We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat seafood like the BCN natives do”
Review of La Medusa 73

La Medusa 73
Ranked #1,076 of 10,824 Restaurants in Barcelona
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: L'Antiga Esquerra de l'Eixample
Description: La Medusa 73 is a fresh-from-the-market-to-table style restaurant. Our ingredients are bought daily from Barcelona's open-air produce markets, ensuring the highest quality when creating traditional Catalan and Spanish tapas. We are a family business offering authentic cuisine in a relaxed yet cosmopolitan environment. Located in the newly renovated Mercat Del Ninot, La Medusa 73 offers breakfast from 9-11 a.m. including our not to be missed Spanish tortillas, croquettes and a variety of bocatas to please everyone's palette. We are open for tapas from 11:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m. Enjoy our contemporary tapas selection, mouth-watering paellas, or incredible entrees accompanied with one of Cataluña's award winning wines.
Reviewed June 5, 2016

This was my first authentic, not touristy seafood meal in BCN. The place is in a mall with a bunch of other food restaurants with sit-down service at the bar like all the other restaurants in the Mercat.

Prices are generally between mid-range and expensive. Four of us spent $123 Euro on enough food for all of us. Ask the staff behind the counter what's good as that's the best way to take advantage of the freshest seafood available.

The mini-lobsters served spicy with olive oil and garlic were out of this world. So were the clams cooked similarly but w/o hot spices. Also try the cod fish croquettes. These breaded, fried balls of goodness were so amazing I want one right meow. Yes, I said meow. ;)

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Greg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 29 of 146 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2016

To be found inside the Mercat del Ninot this is a real local's haunt. Fresh fish cooked in front of you, cold white wine and great service. I was there at lunch time and luckily managed to get a seat, outside peak times may be best.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank N479DJchrisb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2016 via mobile

Fantastic sea food and very charming staff.
This place serves amazing dishes and it is an absolute must if you are into sea food. You will not be disappointed

Date of visit: February 2016
Thank TBA-Odense
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2016

The market was already closing when we came and we didn't expect to get any service. But we were pleasantly surprised and luckily tasted great paella. It was cooked just for us and tasted wonderfully. The wine was good, we were presented by some snacks from the house while waiting for paella. I strongly recommend to visit La Medusa 73 to taste delicious sea food.

Date of visit: November 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank yullich
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2015

We walked to this place after reading some great reviews on Tripadvisor and Yelp and we were not disappointed. This is a seafood bar inside the Mercat del Ninot which is a local market that is smaller than La Boqueria but better and cleaner. You sit at the counter and order your drink and your seafood of choice, from octopus, razor clams to fresh fish and scallops then you watch them grill and cook to perfection. The people there were incredibly nice and helpful. We got there around 7:30 and they close around 9pm so we had to eat a little faster than we wanted but we got to see them clean up and meet the owner who was also very friendly. We had a great time and the seafood we had was amazingly fresh! It made our night in Barcelona.

Date of visit: December 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank OnAir809532
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Medusa 73 also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to La Medusa 73? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.