We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in Barcelona”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Murmuri Barcelona
Ranked #48 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in Barcelona”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We just returned from a four night stay in Barcelona. The Hotel Murmuri was the perfect place for us. It is a modern, chic, cool hotel in the perfect location. As other reviewers have commented it is above Las Ramblas in a more quiet location, but only a few blocks from the craziness. There are GREAT restaurants within walking distance and lots of shopping nearby as well. We had a very nice room with a terrace that had two chairs and a table, where we able to sit outside and enjoy a glass of wine or a cup of coffee.

The bathroom in the rooms was clean and modern and had a towel warmer in the shower which I thought was a very nice touch. The room had a flat screen TV with 2 or 3 English channels. (One was CNN). The fact that the rooms are on the smaller side was not a big deal. I don't know why people think the rooms are small.. Yes, they are not huge, but in my opinion you don't go to Barcelona to sit in your hotel room. The Wi-Fi worked just fine. I did have a problem logging on at first, but I simpy brought my iPad down to the front desk and they were more than happy to help me log on. The staff were all very nice and helpful.

I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thezucca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariacontreras, Director de Recepción at Hotel Murmuri Barcelona, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear guest,

first of all we would like to thank you for choosing hotel Murmuri for your stay in Barcelona.

We work for the satisfaction of our guests so we are glad to know you’ve had a great stay at Murmuri. As you said we are located in Rambla de Catalunya street which is not the same as Las Ramblas, what makes a big difference in terms of noise. Even though we are quite nearby the city center, the most important shopping streets and we have lots of restaurants above too.

We are very pleased to know that you liked the room and also the facilities it has. On the other hand it’s true that it’s a little bit difficult to get connected to our Wifi but just inform you that while we are working to improve it we will be very pleasured to help you.

Thank you for sharing your opinion on Tripadvisor and recommend us. It would be so helpful for other guests and also it let us improve.

Warmly,

Hotel Murmuri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    888
    415
    91
    17
    21
See reviews for
234
785
52
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Garden, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Recently spent two nights at Murmuri ahead of a Med cruise. Paid for a Superior Room and received an upgrade to a suite overlooking Rambla Catalunya. It was a bright and airy room, very clean, large bath, and nice sitting areas. Comfortable king sized bed. Light breakfast available each morning in the restaurant. Murmuri's location is great for access to the Metro. We used the trains a lot during our visit. Very convenient (2 stops?) to Sagrada Famillia, another line takes you down towards the Gothic section. Very easy to navigate. The hotel is located away from the touristy areas. The area has a bit of a local feel to it. The shopping in the area is pretty high end, and endless!
The lobby is small and mostly just a place to engage the desk attendants. They are happy to recommend restaurants and local sights. I would stay here again and will recommend to friends.

Room Tip: 2nd floor room over Rambla Catalunya was quiet while we were there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

My wife & I spent 1 night at hotel Murmuri.
We found the staff very friendly and helpful.
The hotel is well located and is around 28€ for a cab to the airport.
Nice rooms and good bathroom.
No street noise - even though Bayern Munich were playing Barcelona that day.
Reasonable prices in the bar.

A good hotel to use for 1-2 nights.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariacontreras, Gerente at Hotel Murmuri Barcelona, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Murmuri. This was a short stay, and we hope to welcome you back so you can enjoy the Murmuri experience a little bit longer!

Best Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Really nice hotel, not too big. reception staff were friendly...I asked "why do you want my email address" and they guy said "to be honest it's to send you loads of junk mail promoting the hotel" which made me laugh...and I gave him my email anyhow!
The rooms are verging being on the small side, but perhaps you'd say "exactly appointed" rather than "well appointed". Bathrooms have a really nice shower and the fittings are lovely ....I think the place must have been sponsored by Duravit and Grohe! There's a fancy in-room lighting which I found a little hard to figure out...more that I couldn't figure out why one setting was called "ambient" and another "TV" etc...didn't detract from my "in-room experience" in any case.
location is great, right on rambla de catalunya which is the top end of las Ramblas...in geographical as well as qualitative sense: nice, relaxed pace....lots of shops and small bars and restaurants many of which have service on the "rambla".
Anyhow I think this is a really good property for a work trip and for a weekend for a couple. The rooms would be too small if you have a cot or a kid.
room was very quiet, my room was on the side street and the building housing the hotel is old with high ceilings on entry and first level, so being on the third floor meant being reasonably above street level. but it was a Monday night so that could explain it too!

Room Tip: I was in 306 and a colleague was in 305. The hallway which joined these two rooms had its own key co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fearanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariacontreras, Gerente at Hotel Murmuri Barcelona, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comment on Trip Advisor; your feedback is very helpful for us and for future guests. As you said we are located in Rambla de Catalunya, and not in Las Ramblas, which makes a big difference in terms of crowd, noise and so. We’re on Eixample neighborhood, really nice to walk around and with lots of good restaurants.

As far as the in room lighting system, all room are equipped with a dimming system so depending on the time of the day or your mood you can enjoy from different lighting modes to create the ambiance you desire.

We hope to be welcoming you back soon.

Warmly,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Truly enjoyed our stay here - IMMACULATE hotel throughout - very friendly and helpful staff - beautiful location and building. Would highly recommend!

Perfect spot for touring around - ideally located.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliena490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We recently stayed at the hotel for five nights. The hotel was in a great convenient location on Rambla Catalunya a little above the noisy area of the Ramblas and close to restaurants and shopping. Our acccomodations were very nice and the hotel staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Only negative was internet service at the hotel which was sporadic. Would return again to this hotel and wonderful city!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LeslieBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariacontreras, Gerente at Hotel Murmuri Barcelona, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor.

We hope you liked the Murmuri and also your time visiting Barcelona.

We are working to improve our Internet service so we hope that the next time you pay us a visit our internet facility is easy to access and complimentary thru out the entire property.

Warmly,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Ar Riyad, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

First I stayed in Murmuri hotel last summer august 2012,

The hotel was small and cute, the decoration is modern and clean
My husband and I booked a room that suppose to have a nice outdoors terrace with seating area, We booked this room specially for the terrace,

*when we sow the room they said its a " inside " terrace !!! and its not as same as the pictures in the website, So we payed more money than standerd room for extra chair thats NOT WORTH IT!

*second thing was that one of the staff entered the room " TWICE " while we were sleeping without even knocking the door !!

*Also closet was really small and there was no 24/7 room service, so hungry after 12 ? you got nothing to eat, besides network is really bad in rooms.

*Another problem we faced, that the water in the showers was really oily ! So i used pure water bottels to wash my hair.
*lastly we asked the hotel for grocery shop to grap some food after 12, and he said theres nothing open now, and we walked just 5 min from the hotel there was 2 !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Besh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#15 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,074 reviews
Eixample
Villa Emilia
Villa Emilia
#42 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,205 reviews
Eixample
Gallery Hotel
Gallery Hotel
#35 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Granados 83
Hotel Granados 83
#50 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
Eixample
Alma Barcelona
Alma Barcelona
#17 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,744 reviews
Hotel Primero Primera
#13 of 514 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Murmuri Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Murmuri Barcelona

Property: Hotel Murmuri Barcelona
Address: Rambla Catalunya 104, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#41 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#45 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Murmuri Barcelona 4.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new concept of Boutique Hotel opens in Barcelona in March 2008. Murmuri Barcelona is getting ready to surprise you, please you and serve you. A meeting point in the Rambla Catalunya where you can delight in the murmur of the constant throb of the city. Created in an intimate style, with reminiscences of classicism, not forgetting the most modern and sophisticated design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Murmuri Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Murmuri Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing