We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but could have been better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Murmuri Barcelona
Ranked #58 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2013

First the pros: The hotel was very clean and nicely furnished. The linens were high quality and the bed was very comfy. The room was quiet and provided great sleeping. The rain shower in the bathroom was a real treat and they provided nice robes. The hotel is on Rambla La Catalunya, which is a quiet, upscale area of Barcelona but still within walkable distance of tourist areas. The staff was very friendly and helpful and we found the bar to be very comfortable.

Now the cons: We reserved a Privilege room and received confirmation of this reservation; however, when we went to the room (204) it did not match the description of a Privilege room. It was quite small and did not have the terrace that we had requested. I called the front desk and told them of this problem; they said they were booked up but could offer us a room (209) with an "interior terrace", which turned out to be a couple of chairs in something that looked like an air shaft. I am confused about what we were really billed for because the rates we were billed do not match our confirmation. We understand if they were overbooked but they could at least have told us the situation. We were also charged for the mini-bar which we did not use.

We had requested extra pillows when making our reservation and had to remind the front desk who said the pillows would be right up--they never showed up, but we slept well regardless. The breakfast could have been better; the buffet selection was not great. The coffee maker was quite confusing and there was no one there to show us how to use it. Everyone seemed confused by the machine and in fact it finally broke down but no one came to see if they could fix it.

So I am sorry to say that we ended up with mixed feelings about the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank sherialee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariacontreras, Director de Recepción at Hotel Murmuri Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Dear Sherialeel,

First of all, we would like to thank you for having chosen our hotel for your visit to Barcelona and thank you for spending your time to write us on TA.

Thank you as well, for give us your feedback and write the cons, that will help us to improve for our future guests.

Regarding your special requests, we would like to explain you that we always try to take care about the special requests of our guests, but sometimes, it´s difficult for us to give all to everybody, especially when we are fully booked.

If you didn’t take anything from minibar, and you said it at the checkout time we could remove it from the bill. We are very sorry for charging this amount, but we can refund that from the bill anytime from now.

We are really sorry about the coffee machine issue, we know that sometimes is hard to use it. About the breakfast staff, the waitress have many things to do like clean plats and glasses on the kitchen, do room service.. We know that is not an excuse, but maybe when you went to do your coffee the waitress was doing another things and he comes a little bit later next to you. We would like to apologize for this issue as well, we know that the coffee machine needs someone next to give some explanations.

Please, feel free to contact us for any further information or assistance that you may need.

We hope you can give us another opportunity in a future occasion.

Sincerely,

Hotel Murmuri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,491)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

672 - 678 of 1,491 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

We’ve been to Murmuri several times now and I’m pleased to say that it has settled into being a great place to stay in Barcelona.
This time, they kindly upgraded us to a Prestige Room which gave us a bit more space, as some of the rooms can be small. Having said that, they are well furnished and contain everything one would expect in a hotel of this calibre.
Our main niggle had always been that breakfast could be a bit of a shambles but this time, it was all very efficient:- there was no wait for tables, dirty tables were efficiently cleared and buffet was continually restocked, making it a relaxing place to start the morning.
The hotel bar remains a favourite place to enjoy a nightcap – it has a relaxed atmosphere, is comfortable, they make a good cocktail and it’s not overpriced.
Staff, particularly the receptionists, are always helpful.
My one niggle is their rather dated approach to wifi – their reluctance to provide it for free doesn’t fit with the mood of the hotel at all. Not quite sure what they’re thinking.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cheryltheperil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariacontreras, Director de Recepción at Hotel Murmuri Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Dear cheryltheperil,

First of all, we would like to thank you for shearing in tripadvisor your experience in our Hotel during your stay in Barcelona.
We are very happy you have enjoyed very much our breakfast and bar at night.
Regarding the wifi, we would like to let you know that we have it now for free in all the hotel from the 1st of November, so next time you come you can enjoy it in your room.

We hope to see you again in Murmuri.

Regards,

Hotel Murmuri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I was a little disappointed that the room wasn't a bit more wow! As I had chosen it as a design hotel. However ... I quickly appreciated the kindness of the staff, the quality of the service (sheets changed daily, towels etc in abundance), really good continental breakfast brought quickly to the room. The lighting was beautiful and the room (404) very quiet.
We got a very good deal online and had a four nights at 220 euros per night, at this price it was excellent value.
The common areas are beautiful and the is a small roof terrace if it is sunbathing weather. We especially like the bar which had real atmosphere.
The rambla de catalunya (not to be confused with la rambla itself) is quiet and smartish. Smarter still you have the passeig de Gracia five minutes away.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariacontreras, Director de Recepción at Hotel Murmuri Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Dear elizabethm2012,

Thank you very much for having post your review about Murmuri on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to know you had an enjoyable stay. Is good to know that you enjoyed of our services, like our bar with a special atmosphere, our good and quiet location, our roof top and also you get good attention from our staff. We always try to make feel our guest like home.

Feel free to get in touch for your next visit.

Best regards,

Hotel Murmuri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We chose Hotel Murmuri on the basis of trip advisor reviews and we were delighted. It is and handy to everything.
Visitors to Barcelona will find this modern boutique hotel superbly positioned whether visiting the city for business or leisure. Rooms are modern, nicely decorated, clean and very comfortable; bathrooms are are very functional and the rain drop shower a delight. Linen and towels were spotless and soft but there is no place to hang them so they must be removed each day.
Rooms come in different sizes and long distance or long stay travellers may be better off in seeking a larger room. We enjoyed a smaller room on the side; it was a pleasantly quiet spot in a busy area. Our room had a modern lighting plan that met our every need. It was a bit complex and some instruction from hotel personnel would help anyone master it quickly. Our air conditioning was stuck on hot or cold, nothing in between. Wifi is available free in the public areas and in the rooms on a paid basis. Access codes are unduly complex. Laundry is excellent but expensive and English TV channels unavailable.
Murmuri sits at the top of one of Barcelona's major thoroughfares, Ramblas. The hotel is well away from the city centre and in a quiet fashionable neighbourhood. Ramblas is very much the backbone of the city and is a tree lined street with a walkway in its centre leading to the harbour through the centre of the old and new city. Enjoying it all on foot is easy and can be an enjoyable day's outing.
Murmuri is well served by public transport, a taxi rank and Metro are nearly at the door and bus services no more than a block away. Murmuri is surrounded by many exciting cafés, bars and restaurants and the Murmuri people know them all well and will readily give great recommendations. We ate out for each meal and were not disappointed. In fact, we were delighted.
All the Murmuri people we met were helpful and pleasant. Their service was attentive; their directions were clear; and they knew how to get a job done.
We would not hesitate to recommend Murmuri to our friends, we had a memorable time there. For comfort, style and service we would rate this hotel five stars.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariacontreras, Director de Recepción at Hotel Murmuri Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Dear Barratt,

First of all, we really appreciate to take your time to write such a good and detailed review.

About our rooms, we have a boutique hotel, and every room is different, we know we have some standard rooms small but we would like to recommend you next time a superior or privilege, you will have more space to keep everthing.

About wifi, we know is complicated to connect, but we are working to improve the system, sorry about that.

Regarding the Laundry service, is a quick service, and maybe that’s why is a little bit expensive. For a future occasion, we will like to inform you that we have TV English chanels, like CNN, EUROSPORT, BBC…

You are wright when you said that we are well located, nice neighbourhood and quiet. Near shopping area, many bus stops, metro station and also near tourist places.

We looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

Thank you very much on behalf of all the Murmuri team.

Best regards,

Hotel Murmuri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 days in October before going on a cruise. The location was perfect.... The hop on hop off bus was a block away, lots of restaurants, shops etc and block of discord and casa Mila a few blocks away. Wonderful area to walk. Staff was very helpful and welcoming. It was our first time in Barcelona ( hopefully not our last) and we would stay here again and recommend it to others! (we are from Toronto Canada, and are in our 60's)

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mmb51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariacontreras, Director de Recepción at Hotel Murmuri Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Mmb51,

First of all, we would like to thank you for leaving such a positive comment on trip advisor and for share your experience with us with the rest of users.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in Barcelona and you enjoyed the hotel too.

We hope you will come again to Barcelona and visit Murmuri Hotel.

Warmly,

Hotel Murmuri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here in August this year, After extensive research on hotels in Barcelona we settled on this one - we were not disappointed.

The room was beautiful, with a huge bed, and an even bigger terrace! I had requested an open terrace with a view and got exactly what I had asked for. It had 2 sun loungers, as well as a table and 4 chairs, and still had plenty of space! On the first night we were also greeted by a welcome tray with a bottle of fizz and some sweet treats (all free of charge!)

The hotel itself is in a good location, only a 5-10 minute walk from the top of Las Ramblas. There are plenty of restaurants in the vicinity. I would recommend Ciudad Contal - however be prepared to wait for a table!

If you stay at this hotel you are allowed access to the facilities in the sister hotel - The Majestic. This is only a few minutes walk and has a gorgeous roof terrace and swimming pool. The view from this is stunning!

We got a pretty good deal for this hotel and thought it was excellent value for money. I will definitely return here, and would not hesitate to recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eilidh3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariacontreras, Director de Recepción at Hotel Murmuri Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear eilidh3012,

First of all, we really appreciate to take your time to write such a good and detailed review.

Thank you for your good comments about our room, we always try to satisfy the guest request and we are very happy to hear from you that we got it. Also about our location, we are in a nice area near some of the best restaurants in Barcelona.

We feel really pleased to hear that we meet your expectations.

We will be delighted to welcome you back!

Sincerely,

Hotel Murmuri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We spent 8 nights in the Tivoli apartment, a one bedroom apartment in a building around the corner from the main hotel, but with all the services of the hotel. It is huge, very luxurious, with a full kitchen, living room with dining area, one full bathroom and one half bath. Maid service included. We are paying 313 Euros (WiFi in the room included) and it's worth every penny. The apartment has every possible convenience, including electrically operated window shutters that let you plunge the place into total darkness with the push of a button at any time of day. The view through big windows in every room is onto a small street with several restaurants, but they are not a noise problem because of the triple glazed windows.

The location in Eixample is near the top of the Ramblas, so you don't get all the noise at night, but it's still in an area with lots of activity and restaurants and services. The Diagonal metro station is about 100 feet away from the hotel entrance, and there's a taxi stand right next to the metro. There are small grocery stores nearby, so you can buy food to make breakfast instead of eating the hotel breakfast (more on that below). Or if you don't like that, and want to eat in for a change, you can get good club sandwiches delivered from room service.

One feature of this apartment which turned out to be more important than we'd thought is that it has a combination washer dryer (both in a single machine). There are no self service (or even "wash and fold") laundries in this neighborhood, and so if you don't have a washer you will be shlepping your dirty clothes on the subway and back to get them clean. The hotel laundry charges 4E to wash a pair of socks, so this is not an option. The washer is small and takes forever, somewhat challenging to figure out how to work it, but we have saved a lot of money and a lot of vacation time by having it available.

We tried the hotel breakfast at the hotel's El Pasatje restaurant one morning, and it was not good. Although we didn't get sick, I worried that the food was not safe to eat, because the hot food was not hot and the cold food was not cold. We watched as a guest dropped the communal buffet breakfast baguette on the floor, picked it up and put it back for the next person to eat. The food did not look appetizing, and it didn't taste good, either; it would not have been a good value at half the price. Do not choose the hotel breakfast at hotel checkin--you will not want to go back.

If you leave out the restaurant, though, this hotel is wonderful. The people at the front desk are young, enthusiastic and extremely helpful. It's a place where everything works as it should (or even better).

Room Tip: If you can afford it, get the apartment and save the cost of it by washing all your clothes and cook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariacontreras, Director de Recepción at Hotel Murmuri Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Nancy17,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking your time and writing such a detailed review on Trip Advisor. We are so glad you found the apartment so convenient. As you mentioned this is a very nice area to stay, not too noisy but still with nice ambience all the time.

We are so sorry the breakfast was not of your delight and hope it didn’t mean any inconvenience on your stay. Normally we do not have any complaints about it, anyway we are going to check the issues you pointed.

We are looking forward to welcome you at Murmuri again

Best Regards

Hotel Murmuri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#20 of 515 in Barcelona
2,328 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Pulitzer
Hotel Pulitzer
#107 of 515 in Barcelona
2,273 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#63 of 515 in Barcelona
1,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Gallery Hotel
Gallery Hotel
#34 of 515 in Barcelona
1,485 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Granados 83
Hotel Granados 83
#49 of 515 in Barcelona
1,506 reviews
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Murmuri Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Murmuri Barcelona

Address: Rambla Catalunya 104, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#45 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#50 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $132 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Murmuri Barcelona 4.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new concept of Boutique Hotel opens in Barcelona in March 2008. Murmuri Barcelona is getting ready to surprise you, please you and serve you. A meeting point in the Rambla Catalunya where you can delight in the murmur of the constant throb of the city. Created in an intimate style, with reminiscences of classicism, not forgetting the most modern and sophisticated design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Splitty, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Murmuri Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Murmuri Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing