We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barcelona Nights”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Murmuri Barcelona
Ranked #49 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
144 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Barcelona Nights”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We stayed in a Design room, which was quiet overlooking a side street. We had been travelling for four weeks and we had large bags, there was little room to place them, the room was small. A good location and close to the Metro. The front desk staff were helpful and gave excellent directions.

Room Tip: Design rooms are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fzk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmaRavasiArnau, Director de Recepción at Hotel Murmuri Barcelona, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear fzk1,

Thank you very much for leaving your comment on trip advisor and for shearing your experience in Murmuri.

We are very happy that you enjoy your stay with us and we it will be a pleasure to welcome you again in our Hotel.

Thank you again!

Hotel Murmuri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    886
    415
    91
    17
    21
See reviews for
233
784
52
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manotick
Level Contributor
143 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

While comfortable, clean, and modern, with excellent Internet service, the best attribute is its location. The hotel is located at the more upscale shopping end of the pedestrian walkway (La Rambla) that runs from one end of the city to the waterfront. It is also close to banks, patisseries, a number of very good restaurants, including Comite (owned by the same group - ask about the 30% discount), Samoa, and Tragaluz. The desk staff and waiters at their terrace are friendly, efficient, and are justifiably proud of their city and interested in ours. The desk staff are also quite willing to provide advice in excellent English. The only negative was that one day (of the four we stayed there) we had to ask to have our room cleaned at 3:00 p.m. We do have one warning - the shower area has a metal basket suspended from the wall. If you drop the soap be careful picking it up - I got a nasty gash on my forehead.

Room Tip: We had a quiet room overlooking the side street - not the main street. While the view was limited, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmaRavasiArnau, Director de Recepción at Hotel Murmuri Barcelona, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Bob009,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking your time to write something about our hotel on Tripadvisor.

It´s very important and useful for us to read your comment, as they help us to improve in our weaknesses.

We are glad that you enjoyed our hotel and discovered nice restaurants around us: we are in a beautiful area with a lot of amazing restaurants.

We are looking forward to see you back at Murmuri

Regards,

Hotel Murmuri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rona, Scotland.
2 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Just visited Barcelona with friends, had 4 nights in Murmuri, first impressions wee good and after that it just got better and better. Very clean tidy and fresh. The best thing were the staff who could not do enough for you, they were the best and that in the end makes a hotel. Will be back.

Room Tip: The design rooms are very good we did not see the rest, look out for deals . The hotel is very well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmaRavasiArnau, Director de Recepción at Hotel Murmuri Barcelona, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Bill C,

First of all, we woul like to thank you for have shared yor experience in Murmuri with the rest of users.
We are very happy about your comment on trip advisor! We are very proud of us, because reviews like yours will motivate us a lot!

Again thank you very much and we hope to see you again!

Warmly,

Hotel Murmuri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Room was modern but small. Most of the front desk staff are friendly, except for the morning manager who threatened to charge me extra because my reservation only had 1 person (vs. 2 with my boyfriend)!

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank SP419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariacontreras, Director de Recepción at Hotel Murmuri Barcelona, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear SP419,

First of all we would like to thank you for sharing your opinion on Trip Advisor.

We inform you that if you book a room for one person and then there are two people to check in, we do not increase the rate of the room, but charge the extra breakfast apart. We hope you understand it.

Best Regards,

Hotel Murmuri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 440 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

First impressions of the Hotel Mur Muri were not good. Hassled front counter staff; no real provision to meet/greet/assist early arrivals from cruise ship; 'temporary 'allocation to a shoe box room (102) for one night even though we had booked an upmarket room; first breakfast chaotic with one not very skilled staff member. To add to that workers were replacing the asphalt on the walkway in front of the hotel for the first two days.

But things certainly picked up from there. To 'square off' for the small first night room, we were allocated a superb suite for the other three days (Room 111) - with a lovely bay window opening to the street in front. The suite size was massive, with a bathroom of similar proportions (with bath). Soaps and toiletries were good. After the workers finished, street noise in the room was no problem at all.

On Day 2 and after breakfast picked up significantly with charming waitress Lydia on deck.Her friendly smile and willingness to oblige contrasted with our day 1 experience at breakfast.

Even the front desk staff cracked a smile occasionally, augmented by friendly and jovial porter/assistant Roberto.

The location of this hotel is great. The walks down Rambla Catalunya to Placa Cataluyna and beyond, a stroll down Passeig de Gracia (with two of the Gaudi attractions) were very good. An MTR station is only 100m away.

But do also head away from the above towards LÉxample where you will find lots of local (not tourist) restaurants, small markets. Head in the direction in front of you when you come out of the front door of the hotel and just wander. Regrettably we didn't do this until the last day.

So overall, the hotel did not meet the rave reviews some have given it on TA, but nonetheless, you should seriously consider it when looking for an hotel in Barcelona

Room Tip: Avoid 102, and see if you can get 111
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gaad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariacontreras, Director de Recepción at Hotel Murmuri Barcelona, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear gaad,

We would like to thank you for having left a comment on trip advisor and for having shared your experience in Murmuri with the rest of users.

We are very happy that finally your stay had been nice and comfortable even the 2 firsts days were bad. That means, we do our job and we correct our mistakes.

We hope you come again at Murmuri Hotel when you come next time to Barcelona!

Thank you veyr much

Hotel Murmuri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Booked and paid for a two bedroom apartment with terrace. 24hours before I arrived I was sent an e-mail saying the room was not available and they had a one bedroom apartment without terrace that would cost the same, but they would provide free breakfast... I didn’t want breakfast, if I had wanted breakfast I would have booked it and why would a one bedroom apartment without terrace be the same price as a far superior apartment? - I e-mailed back (3 times) to get some clarity on the situation and received no reply. When we checked in the receptionist casually said, the room you booked is not available did you get my e-mail, I said I had and had she got mine? - She said she had not. I asked her why a far superior room was going to cost me the same and she said it was unfortunate but the situation was a computer problem. I insisted that I did not want breakfast, but required discount - she conceded and gave me the rate I would have paid if I'd booked the one bedroom apartment originally so nothing to acknowledge that the room we were being given was very different from what we had booked and paid for. We stayed there for two nights and during that time no-one from the hotel management contacted us to apologise. There are so many things a good hotel would have done... but the Murmuri didn’t. When we came to check out I asked if the refund has been done and was told it had not as it was Sunday. When I asked why it was not done on the Friday when we checked in, I was told the manager had forgotten... Forth time in Barcelona and the other three hotels (which were far cheaper) beat the Murmuri by a mile -

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank James67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariacontreras, Director de Recepción at Hotel Murmuri Barcelona, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear James67,

First of all, we would like to thank you for having time to write us on trip advisor.

Regarding your comment, we would like to apologise for not take care of you during your two days of stay.
We would like to inform that we did our best to make your stay comfortable. Our system has an error and book 2 2 bedroom apartment at the same time, so we secure a room in our residence buildng in order to be with us and not move to anoher hotel.
We would like that our guests feel good and have a nice experience in Murmuri. Is really bad that we cannot get it with you and your family.

Regarding the refund, on fridays our account department close at 3pm, so that's why we could not do the refund. And on monday we contact again with them to remember that they have to do it. So we hope you understand why we cannnot do it during the weekend.

Again, we are very sorry for all the inconveniences this problem might caused you and we hope you will come again to Murmuri due to feel the experience that everybody use to have.

Warmly,

Hotel Murmuri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schoten, Belgium
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Well located, right on the Rambla, away from all the noise, made it very convenient to reach the busy area and quiet enough to sleep at night. The room was not very big, but just enough for the two of us. The staff was very welcoming and looked after us really well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GilSchoten_Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariacontreras, Director de Recepción at Hotel Murmuri Barcelona, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear GilSchoten_Belgium,

First of all we wuld like to thank you for having chosen our hotel for your stay in Barcelona.

We are very happy you have enjoyed your stay with us and you share your experience with the rest of trip advisor users.

We hope to see you soon again.

Best regards,

Hotel Murmuri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#16 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,072 reviews
Eixample
Villa Emilia
Villa Emilia
#41 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
Eixample
Gallery Hotel
Gallery Hotel
#35 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Granados 83
Hotel Granados 83
#50 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
Eixample
Alma Barcelona
Alma Barcelona
#17 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,741 reviews
Hotel Primero Primera
#13 of 514 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Murmuri Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Murmuri Barcelona

Property: Hotel Murmuri Barcelona
Address: Rambla Catalunya 104, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#42 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#45 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Murmuri Barcelona 4.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new concept of Boutique Hotel opens in Barcelona in March 2008. Murmuri Barcelona is getting ready to surprise you, please you and serve you. A meeting point in the Rambla Catalunya where you can delight in the murmur of the constant throb of the city. Created in an intimate style, with reminiscences of classicism, not forgetting the most modern and sophisticated design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Murmuri Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Murmuri Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing