We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly disappointed about the long waiting time for a simply food order..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Murmuri Barcelona
Ranked #63 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Because of the positive hype, the highly recommendations done by friends of mine, I have tried by the last Friday the bar at the ground floor.
Have to say that this is a really charming hotel,located in the heart of Barcelona with a lot of character...
Even more higher was my disappointment and frustration as I been waiting really long time to get served a simple food order,rice noodles as main and chilled strawberry as desert.
I would come back but just because of the friendly and helpful staff in the bar lounge which make my stay highly comfortable.
Can not get it in my minds how a high quality product can provide that bad service even though the order has been made out of the busy time, by aprox.11pm.
Hope deeply that you can work on it...

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m0nika77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,511)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,052 - 1,058 of 1,511 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2011

Staff here were friendly and helpful. Our package included a breakfast buffet which was excellent. Location is good, within a block or so of the Diagonal metro station. Easy access to the Ramblas but in a quiet location. The large tiled shower was amazing and a refreshing way end the day after a few hours of waking and wandering through the many sights of Barcelona. The dinner fare at the restaurant was good but not excellent. Nevertheless, I would recommend this hotel to those seeking luxury during their stay in this fascinating city.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AVeryLuckyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

Excellent boutique hotel located in the heart of everything that is Barcelona. Within a short walk of several great Gaudí sites, including La Pedrera and Sagrada Familia, and Plaça Catalunya. We also walked down to La Rambla, which was well worth the extra distance, though Rambla Catalunya was just as nice, and less busy. The hotel is very modern with a fantastic bar and restaurant (they also extend the bar out onto the Rambla in front, which is really nice for people watching). We were very impressed with the staff, and the service we received... they had taxis scheduled and waiting when we needed, and were helpful in every way. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Request a room on the 4th floor in the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank POSitiveBrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariacontreras, Director de Recepción at Hotel Murmuri Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2011

Dear Guest,

In the name of Hotel Murmuri we would like to thank you for your good reviews about our Hotel because they help us to improve and they show us we are working on the correct way.
We would be pleased to receive you again in case you decide to visit our city again in the future.

Kind regards,

Andrés Bañales
Hotel Murmuri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2011

Fantastically located boutique hotel in the midst of what Barcelona offers best - historical sites, cultural centers, restaurants and shopping. Along the Rambla de Catalunya in easy walking distance from everything that counts. Modern, very well-decorated, comfortable, clean and willing-to-help staff. Breakfast very good. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MLAMJMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2011

We just came from a great hotel in Madrid and yes the Murmuri topped even that.
The manager Maria made sure as did her staff that every detail was attended too.
We had the time of our life with the help of Roberto and the entire staff. Newspapers
to cream for our coffee and salt needed to fix our son and his roommate dinner, getting us what we couldn't find was a pleasure not an imposition. Our son was studying in
Barcelona and they thoughtfully suggested staying at the apt. that is part of the hotel
instead of our reserved room. How great was that, what a great place it was.
Thank you to all the staff for making our trip truly a great one.

Room Tip: apt. next door(Tivoli)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cooks2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2011

This hotel has an excellent location, staff, and price for what it offers. It was extremely comfortable stay with everyone at the hotel extremely helpful to my wife and I. The room was not large by any standards, but very comfortable with a spectacular balcony and view of the city. So close to everything I would def go back!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYdodger31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2011

I booked through an internet booking site. However, I contacted the hotel and kindly asked them that they give me a room on the Rambla instead of an upgrade. I did not get a room on the Rambla and I did not get an upgrade. However, since I've arrived at midnight, I did not want to push it. The room was very small but very nicely designed. The only design fault was the light beige or grey carpet, which attracted any stain possible. We had a pleasant balcony towards the back of the hotel, not a very nice view, but at least we were not staring into a wall. The windows were perfectly isolating the noise from the outside.

Now to the negatives: The King bed I asked for, were in fact two very narrow beds on wheels pushed together. They were constantly rolling away from each other. It was not very romantic... Also, when we arrived, I found the throw on the bed had a big stain and there was a long hair in the bath. The next day, everything was cleaned well.

I also had a very bad feeling of nickel&diming. The small bottle of water cost 4 EUR. There was no free internet access anywhere in the hotel and the paid one was 20 EUR per day. There were no coffee making facilities in the room and breakfast was ridiculously expensive - if I pay 1 EUR for coffee anywhere in Barcelona, why should I pay 8 EUR for it in the hotel?

I had mixed experience with the staff. I asked them to make reservations for me in 2 restaurants. They were not able to do it. The answers were "they are not open now, we will call them tomorrow... by the time we called them they were closed again" and "we know they are booked 3 months in advance but we called them and asked them to call us back if they have any cancellation, we just didn't tell you, sorry". When I asked them to make an on-line booking of tickets to Sagrada Familia, I had to show them how it's done, they were absolutely clueless. And then it took 10 minutes to get the printer to work. When we were leaving, we asked them to prepare the bill for us and went to breakfast. When we returned after 30 minutes, it took them another 20 minutes to prepare the bill. There were additional charges on the bill which we did not make.
Also, when we were comming and going, especially later at night, there was usually no-one to greet us or they did not bother to say hello.

On the other hand,, when I thought I lost 50 EUR in one of the restaurants, they did everything they could to find out what happened. Without any results again, but this time it was not their fault.

Despite the great location and the terrasses from the rooms, I would not reccommend this hotel and I would not stay in it again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sasicka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#16 of 518 in Barcelona
2,382 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Granvia
Hotel Granvia
#60 of 518 in Barcelona
1,221 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#66 of 518 in Barcelona
1,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel
#72 of 518 in Barcelona
2,084 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Granados 83
Hotel Granados 83
#48 of 518 in Barcelona
1,524 reviews
Eixample
Gallery Hotel
Gallery Hotel
#31 of 518 in Barcelona
1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Murmuri Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Murmuri Barcelona

Address: Rambla Catalunya 104, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#45 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#52 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $126 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Murmuri Barcelona 4.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new concept of Boutique Hotel opens in Barcelona in March 2008. Murmuri Barcelona is getting ready to surprise you, please you and serve you. A meeting point in the Rambla Catalunya where you can delight in the murmur of the constant throb of the city. Created in an intimate style, with reminiscences of classicism, not forgetting the most modern and sophisticated design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Murmuri Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Murmuri Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing