We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value, Great Location, Very Good Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Murmuri Barcelona
Ranked #49 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Value, Great Location, Very Good Restaurant”
Reviewed April 22, 2009

My partner and I stayed three nights at the Murmuri. The room was small and clean. The shower had a faint odor of mildew--nothing serious. There was the smell of cigarette smoke in the hallway a few times, but not in the room, which was good. These are the only negatives--the rest was great--nice design of the hotel and rooms, elegant bathroom, cool lobby and elevator. Smoky bar, but the restaurant was isolated from this. We had a great breakfast there every day, and ate dinner there one night as well. For dinner, the menu is thai/continental fusion, which is probably not what people go to Spain to eat, but it was DELICIOUS. For 146 Euros, breakfast included, it was a superb value compared to other four star hotels we have stayed at. And the location couldn't be better--right by the subway and on the Rambla Catalunya. Staff friendly, helpful, and completely fluent in English.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mecnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    886
    415
    91
    17
    21
See reviews for
233
784
52
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2009

Spent 4 days at the Hotel Murmuri in Barcelona. Our room was one step up from "Superior", at a rate of 219 euro per, daily breakfast included. The room was spacious, clean, comfortable (with a large patio, complete with lounge chairs and table with umbrella) . The breakfast was ample with fresh fruit, eggs to order, bread, pastries, cheeses, yogurt, etc. Terrific coffee. Hotel staff was excellent, from the knowledgeable front desk group to the ever present, hard working doorman, Roberto. The location was excellent, but not within walking distance to all major city destinations. It is just around the corner and down the street from Guadi's La Pedrea and another block and a half to his Casa Batllo. Metro stop Diagonal is just around the corner, which is a great convenience to reaching the city's more distant destinations( Buy the 10 trip and take the L3 to Park Guell, Museu National, The Seaport, La Rambla, etc.). As a bonus, it was located a half block to one of the best Tapas bars in Barcelona, Cerveseria Catalan on the corner of Rambla Catalunya and Mallorca. If your travels take you to Barcelona, you should definately consider the Hotel Murmuri as your place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Global8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greater manchester uk
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2009

stayed here for 4 nights Thurs to Sun. Stayed in a privilege double/early booking offer. For this you pay up front for the room at a preferred rate and cannot cancel the booking. Included in this rate was breakfast.

Firstly the hotel. small hotel in a nice part of town. Thursday night was very quiet but Friday and Saturday there was some screaming and shouting in the street, goodness knows how people cope with sleep in La Rambla, it must be a nightmare. Staff were pleasant and helpful. All bedrooms either look out onto placa de catalunya or a side street. We stayed in room 210 which looked out onto placa de catalunya and had a small balcony with 2 chairs. The room was on the smallish side but adequate, but this was perhaps due to the extremely comfortable HUGE (approx 7' wide) bed. There were two full length mirrors and you could choose from seductive lighting or full room lighting. There was a large flat screen TV with BBC and ITV channels and news channels. The bathroom was average size, lots of towels and the White Company products. There was a fairly powerful shower over the bath. Unfortunately the bath was a disaster. Being a shower perswon myself this is not usually a problem, but after hours of trumbling around Barcelona, a nice long soak was on the agenda. I sat in the nice deep bath lay back and nearly drowned. It was totally impossible to lay back in the bath without sliding under the water and drowning. The same happened when my husband tried the bath. I ended up laying on my stomach - I kid you not!

The bar is very comfortable with seductive lighting and a nice atmosphere. There were people of all ages coming and going. Unfortunately the drinks were very expensive 11 euros for a coctail, 5.50 euros a glass of wine, 6.00 euros for a spirit plus 3 euros for a mixer. Perhaps not too bad when the exchange rate is better.

After 2 nights dining in one average restaurant and one terrible restaurant, we decided to try the hotel restaurant which is thai/asian cuisine. The service was excellent, the portions very small, the food extremely tasty, and the price for 2 approx 100 euros (including a bottle of wine at 18 euros (the cheapest). This by comparison to other nearby restaurants was about average, many other restaurants were much much more.

The breakfast was good - plenty of choice - cereal, fresh fruit, yoghurts, pastries, meats and cheese, toast and eggs of any type - scrambled, boiled, omlette, etc. but no other hot choices except bacon. This was included in my booking but i would not pay 20 euros for it.

all in all we were very satisfied with the hotel, would recommend it and would go back if we could get a good deal.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christine2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2009

We had a fantastic stay at Murmuri at the begining of April. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a room with a private balcony but unfortunately the rain spoilt every chance we had of using it which was such a shame. The room was perfect and very clean & comfortable. The staff were always curteous and very helpful. We asked for advice on a few things, such as a good seafood restaurant in the area, and were never disappointed. We only had breakfast at Murmuri (which was delicious) and didn't end up using the restuarant but that was only because we wanted to explore. We did go to the bar a few times and enjoyed well made cocktails, which were very expensive by British standards, but then that was down to Barcelona itself and not the hotel.
Overall we found Murmuri to be a very efficient, comfortable and chic hotel which we wouldn't hesitate to return to and recommend to any of our friend and family.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StrumpetNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2009

Just spent 4 nights here with my family. Location is great. Its 10 minutes away from all the noise and action of the tourist areas. Located in the heart of the most upscale residential area with great shops and restaurants. Around the corner from famous gaudi apartment. Connecting rooms perfect for families. Its a style boutique hotel which unfortunately means service is a little off. Rooms are a little tight but well laid out. Small closets, nice bathrooms. Really good breakfast and active, smoky bar. AC is quiet and bed is very comfy.

They don't keep a corkscrew or ice bucket in room. All around you can buy great cheap wine but hotel makes it hard to drink. Must wait for someone to bring up the one cork screw to use. Plus must bring up wine glasses and ice to chill. Only complaint.

Concierges not as good as more full service hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArthurLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2009

My husband and I spent 3 nights here on vacation. Overall we were fairly pleased. It is a very attractive hotel, the decor is pleasant and understated. Some of the design aspects leaned towards annoying (light switches), but overall it worked. Our room was fairly small, but we were comfortable. It was spotlessly clean. The location is pretty good, far enough out of the fray to be relaxing but close enough to walk to most of the sights. Although the people at the front desk were very friendly, they gave us a poor recommendation for dinner our first night (Tragaluz, around the corner, avoid at all costs) and botched our dinner reservations another night. Breakfast was excellent. I'm not sure why wi-fi wasn't included, it was quite pricey, and the room rates aren't exactly cheap to begin with. If I were to visit Barcelona again, I would probably check out Casa Camper or another hotel. Murmuri was fine, but didn't blow me away.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgodic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2009

On the last weekend of March we arrived in Barcelona for a weekend break. The taxi from the airport to Rambla de Catalonia where Hotel MurMuri is located was around €30. There were roadworks in operation just above the hotel so we got out of the taxi just a few buildings below MurMuri. At the time we noticed that the taxi driver gave us the directions to the hotel in Spanish so we had to decipher how to get to the hotel ourselves. We even nearly walked right past it. On entering reception we were greeted by a smartly dressed Spanish receptionist. He dealt with us quickly and gave us room number 507. The elevator is all glass and is super fast. There was no waiting whatsoever for it.
The Bedroom
The room was at the bottom of the 5th floor corridor and was very clean and relaxing. There was a flat screen TV on the wall, large floor length mirrors, a large desk, a stand for your luggage and two large wardrobes. We liked the lighting as you could change it to suit your mood. The bed was large and very comfortable, there were little towels and slippers at each side and a chocolate each. There was also an iPod dock beside the bed. There were all the little extras you would expect in a 4* hotel such as a coat brush, little kits for polishing your shoes and so on. There was a very large window in the room with lovely curtains and two seats and a little coffee table beside it. This area could be cut off into its own room by a sliding large black door. This was an excellent blackout. There was no view from the window, it was only rooftops but this did not bother us. The bathroom is fantastic. A large sink and mirror, with a smaller magnifying mirror attached. Toiletries and lots of towels, two dressing gowns which were lovely and a telephone next to the toilet (!). The shower was excellent, a huge walk in shower with towels inside also. The power from the shower was also very good.
Reception Service
On the Saturday night it was raining very heavily. It was not a good night for walking so we asked the receptionist for the name of a good authentic Spanish restaurant which we could get a taxi to. He mumbled the name in Spanish and gave directions in Spanish even though we obviously had no idea what he was saying. He then asked did we want a reservation and we said ok. The taxi came but the driver had never been given a name by the receptionist. This was bad service and we were disappointed, however we took the taxi to the port area and had a lovely meal in La Taberna Gallega instead.
Our flight out on Sunday was in the late evening and we were grateful to the hotel for keeping our bags for the day after check out until we collected them.
Breakfast
The buffet was very good and the range of food was large. As we are only in our early 20’s we did not like the atmosphere at breakfast. It was far too quiet for our liking. There were about 5 other couples at breakfast when we came in and they barely even spoke so it was an awkward breakfast as everyone could hear what we were saying. I also got the distinct feeling of being looked down on almost as we were so much younger than the other clients. The breakfast staff were not very friendly either but were ok.
Bar
We did not visit the bar in MurMuri. It was a very modern bar and looked very nice. However the drinks were very expensive and those in the bar were far too ‘upmarket’ or something to allow us to enjoy a drink there. It was not a very friendly and good atmosphere. This may suit others but not us.
Location
The Hotel MurMuri is located on the Rambla de Catalonia. It is just one block from Gaudi’s La Pedrera. This is also where you can catch the blue/red line Barcelona tour bus. The Plaça de Catalunya (square) is about 15 minute walk from the hotel. La Rambla is further again maybe 20/25 minute from hotel. Overall very good location.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lottylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#16 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,072 reviews
Eixample
Villa Emilia
Villa Emilia
#41 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
Eixample
Gallery Hotel
Gallery Hotel
#35 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Granados 83
Hotel Granados 83
#50 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
Eixample
Alma Barcelona
Alma Barcelona
#17 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,741 reviews
Hotel Primero Primera
#13 of 514 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Murmuri Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Murmuri Barcelona

Property: Hotel Murmuri Barcelona
Address: Rambla Catalunya 104, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#42 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#45 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Murmuri Barcelona 4.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new concept of Boutique Hotel opens in Barcelona in March 2008. Murmuri Barcelona is getting ready to surprise you, please you and serve you. A meeting point in the Rambla Catalunya where you can delight in the murmur of the constant throb of the city. Created in an intimate style, with reminiscences of classicism, not forgetting the most modern and sophisticated design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Murmuri Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Murmuri Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing