We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect small hotel and location for visit to Barcelona”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Murmuri Barcelona
Ranked #53 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2009

Trendy design and decor, small hotel with wonderful restaurant and a Tapa's bar.
Good breakfast buffet. Several blocks away is the sister hotel - the Majestic on Passeig Gracia which has roof top pool, bar and spa, and downstairs gym to which you have access. Murmuri is convenient to shopping on the Gracia...as well as close walks to the Pedrera and about 10 blocks to the Segrada Familia. Around the corner from the Murmuri is the Mauri, one of the best pastry shops in town. A signature dish in the bar at the hotel is the Baby back ribs in Chocolate sauce...not to be missed. The bar in the late afternoon was a gathering spot for locals. Our room came with a balcony.....perfect for a glass of wine and recap of the day. Staff very friendly and helpful.
Avoid the old part of town on Las Ramblas....pickpockets abound!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fpanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,486)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,146 - 1,152 of 1,486 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2009

Just one word, LIVID. We just arrived in Barcelona and were totally screwed in a bait and switch by hotel murmuri. Despite having made the reservation six months ago and having confirmed it last week, we arrived and were given a lame BS excuse that the computers had 'lost' our reservations (which is absurd and probably impossible). Instead of contacting us or rejecting our reconfirmation, we had to fly across an ocean to get screwed in person. Instead of a cute boutique hotel on a quieter street, we were given a really terrible, dirty room in a stuffy,charmles, Marriot-esque hotel affiliate with a view of pipes on the charmless, noisy Passeig de Gracia. The staff have done nothing to rectify the situation and have insultingly persisted in insisting that we're actually in a nicer hotel. I would not recommend this hotel under any circumstances. For your 'understated hipster hotel' experience, I would urge anyone to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
8  Thank newyorkold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2009

i like to recommend this hotel because it's a beautiful place to stay...
nice employees, great room with clean sheets and towels everyday,
super restaurant and the breakfast was very good. the lounge is also very nice...
so next time were off for Barcelona.... MURMURI is our place to stay!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank naat61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2009

The hotel is beautiful, the staff is gracious, helpful and knowledgeable. Having access to the Majestic gym and pool was great. We loved this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank larvit50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2009

My fiance and I stayed at the Murmuri for 3 nights while we were in Barcelona. We were very impressed as it had a boutique feel but also had the comfort and luxury of a 4 star hotel.

Just a little background on us for some more color. We like to travel and typically only stay at 4+ star hotels. Currently in this recession we are able to get great deals and Murmuri was no different. We live and work in NYC, so we enjoy the finer things and are willing to pay a little more to have them.

OKAY, now for the review. First off, the place is small and has a boutique feel. The front desk/concierge was very helpful and friendly and allowed us to check into the hotel when we got in which was around noon.

The room was good sized for two people and had all the amenities that we would expect from a 4 star hotel. The bed was clean and comfortable and the bathroom was well appointed and had a great shower (pressure/rain-like head). Also, one of the features I liked the best was the ambient lighting. You could choose from Ambient, Relax, Welcome, even TV mode. There must be something like 10-15 lights in the room that are programmed to dim and brighten with a touch of a button. It was a definitely a nice touch.

I really enjoyed my stay and it was a nice change of pace from the cookie cutter 4 star hotels like the Marriott, Hyatt, Westin, etc. Don't get me wrong, I really do like the Westin, but it was a nice change of pace.

Breakfast was included with the room and had everything you would want from a continental breakfast. Fresh fruit, croissants, fruit juices, cold cuts, cheese, small pastries, etc.

Overall, I had a wonderful stay and would definitely stay at the Murmuri again if we ever went back to Barcelona.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mikeyp626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2009

The hotel was a nice, quiet hotel just a few blocks off most busy Barcelona streets. The rooms were clean and roomy, and while originally we were given two single beds by mistake, the next morning we were moved to a double room with minimal hustle. The rooms were very clean and modern but the light switches had only digital controls and were counter-intuitive. The complimentary breakfast was excellent. Although we did not eat at the restaurant, few drinks we had at the bar were great if pricey.
There were few things that did not live up to our expectations. There was no free wifi, and the third party wifi service that was available was very expensive, around 8 euros for 45 minutes or 15 euros for inseparable 24 hours; on top of that it was painfully slow. It felt like nickel-and-diming considering the price of the room and the negligent cost for actually providing this service. Also during our stay the water system had to be repaired so we could not take showers or otherwise use the water for anything but flushing from 10a.m. to 5 p.m.; the next day there was also some scheduled power outage. While the hotel had no problem communicating with us via email over some billing issues, they did not bother to notify us about these scheduled repairs until our check-in, and did not offer any compensation for the inconvenience.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anutaNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2009

The Murmuri has a wonderful location at the 'top' of the Placa de Catalunya. Its quiet, charming, and amidst great shops and bars/restaurants. The location is perfect for a short walk to the hop-on-hop-off bus, some of the greatest Gaudi sights, and a little longer walk to the hustle and bustle of the rest of Barcelona. The staff was more than friendly and went the extra mile towards being helpful. The breakfast included with the room rate was wonderful. The rooms are clean, modern without being cold, and very comfortable. We would absolutely stay in this hotel again without even researching other places to stay. The hotel is fairly new and there were new employees that were 'just catching on' but it was never a problem. Just make sure, when you ask for directions, you have the name of the street and which corner you turn on . . .

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xntrc2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#15 of 515 in Barcelona
2,299 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#65 of 515 in Barcelona
1,921 reviews
Eixample
Gallery Hotel
Gallery Hotel
#34 of 515 in Barcelona
1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
El Raval
Hotel Pulitzer
Hotel Pulitzer
#108 of 515 in Barcelona
2,257 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#12 of 515 in Barcelona
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Murmuri Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Murmuri Barcelona

Address: Rambla Catalunya 104, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#45 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#46 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $142 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Murmuri Barcelona 4.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new concept of Boutique Hotel opens in Barcelona in March 2008. Murmuri Barcelona is getting ready to surprise you, please you and serve you. A meeting point in the Rambla Catalunya where you can delight in the murmur of the constant throb of the city. Created in an intimate style, with reminiscences of classicism, not forgetting the most modern and sophisticated design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Murmuri Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Murmuri Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing