We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst service that I have ever encountered (no exaggeration)”
Review of Kibuka

Kibuka
Ranked #1,214 of 11,168 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $31
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Gracia
Reviewed May 14, 2018

First of all, when my friend and I entered, we waited 5 minutes to be seated at the open table next to us. Then, we sat down and waited to be served for approximately 15-20 minutes. The waiter comes over, we order, and then he walks away. All seems well. Until, we get our bottle of wine, which sits on our table for 10 minutes until another waiter brings 2 wine glasses over and serves us. After approx 10 more minutes, our edamame immediately followed by my friend's sushi roll arrives. It is not the roll she ordered, which isn't a big a deal. She is flexible and adapted to the situation. Meanwhile, I am waiting for my roll to come. And waiting and waiting. And it doesn't come. After about 20 minutes, I get the a different waiter's attention and he said it would be coming soon. Another 20 minutes go by and the roll finally comes. No apologies offered. Waiter claims that it is totally normal to serve one roll and another 30+ minutes apart. (note: the rolls were not ordered for sharing). After I consumed my roll, we ordered another roll. It never came. We decide to ask for the check from the bartender because at this point the waiter wasn't even coming over anymore (the place is not that busy at this point)...Anyways, we kindly confront the waiter to tell him the last roll we ordered never came and he immediately gets defensive and says "well it's not on your bill, is it!?" It wasn't. The point was that we ordered the roll 30 minutes prior and it never came. Also, after the initial debacle of my roll, I decided to record and time how long it would take for the next roll. This mistreatment is all recorded. HORRENDOUS SERVICE. The food (if it ever arrives) is not worth the poor service. If you any self respect, do not go here.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiriamGarciaMedina, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Kibuka, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2018
Google Translation

Apreciado cliente,

Le pedimos disculpas. Analizando la situación vemos que hubo una cadena de malos entendidos con el pedido de su mesa.

Podemos asegurarle que se debe a algo excepcional y esperamos que vuelvan a visitarnos para comprobar que nuestro servicio es completamente profesional y se preocupa por hacer que el cliente disfrute la experiencia.

Atentamente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (467)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 467 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2018 via mobile

Really appreciate the food, but the service not polite. At 11.30 they brought the bill without asking for it

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank dionigiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiriamGarciaMedina, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Kibuka, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2018
Google Translation

Buenas tardes,

Le pedimos disculpas por lo sucedido en su ultima visita. Nuestro personal debio llevarle su cuenta por alguna razón en concreto, no es nuestro modus operandi llevarla sin que nuestros clientes la pidan primero.
Sentimos mucho si le pudo molestar lo ocurrido y esperamos verle de nuevo en nuestro local.

Atentamente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2017

I've been going to this restaurant for 12 years but never got round to writing a review. Every single time I've been (probably well over 50 now) it's brilliant. I have never eaten a bad meal here and, compared to other sushi places in the city, it's well priced. The Miso Magura roll and the Tataki Uramaki are amazing, as is the variety of sushi plater. The service is always really good too. Yum Yum

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tasha438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2017 via mobile

Excellent Japanese cuisine with a creative touch. Every dish we tried was delicious: maki, sushi; as well as the great desserts ( we recommend coulant with green tea ice cream). Very reasonably priced and very good service. Definitely worth a visit when in the Gracia neighborhood.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank mjs03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2017

The food is reallly good, it is worth the wait as you can not reserve !
Its busy, loud, super simple and very Gracia somehow !
Do not expect a very good service it goes with the style of the place.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sarahhR5999TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kibuka also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Kibuka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing