We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gluten Free friendly”
Review of Mussol Casp

Mussol Casp
Ranked #2,594 of 9,540 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $22 - $45
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Eixample
melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Gluten Free friendly”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

When you find a restaurant that is filled with locals, you know you've found a winner. We discovered this restaurant by accident but are glad we did! Not only did it offer great spanish food but best of all it had a gluten free menu which offered quite a range for the gluten intolerant...including beer. Service was generally very good and food was fresh and well proportioned and even more importantly, it was very well priced. We were so impressed, we visited this restaurant several times during our week in Barcelona. Overall, highly recommended

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gpanzas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    174
    95
    51
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“horrible food!”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

dont go here! Bad food; the aioli was served in ashtrays and the vegetables was totally burned. Not even the french fries was eatable. The waiter was no nice.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fabulous sangria with sad, sad vegetables”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

It is difficult to give an overall rating of Mussol. My friend and I dined here on our first evening in Barcelona and we knew nothing about the place. It was stifling hot and we wanted to dine outdoors. It appealed to us that Mussol had many veggie dishes on the menu and was located on a quiet side street with little traffic.

It was difficult to get the waiter's attention and this seemed to be the tendency throughout the evening. We had to get up and enter the restaurant on several occasions to get service, which was slightly annoying to say the least. The outdoor seating arrangement was nice.

Being vegetarians, both my friend and I order a variety of enticing vegetable dishes. Our sangria arrived first. I can honestly say this was the supreme highlight of the evening. A magnificent, light red wine garlanded with sweet sugar, apples, peaches and citric fruits... a perfect blend and a mischievous permutation for the gods - oh lord, I would love a glass right this minute. A 1 lt. pitcher only cost 5.85 Euro. Amazing.

However, the vegetable dishes were a sordid disappointment. Everything was smoked: artichokes, aubergine, potatoes, squash, you name it - all smoked. It looked good, but all the fine vegetable flavors were ruined by excessive roasting. After the meal and far into the night we both had a bitter, lingering smokey aftertaste. Nevertheless, should we return to Barcelona then Mussol’s sangria is an absolute nr. 1 must-have.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank funflowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Catalan excellence ”
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

We had a range of Catalan specialities, all of which were superb. Catalan chicken with fried potatoes, artichoke cannelloni, aubergines, grilled with local cheese, tuna and potato pie, mountain rice with spicy catalan sausage and artichokes, lamb with potatoes. The local wines were wonderful, truly exceptional, and we were delighted with the free champagne (because the moon was in Capricorn apparently!). The service was attentive but refreshingly unobtrusive. The staff were so welcoming and friendly. Our waiter genuinely wanted us to have a memorable evening. Puddings were glorious too. Highly recommended, we'll be going again!

Helpful?
Thank nerja2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If you don't have a choice this is for you”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Small dishes, terrible meat and bitter beer. But the service is good! So if you don't have a reservation and it's near your location .... You can visit it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nnnnSa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mussol Casp also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Mussol Casp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing