We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to explore the best of Barcelona”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Murmuri Barcelona
Ranked #63 of 520 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Arrived slap bang in the middle of the best of Barcelona. This hotel is cool and groovy. It also has great service. We rented a 2 bedroom apartment for a long and very festive 50th birthday weekend. The concierge/reception were very helpful with where to go and re-arranging travel arrangements after flights were cancelled due to snow at London Heathrow. The side street has fabulous bars and restaurants including the coolest Spanish bar and amazing sushi restaurant. There's a wonderful Gaudi building a 10 second stroll from the front door. Fantastic local patisseries for breakfast. Check out the local tapas and shop your socks off. We loved our apartment and have no hesitation in telling you to check right in!

Room Tip: We loved the Grec apartment on 2nd floor of their apartment block at the back of the hotel. Just per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skoolrunmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariacontreras, Gerente at Hotel Murmuri Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Dear skoolrunmum,

We would like to thank you for taking the time sharing your experience online. We are glad to hear that your experience was a positive one and hopefully you will recommend us!

Please come back soon, Murmuri will certainly be your home away from home.

Warmly,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,520)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

813 - 819 of 1,520 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

After staying 3nights ,spending €200 per night for room only.Plus €150 per person for the New Years Eve dinner .Which was very good and lovely atmosphere.
The wardrobes in our room was awkward and did not open fully on each end,hence we left 2pairs of trousers and a blouse or shirt?
When we phoned to say can they send them on...It was not so friendly or courteous ,considering we also live in Spain ,the charge was €42.00.
After spending nearly €1,000 for 3nights ,you would think it would be courteous to send it on with no charge.
We wrote to say this ,but got no reply.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prettydetails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariacontreras, Gerente at Hotel Murmuri Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear Prettydetails,

First of all, we would like to thank you for sharing your review with the rest of TA users. We are glad to know you enjoyed your holidays and the New Year’s Eve dinner celebration at Murmuri.

Regarding the matter of sending the items left in the room after checking out: we daily collect a large amount of items and belongings left by our guests in the hotel rooms. This is a big responsibility for us and following Majestic Hotel Group policy we must inform and provide our guests with all the needed information to deliver the items back in a safe and fast way. Therefore, we hope you understand where we come from and we truly appreciate your comprehension with this matter.

Having this said, if you come back to Barcelona, please feel free to contact us as it will be a pleasure to see you again!

Warmly,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This hotel is absolutely a gem! It is nice, clean and located in one of the best neighborhoods (a walking distance from all the modernista's must see and near a metro station). Our room was small and sweet with a little terrace. There is a rooftop where we could sit and enjoy the weather. Breakfast was one of the best we've ever had (including the coffee), and the staff members are welcoming and helpful. Makes you want to come back!

BTW - Their sister hotel (nearby) has a spa and a pool that guests of both hotels can use.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony. If it's a good season - ask in advance to upgrade to a room on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yuli66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariacontreras, Gerente at Hotel Murmuri Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear Yuli66,

On behalf of Murmuri team, we would like to thank you for sharing your experience with the rest of TA users. We are delighted to know that your stay with was as satisfactory as you expected. Our guests reviews are very important for us in order to improve the service we offer. Regarding our hotel facilities and the facilities in our sister property Hotel Majestic & Spa, we are glad to learn that you also had the time to enjoye them.

If you travel to Barcelona please feel free to contact us , it will be a pleasure to welcome you back!

Warmly,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

the hotel murmuri has a great location directly at rambla catalunya, for me one of the nicest streets of barcelona and much calmer and cleaner then the las ramblas part. the hotel itself is very well decorated and has a nice ambiance. i stayed at the hotel only once but usually come for a drink here because of its great location, whenever i visit barcelona. i have to say that i am a bit disappointed by the poor service they offer at the bar marfil, both inside and outside. the waiters take very long to even bring the menu, not even thinking about taking the order and it takes extremely long until they bring the food and even a bottle of still water. usually something is missing and the service isnt too friendly either. if you dont speak spanish you wont be able to order anything because they have trouble understanding any other language. since i like the hotel itself a lot and am around that area quite often i would love to see an improvement in their service, i spoke to the manager a couple of times already but it doesnt seem to change. for me personally the service is one of the most important aspects of a hotel. however, i would recommend the hotel for tourists because of the beautiful decoration and the coziness of the hotel. the entire hotel is very clean and the food in the restaurant ( not bar marfil, the restaurant itself ) is very good. as well the rooms are clean, spacious and have a lovely decoration. all in all the hotel itself is very nice but the service could definitely be improved !

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

From the moment we arrived the experience was perfect. The hotel is brilliantly situated on the more civilized upper section of the Ramblas (ramblas da Catalunya), surrounded by great shops and restaurants. The area is a buzz at night, seems to be popoluar with locals, but not frantic like the lower part of the ramblas which is really a tourist trap. Its a couple of blocks down from the Diagonal. We happily walked about 20 mins down the road each morning to placa da Catalunya and from there we explored the Gothic and other old areas of the city. Our room was amazing ( we were kindly upgraded to a suite) and the service, cleaning and decor were great. Personal and friednly service is a rare and valuable asset to this boutique hotel. This hotel would be 5 stars in South Africa or New York and was miles better than the accommodation for the same price elsewhere is Europe. We had complimentary coffee but didn't eat in, we mainly ate at La Bodegueta Provenca on the next block and one night at da Greco which is also 5 mins away. We had drinks and tapas a couple of times at Lizarran, in the next street. Breakfast latte and pastries at Hansel, also on the next corner. All amazing! Will review each separately. In summary - cant wait to return.

Room Tip: We initially booked into the apartments, which were not as fancy, but had great accommodation if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noashcloudplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My partner and I just spent five days in Hotel Murmuri, spanning the New Year. We stayed in a wonderful apartment for the first two days and then in a superior room for three. The rooms were really fantastic and the atmosphere in the hotel was really nice. We enjoyed ourselves hugely. The staff were very friendly, the breakfast was great – and on our last night we had a thoroughly enjoyable meal in the hotel restaurant, el Passatge de Murmuri. We also visited the hotel's sister restaurant, Petit Comite, which is owned by Hotel Murmuri and located around the corner in Passatge de la Concepcio. The food there was a really smart and interesting modern take on traditional Catalan dishes and we would recommend it highly. The location couldn't be better -it's right in the centre, but the rooms are still quiet at night.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank queenmaedbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariacontreras, Gerente at Hotel Murmuri Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear queenmaedbh,

Thank you very much for your review. Our team is really happy to know you enjoyed the hotel and our services. We know that dining is an important factor for visitors during their holidays and Murmuri offers the opportunity to try different dining experiences (elPassatge del Murmuri Restaurant and Petit Comité Restaurant) to learn about the local gastronomy!

Thank you very much again for staying with us and we hope to see you back soon at Murmuri.

Warmly,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

After reviewing lots of hotels online, we chose the murmuri after reading the reviews on trip advisor. I have to say we weren't disappointed the hotel was lovely, the location was ideal close to a metro station and within 20 minutes walk of most of the attractions in the city. We paid extra for the executive room with a balcony and it was definitely worth the extra money, the room was clean, spacious and quite contemporary. The hotel has nice little bar area with comfortable soft furnishing and was ideal for having a drink and relaxing after a day on your feet sight seeing. These is plenty of choice for hotels in Barcelona, but the murmuri is definitely worth a look.

Thank jasonmLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#69 of 520 in Barcelona
1,993 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#16 of 520 in Barcelona
2,408 reviews
Eixample
Gallery Hotel
Gallery Hotel
#28 of 520 in Barcelona
1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Granados 83
Hotel Granados 83
#48 of 520 in Barcelona
1,529 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Granvia
Hotel Granvia
#65 of 520 in Barcelona
1,230 reviews
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Murmuri Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Murmuri Barcelona

Address: Rambla Catalunya 104, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#45 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#54 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $122 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Murmuri Barcelona 4.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new concept of Boutique Hotel opens in Barcelona in March 2008. Murmuri Barcelona is getting ready to surprise you, please you and serve you. A meeting point in the Rambla Catalunya where you can delight in the murmur of the constant throb of the city. Created in an intimate style, with reminiscences of classicism, not forgetting the most modern and sophisticated design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Murmuri Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Murmuri Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing