overcooked and crumbly, though the sweet potato puree very interesting and nice. A treat to finish off the evening was the sacher torte - the best I've had, even better than at the Hotel Sacher. The restaurant's treats at the end were inventive and tasty, though a bit too much sugar for me after the cake. The pricing is great: 30E for all that, plus a glass of wine. It would have been a great value if the food was better. Would I do it again? Maybe next time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank a-travelin-foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    48
    10
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A amazing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We read before the tripadviser feedbacks and reserved a table for a Monday evening in September. The outside of the building looks like like it must be, like a normal shool.
But inside the surprise > A cosy intim atmospere, perfekt tables and a very friendly warm welcome in English.
We choosed the MENU for 50 EURO per person. 6 courses, a starter cocktail, 4 different wine, a tasty glass of Cava, a coffee with 2 macarons, fruit gelee and chocolade.
It was a wonderful and amazing evening. The students was super friendly, the food was absolutly amazing (presentation and taste), the info about the wine for every course was perfect and we never drink soo many wine for a dinner.
We feeled great after this 2,5 hours and we know one thing for sure > The next time we go back.
Then we was talking very often about this evening and it was the best what we ever saw on a table.
A absolutly must to visit this place when you are in Barcelona.
And only 10 minutes by foot from our hotel Barcelona Princess.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gerdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Excellent food - from pasta to fish to steak. Very reasonably priced. This is one of Barcelona's secrets - the wait staff are learning the biz, so don't expect the best service. The "teacher", pops around the table quite often, helping the students out, so you do get great attention. The wine list is short, but EXTREMELY cheap - we had a great wine for 20 Euros. The kids wanted to go back here for every meal!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohninTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
107 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

This restaurant is a school where cooks and waiters do their on-the-job training. Service was great, friendly while professional (although a bit slow) and food ranged from good to excellent. The atmosphere was very pleasant and prices were unbelievable, probably the best value I've ever seen. Not to be missed.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank vmar3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning meal and experience delivered by students”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

I visited L'Escola with my wife on Valentines night and was served the valentines special menu. This was a very special experience! The attention to detail was first class. Not only was the food absolutely delicious but it was a work of art which added to the dining experience. Courses included smoke infused oysters, scallops with asparagus and caviar, wild mushroom tortellini with truffle cream sauce, salmon and avacado salad, beautiful foie gras escalops and an exceptional strawberry cheese cake. Everything was so carefully presented and the staff (students) were so attentive. The wines too were chosen by the students and included a specially designed cocktail, a fine local Cabernet Sauvignon and a dessert Cava. This was fine dining at its best and what was so astonishing was everything was prepared and served by students! All I can say is everyone of them was a credit to the school. The final astonishment was the bill -what fantastic value. In summary an experience to remember!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hallad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Escola also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to L'Escola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing