We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent”
Review of Indochine

Indochine
Ranked #2,685 of 9,540 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $29 - $36
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Eixample
Cardiff
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Decent”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I visited this restaurant during my short vacation in Barcelona since I am a big fan of asian cuisine.

The first impression was very good, beautiful decor consisting of orchids, plants and fish ponds which the girlfriend loved

The menu is very typical in terms of prices of Asian restaurants, but I felt that the amount of food is very lacking. So I suggest going for the set menus to minimise overspending. The food itself isn't very authentic or amazing, but it is very unique. If you like to try new things then I would recommend this restaurant. It’s important to note that the variety is quite limited, so a warning for the vegetarians: the girlfriend is a vegetarian and she had very limited options.

I definitely enjoyed the unique experience, but I would not go there again if I visit Barcelona again. Finally, try to avoid eating next to kids who feed the fish; you will get water splashed on your face!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kslice_0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    78
    34
    19
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Unique dining experience”
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We dined as vegetarians and although there was not anything formal on the menu, we were well catered for. Dining inside a koi pond was definately a first for my family and I. Quite a unique Asian experience.

Helpful?
2 Thank Jasmeer R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Surprising!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We passed this restaurant a couple of times. The window is decorated with orchids, plants and looks like a forest. That was not very attractive for us. Finally we dared to try ... and we were surprised! A complete Asian garden inside with a huge pond with fishes. And the tables are in the pond. Of course you can sit dry, but you are surrounded with water and fishes. And the food is excellent. We choose the medium menu, so we were served about 10 little courses with very good and tastefull food. Good wines, very friendly staff. Perfect night!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank T V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“One of the best Asian in Barcelona”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

It's really difficult to find authentic asian food in barcelona because the spanish don't like spicy food, so most tastes tend to get watered down or made more european.
At Indochine it's as authentic as you can get and coming here sends you to a little asian tranquil paradise.
I love the decor and the feel and think that the plates add a nice touch.
The only thing I would say against the place is that food is slow to come out. I have been here many times now and it's the same every time, so when you come here, best to enjoy, take your time and not be in a rush.
Try the deserts here, they are amazing!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BarcelonaBcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good visual experience, not gastronomic”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This restaurant is spectacular. You will eat on a water full of fish. So, if want to impress your partner aesthetically, this is the place. But if you want you to enjoy the food, is not, because they have a very poor asiatic plates.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KIKUYU_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indochine also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Indochine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing