We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Murmuri Barcelona
Ranked #49 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel and Location”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Loved this Hotel. Stayed 3 nights for a birthday weekend away with the Girlfriend. The rooms are lovely and everything that you would expect. We didn't use the spa/swimming pool facilities as it was bl00dy freezing in Barcelona that weekend, but the bedroom/bathroom etc was excellent and cleaned every day as you would expect.

We arrived at around midnight and the concierge pointed us to a lovely little cafe that was open to grab a bite to eat and drink as the hotel restaurant was closed.

The only negative is the lack of free wifi in the rooms. My girlfriend was delighted at this as it meant I couldn't spend hours looking at sports news, but other customers may find it a big inconvenience. It can't cost much to provide this and would cut out the only negative of the hotel.

Room Tip: Road side rooms might be slightly noisier than other rooms, but didn't inconvenience us at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony_M0_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    908
    423
    95
    18
    21
See reviews for
247
799
53
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
SouthernIll
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The MurMuri was a wonderful experience. The rooms were beautiful, clean and comfortable furnishings! The bed was fabulous. The bathroom was beyond my expectations. The shower was extremely large, with great hot water! Wonderful soaps, etc.

The Location at Rambla de Catalunya was perfect. So many restuarants and shops right outside the front door! Perfect! The Diagonal metro stop was at the end of the block! So convenient.

The staff was friendly, helpful and went above and beyond to make our stay wonderful...the bar was great too!

I would definitely recommend the MurMuri and would go back in a hearbeat! It was a great value!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 60LilRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed at the hotel in Feb and its only now I have time to write to say what a lovely hotel. Good location, friendly staff, clean rooms AND THE BEST PILLOWS I'VE SLEPT ON. They were goose down and so fab, I went out and bought two - not as good as the hotels but nearly. I don't understand the comment shown on-line and would certainly recommend the hotel - it was a quiet haven as all the rooms are soundproofed - again don't understand the comments made. What clinched it for me was the great location and the only reason I didn't give it full marks was that 40% of the taxi drivers in the city centre, when asked, did not know where the hotel was located so sometimes proved difficult to get back to hotel - the hotel should take some responsibility for that by better self-promotion.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank b t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Murmuri has many problems. Terrible untrained staff who have no idea. Concierge who has no idea and no experience of restaurants or places he is recommending. Terrible room service food - just awful. Such a shame. We have stayed a few times before and its gotten worse and worse each time. No refilling mini bar. We left room at 8am and put 'Clean Room' sign on door. Returned 12 hours later and room still uncleaned. This happened every day. Weird. they charge 4 star prices but 2 star service. Very noisy rooms. Bad pillows, no cable tv, no tissues, cheap pillows etc.... You can stay in better places for cheaper- trust me.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 383Michelle_S383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

With so many hotels in Barcelona how do you decide? Luckily we selected Murmuri. The location is oh so perfect. Just walk out the front door and you start having fun. Shops, restaurants, museums. Paella at a seaside restaurant is just a short cab ride away and be sure to catch a flamenco show. The hotel is small with a stylish decor, very attractive. The rooms are designed well and comfortable offering nice balconies to relax. After a day of sightseeing it is wonderful to take a 5 minute walk to the Majestic Hotel for complimentary access to their rooftop pool for a refreshing swim, a cool drink and fabulous views of the city. When we stayed there the restaurant was in need of better management during breakfast. There were many problems from poor service of kitchen staff and servers to problematic self serve coffee maker.
Hopefully this has improved. Otherwise a wonderful place to stay in Barcelona! I would like to add that Barcelona is very easy to fall in love with, the people are so friendly and it is easy to navigate through the city by foot making it a great destination. We'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank On-our-way149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariacontreras, Gerente at Hotel Murmuri Barcelona, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for sharing your opinion on TripAdvisor. It seems you really enjoyed our hotel and the city, and you have also taken advantage of the facilities at the Majestic Hotel & Spa! That’s wonderful!
We are really happy you liked the Murmuri and we hope to be welcome you back soon.

On another note we would like to let you know that we are making a lot of changes in our food&beverage department, to improve the service level specially in the breakfast time, so we hope next time you are also able to enjoy from it!

Best Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

For my 4th stay in Barcelona I've chosen MurMuri and it was the best of those 4 experiences. I previously stayed in the Miramar Hotel and Silken Diagonal hotel. The interior design is very nice and receptionists friendly and adequate. I stayed in their smallest room, called Design Room, but the design of the rooms is quite smart which gives them the impression to be bigger. It's perfect when you travel on your own, maybe a bit small for two. The breakfast is not very extensive, but offers fresh products at a fair price. The hotel rates are very attractive too and it's located in a nice, upscale area of the city with some nice restaurants very close.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babolat-blast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariacontreras, Gerente at Hotel Murmuri Barcelona, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear babolat-blast,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Murmuri during your last stay in our city.

We are so glad to hear that you have had such "an excellent experience" with us and that we are doing things the right way! Also thank you for comparing us to 5 star hotels such as Miramar Hotel. The Design room in which you stayed, is the smallest one, so we will offer you a Superior room with views to Rambla de Catalunya or maybe a Privilege room with terrace where you will enjoy a larger room.

Last but not least, thank you so much for sharing your opinion on TripAdvisor!

Best Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I stayed with my best friend for a week here and loved it! The bar was fun and comfortable. The room was great with a nice balcony to boot. The staff was top notch and very helpful. Its located on the Ramblas up north in the quiet nice part of Barcelona. There are a ton of places to eat and the shopping was great. We checked out other hotels that we had thought about booking but none compared. I cant wait to take my husband there!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmalsop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariacontreras, Gerente at Hotel Murmuri Barcelona, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear rmalsop ,

Thank you very much for sharing your positive comment with the rest of TA users. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you can't wait to come again with your husband.. This are such good news for us!

Looking forward to your next stay at Murmuri, we hope to surprise you again!

Warmly,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#14 of 513 in Barcelona
2,220 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Pulitzer
Hotel Pulitzer
#97 of 513 in Barcelona
2,220 reviews
Eixample
Gallery Hotel
Gallery Hotel
#33 of 513 in Barcelona
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#64 of 513 in Barcelona
1,865 reviews
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Hotel Primero Primera
#16 of 513 in Barcelona
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Murmuri Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Murmuri Barcelona

Property: Hotel Murmuri Barcelona
Address: Rambla Catalunya 104, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#43 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#45 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Murmuri Barcelona 4.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new concept of Boutique Hotel opens in Barcelona in March 2008. Murmuri Barcelona is getting ready to surprise you, please you and serve you. A meeting point in the Rambla Catalunya where you can delight in the murmur of the constant throb of the city. Created in an intimate style, with reminiscences of classicism, not forgetting the most modern and sophisticated design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Murmuri Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Murmuri Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing