We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resting on its fame”
Review of 4 Gats

4 Gats
Ranked #857 of 9,685 Restaurants in Barcelona
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Description: Landmark of the city of Barcelona and Catalan modernism, it opened on June 12, 1897 in the basement of a building designed by the architect Puig i Cadafalch, on the street Montsió 3a and once was intended to bring to Barcelona the most bohemian Parisian atmosphere. Place of worship of intellectuals and artists of the time, it was the first refuge of inspiration for Pablo Picasso. In 2008, it was chosen by Woody Allen to host one of the main scenes in its film 'Vicky Cristina Barcelona', dedicated to the city. All this cultural and historic experience comes with exceptional gastronomy. All the dishes are prepared with proximity products and cooked with all the care and passion by our chef. Whitout any doubt, 4 Gats is a unique experience in Barcelona.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Resting on its fame”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Went tonight.good surroundings but terrible service.Pedro, our waiter scowled continuously and threw everything on the table...menu,glasses, cutlery ....you get the picture. Overpriced, ordinary food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grup F, Gerente at 4 Gats, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Sirs,

Our apologies for your bad experience. Our intentions with every costumers are the same for all, offer the best service and bring them the best experience that we could offer, but sometimes we make mistakes.

We are so sorry,

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,181
    1,075
    509
    299
    304
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leonia, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
493 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Tourist trap restaurant which rests on their laurels.”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My wife and I have been to this restaurant maybe 5 times, as recently as June 2013 and then again last night (Sept. 2013). I dreaded going there but my wife wanted to go there as we were with friends and it was convenient to where we were parked, etc. I admit it has a good location and a reasonable looking dining room. My general impression was upheld, the place's food has no originality and the food is NOTHING special. Surprisingly though, the service was terrible. We came a little early and the gentleman behind the bar told us the dining room would open at 7:00. When we arrived at 7:00 the same gentleman behind the bar told us the place would open at 8:00 PM. We looked for a little table in the front cafe to wait, but when we sat down, the same gentleman told us to wait as he wanted to have the table cleaned. He then disappeared and maybe 5 minutes later somebody else cleaned the table for us. We asked the first gentleman if the restaurant had wifi and he said no but insomuch as we could see that there was a wifi link, we asked the 2nd gentleman and he gave us the password. All in all, the hospitality was terrible. I always knew the restaurant was a tourist trap but I never expected such lousy service. Having been to this restaurant 4-5 times, my recommendation is to skip the place, absolutely. I refuse to go there again. On an aside, the place next door is pretty nice, Set De Gotic, another place we have been to several times.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank walter f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grup F, Gerente at 4 Gats, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Sirs,

Our apologies for your bad experience. Our intentions with every costumers are the same for all, offer the best service and bring them the best experience that we could offer, but sometimes we make mistakes.

We are so sorry,

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Special night”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Yes a special night when u think of the history of the place where Picasso use to frequent n had one of his first art showings. Food was good overall the catalan chicken leg n lamb shoulder was the best pick. Service was great n professional with live piano music making it a special night. A little expensive but worth it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grup F, Gerente at 4 Gats, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Sirs,

Thank you very much for your visit and comments.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Traditional Barca, inconsistent.”
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

My team and I ate here two nights in a row and there was a marked difference in food quality & service from one night to the next.

First night:
A group of 12, we were seated in the outer room and enjoyed good space and service. A selection of delicious starters were served as soon as everyone settled in with a nice glass of wine. Mains ordered we then waited approx 45 min for them to arrive (pretty good, it was busy) however some of the meals were cool-cold. A selection of the many nice deserts were a great finish to the evening.

Second night:
A group of 9, we were seated in the back room near the piano. It was cramped and noisy, struggled to hear table conversation, service was so-so (no refills, stacked plate and glasses on table). Starters at each end of the table were as nice as the first night. Mains ordered & waited 90 min for delivery, lamb shoulders about half the size of the previous night. A couple of desserts and everyone left happy.

I would eat here again but would stay in front room, food is great but service is inconsistent.

Recommended +++1/2

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I ate at 4 Gats about 5 years ago and enjoyed it so decided to return. We asked the hotel to make a reservation for us which they did, but the restaurant had made a weird request for us not to wear beach shoes! I was a bit worried about going in my fit flops, but there was no footwear inspection on arrival so we couldn't work out why they made the request! The restaurant is old and authentic, and well worth going to. Our waiter was attentive and friendly. There was a bit of a problem with our starter (nothing terrible) and we were given a very sincere apology and a free glass of cava each. The food was good (try the shoulder of lamb) and the prices were reasonable for a restaurant with the reputation 4 Gats has. I would certainly go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Polly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 4 Gats also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to 4 Gats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing