We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience & awesome food”
Review of 4 Gats

4 Gats
Ranked #794 of 9,530 Restaurants in Barcelona
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Description: Landmark of the city of Barcelona and Catalan modernism, it opened on June 12, 1897 in the basement of a building designed by the architect Puig i Cadafalch, on the street Montsió 3a and once was intended to bring to Barcelona the most bohemian Parisian atmosphere. Place of worship of intellectuals and artists of the time, it was the first refuge of inspiration for Pablo Picasso. In 2008, it was chosen by Woody Allen to host one of the main scenes in its film 'Vicky Cristina Barcelona', dedicated to the city. All this cultural and historic experience comes with exceptional gastronomy. All the dishes are prepared with proximity products and cooked with all the care and passion by our chef. Whitout any doubt, 4 Gats is a unique experience in Barcelona.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
90 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great experience & awesome food”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I heard about 4 Gats before coming to Barcelona, so we were eager to try the place Picasso used to paint and eat at and worried it may be a tourist trap. We were pleasantly surprised on all accounts. The food was amazing, the sangria was decent but that's ok and the live piano music really set the mood for us. Wonderful piano player! I could just picture Picasso eating in a corner, contemplating on his next great masterpiece. There's also several news articles on the wall all dated from the early 20th century - there's so much character and so much history in one room. Definitely worth it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cocogi007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grup F, Gerente at 4 Gats, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear cocogi007,

Thank you very much for your visit at our restaurant and also for your comment on trip advisor.

best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,129
    1,037
    489
    285
    278
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
new york, new york
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“History, Piano and Great Food”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

So the fact that Picasso used to hang out here was enough for me to want to go... Service was a little slow, but we were in no hurry...The food was expensive, but excellent. Sangria was very good. Piano player was terrific and really set the mood. The atmosphere was very old world - like stepping back in time.... Overall, a great experience, and one that I would recommend to anyone....

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nycgreenwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grup F, Gerente at 4 Gats, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your visit and comments.


Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The food a bit pricey”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Yes it is a bit pricey but you go for the atmosphere and history of the place. we did not have reservations at night, but did not have a long wait for two people. It did take a long time for waiter to come and take our order, but once he did the food came quick. Did not ask for Cava at the end of the meal, but waiter said a tradition in Catalonia and poured two glasses before we even had a chance to object. Keep on mind not complimentary we had to pay for them!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DonnaPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grup F, Gerente at 4 Gats, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thanks for your opinion adn vist to our restaurant,

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Borders on a tourist trap”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

They do get a lot of tourists because of their Picasso claim to fame but I think they still manage to keep the atmosphere authentic Catalonia Art Nouveau. It has this sense of 1920 and you can almost picture people like Picasso and Guadi having lunch there. They are not cheap however and their service is not great. It is one of those places where there is a lot of waiters running around not making eye contact and looking very busy. The tables are also quite small and we were very cramped.

That said I would still make an effort to visit this restaurant if just for the ambiance. The food was good so at least you won't go home hungry.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rocape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grup F, Gerente at 4 Gats, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Sirs,

Thank you very much for your visit and comments. We want to preserve the essence of the early years with a professional service and traditional food. Sometimes, however we don't have a positive feedback from our costumers, but we try hard to improve everyday in order to make that they have a comfortable experience at your visit.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran
Level Contributor
354 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“Experience”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

It worth to try it when you are in barcelona,
Pros:
-delicious food,great atmosphere,reasonable price,
Cons:
-some of the staff are rude (they respect depends on order prices?)
But beside this negative point I will come back again and I recommend 4cats .

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adybeig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grup F, Gerente at 4 Gats, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your visit and comment.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 4 Gats also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to 4 Gats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing