We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yumm”

Restaurante El Foro
Reserve with
Restaurante El Foro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #477 of 10,179 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $34
Cuisines: Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: El Born / La Ribera
Description: "A place where gastronomy, art and culture come together" An Argentinean restaurant in "El Born", Barcelona The restaurant has the appearance of a French bistro, the ambience and decor are part of its charm, but above all, what makes it special and what explains the resounding success is that it is an Argentine restaurant in Barcelona, that offers quality –and price. We offer an extensive menu with meats imported from Argentina, famous for its cut, taste and quality; handmade pastas; pizzas and grilled cheeses (like the famous provolone) . At noon, from Tuesday to Friday, we offer a menu of Mediterranean fusion cuisine, comprising a cream soup followed by a starter ,main course and desserts . Drinks are also included. There are four types of meat on the menu, these include an authentic Argentinean grill called "Criollo", plus another grill from the La Pampa region called "Pampero" and the Patagonian mixed Grill. The restaurant has a few private rooms for groups, located on the main floor. In the cellar, known as "El Foro Club" is a space available for a more intimate dinner or simply to have a drink.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We ate here out first night in Barcelona because it was across the street from our hotel. We returned our last night - enough said!
Delicious food - Eduardo was excellent - his suggestions were great.
Enjoyed it very much!
pizza, flank steak, veal, wine, cava -- yummmmm

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank carnott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clau7enri, Public Relations Manager at Restaurante El Foro, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you very much for your opinion, return soon!
Regards!
Restaurante El Foro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (794)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

244 - 248 of 794 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

We visit El Foro every time we are in Barcelona having 1st found it by chance a few years ago. The food is Argentinian and therefore mostly meat but there is a good choice and so far everything we have tried has been superb. Staff are pleasant and helpful and yes some cant speak very good English , but we dont speak very good Spanish but we try what Spanish we can and they appreciate this.Given some of the overpriced food found in this city this restaurant is good value for money. Tip - try the Ox chop - it is amazing

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EmaDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clau7enri, Public Relations Manager at Restaurante El Foro, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you very much for your opinion, return soon!
Regards!
Restaurante El Foro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

You are in Barcelona, the city of tapas. You can have good tapas almost everywhere. So I would not recommend El Foro.

I went to attend a friend's birthday. It's a good place though for reservations in group.

Service is ok, atmosphere is not bad, price is correct but the food is not worth it. You can find, for the same price, hundreds of other better places and... all around, in a walking distance.

I would go if asked but from my own initiative I am not returning.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Schegerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clau7enri, Public Relations Manager at Restaurante El Foro, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Hello Schegerin.
Thank you for sending your opinion, we lament that the restaurant has not been of your pleasure, but we are not specialized in lids, we are specializated in Argentine and Mediterranean food ... we are sorry about the confusion and hope that you could return to make yourself to change idea!
Thank’s and regards.

Restaurante El Foro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Please please ignore negative reviews of this restaurant. My partner and I spent 3 nights in Barcelona. On the last night he wanted a steak and so we researched where the best steak restaurant was and came up with El Faro. We were delighted to find this family run restaurant tucked away down a narrow lane. Rustic, traditional and a lovely atmosphere this ticked all the boxes for us. The experience started with a delicious dip accompanied by hot fresh bread. We were quick to order, we started with a very reasonably priced bottle of wine and the onto the food. I opted for the salmon carpaccio while my partner went for the cold beef option. For main we both had steak- surprisingly! My partner had the straight forward option cooked medium rare while I went for an el foro special which was a sirloin stuffed with cheese walnuts and meat. I can honestly say it was one if not the best steak I have ever tasted. Beautifully seasoned, hot and extremely quick- both courses were superb. Too full for desert, we ordered the check and went for a long walk to let it go down. Please visit this wonderful restaurant. I highly recommend it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Strawbzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clau7enri, Public Relations Manager at Restaurante El Foro, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Hello Strawbzy!
Thank you very much for your opinion, return soon!
Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Went for steaks and wine at this El Foro. It's Argentinian meat was of pretty good quality, and the service was quick and polite.
In my epinion their best cut is the Ojo - which I translate to something similar to a rib-eye. Tasty and well grilled. The winelist was absolutely not overwhelming, but we decided for a decent Catena Malbec for around 20 euro, which is a really fair price.
It´s very clear that their focus is the meat, because the potatoes and other sides, wasn't very good.
Overall it was a fine meal - but they should add some better bottles to the winelist, and work on the sideorders.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clau7enri, Public Relations Manager at Restaurante El Foro, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Hello Martin.
Thank you very much for your opinion, we are employed at a new wine list, we hope that you return promptly to be able to prove them!
Thank's and regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante El Foro also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Restaurante El Foro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing