We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpretentious fish!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Paradeta

La Paradeta
Passatge Simo 18, 08013 Barcelona, Spain
34934500191
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #157 of 8,467 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unpretentious fish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We went to this restaurant based on reviews we read on Trip Advisor and were not disappointed at all!

The prospect of ordering various seafood by the kilo in Spanish was quite daunting. However, the staff couldn't of been more friendly and spoke enough English to get everything we wanted ordered correctly.

It was a great experience to see the fresh fish on ice at the front of the restaurant and then 10 minutes later see it on your plate! We had the tuna and it put the portions you get in most UK restaurants to shame. It was cooked to perfection. The calamari is also a must!

Don't go here if you want fancy dining. It's low key, self serve and minimal fuss. Great value for amazing produce. Think we might go again tomorrow!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,896 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,686
    915
    203
    58
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Disappointing :(”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We had a reccommendation from a friend and had read the rave reviews on here, and were really looking forward to our fish lunch.

You have to pre-buy your fush by the kilo, and the choice was almost all shellfish and tuna. We expected more. The sides were non-existent and the starters and desserts, about 4 choices each. You can only have your food grilled or friend. You have to collect your meal from a hatch in the wall, when your table number is yelled out, and clear your own table afterwards. That, and the cafeteria style tables and chairs made it feel more like school dinners.

The food was fairly bland and unispiring, and we were left wondering hwat all the fuss was about.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulaMellon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Seafood at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We went to La Paradeta on a Friday night the queue was so long we thought there must be something in it. The queue went down quite quicky and once inside it was well worth it. There is all manner of seafood and fish in front of you and you just pick what you want. The food is then cooked and they shout out your number when it is ready. All of the food we picked was amazing but the star was the lobster, it was cooked then chargrilled and it was the best I have ever tasted. Never before have I been so please I stood in a queue.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank E E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolute Must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Great food, incredible price and wonderful atmosphere. This is a wonderful local seafood market style restaurant where you choose your seafood fresh from the display and order up on how you would like it prepared. I took my parents and we ended up meeting some very nice people in the queue. We shared a table with a local and a Brazilian couple, and ended up sharing all our dishes together. Be aware not to over order as seafood heaven can turn to seafood torture after one large mud crab. Had to go twice in order to sample everything they had to offer, but was well worth it. We went once in the evening (30 minutes before opening and there was already quite a line). The second time we went around 2pm (much less of a queue). After stuffing our faces with the best seafood and wine in town, we made our way to the beach (10 minutes away) and laid out in the sun. Soon after we made our way to Las Ramblas (5 minutes away via bus) and did some last minute shopping. Best last day of vacation ever.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Loretta W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filsen, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The freshest fish in a most authentic setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is one of several restaurants belonging to the same company - they serve freshly caught fish which is displayed near the entrance to the restaurant. Customers choose what they want to eat and are asked how they would like it cooked. Simple, sparse decor but the food and wine more than make up for it. A very lively place full of locals which is always a good sign. We had fish soup, mussels, prawns and a fruity white wine - all reasonably prices and delicious.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank CMTaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Paradeta also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to La Paradeta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing