We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Niciest business dinner in long time”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pla Restaurant

Pla Restaurant
Ranked #332 of 9,400 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Description: A 18 years old Barcelona Center Restaurant. We love Mediterranean cuisine, with proximity food and seasonnal products. But without leaving outinfluences from other cultures and International and innovative cuisine with salads, meats, fish and vegetarian options Cosy, Warm, intimate and Romantic place with a young and carefree service when we speak Catalan, Spanish, English and French. We are behing the City Hall in Sant Jaume Square. With the City Hall at you right hand, the first street, called CIUTAT, after that the second to the lefht hand, in that case: Bellafila Street
Giussano, Italy
Level Contributor
126 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Niciest business dinner in long time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

I've been at Pla on a friendly business dinner with 10 people and it has been the best one in long time. Just to say we get out at 2 AM when the restaurant was closing.
The place is very nice and, even if quite full, not loud and allowed us to speak without having to shout.
The service simply perfect and discrete. The selection menu we had very nice and well balanced as choices as well as overall food.
The wines very good and high quality (no headaches the day after :)).
Very nice place for sure to go back with friends or family.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank msavazzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    732
    302
    98
    50
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Leave room for pudding !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We loved Pla and having eaten in a wide selection of venues in Barcelona this makes a wonderful change to tapas and seafood. The food is excellent and the flavour combinations are well thought out. The main of Iberian ham cheeks with Brie is scrummy. However unusually for a meal that started well and got better with the main the puddings were the highlight!! The lemon soup with what can only be described as apple calvados "bombs" was a taste sensation. The wine list is excellent value and the home made breads were very good. It's not cheap but it's also better than many more expensive meals we had. The live music nights are worth it - no tacky castanets just very talented young musicians who play sympathetically and very well.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Abstay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“good dinner -- awesome desserts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

The day before leaving for Barcelona I came across Pla and promptly made a reservation for four for the next night. That day, while walking through Barri Gotic, we just stumbled across the restaurant tucked in a side street. It's definitely off the beaten path. When we returned for our reservation, we were shown to a nice table on the first floor, very private. Our waiter was very welcoming, sitting down next to us to review the menu. After an awesome amuse bouche of cauliflower-apple-lime soup, we got a variety of excellent starters -- especially the Iberian ham -- and then on to our main courses, which were delicious (melted Brie over pork cheeks -- yummy!). Dessert stole the show, though; I loved the lemon soup with bay leaf sorbet! The wasabi ice cream with my friend's dessert was also a memorable experience. Overall, for four starters, entrees, desserts, and a bottle of great wine, we were out for 180EUR, and left completely stuffed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeakerTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nothing bad, but nothing memorable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

My fiancé and I ate here for Valentine's Day. The restaurant was dimly lit and adorned with rose petals on the floor and table. A very nice touch I must say. We had a great table upstairs in a private setting. We booked late, so had a reservation on the early side at 8:15. The staff was friendly and helpful, but the food was good, but a little blasé for both of us. We ordered a nice bottle of wine and the cork has significantly dried and was crumbling when opening. I was a little concerned about it, but turned out to be just fine. This was also coming right off of them forgetting to bring the glasses of cava we ordered to start. I'm nitpicking, but as a whole, we would probably try something else next time. I'd also agree with other reviewers in that it was on the expensive side for what we were served.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mkbanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
340 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Very good and creative food, but a bit too pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

We booked in advance for this restaurant. On arrival we found the service welcoming and friendly. We were given a table upstairs scattered with rose petals (it was valentine's day). We were given an amuse bouche of cauliflower and apple soup which was tasty. For starters we had the mackerel and cod pate, for mains we had steak and pork cheeks and for dessert we tried two different chocolate desserts. Everything we had was well flavoured and beautifully presented. My dessert came with wasabi icecream which was a very unusual and creative idea. The (natural) wine I chose was not nice at all but I didn't ask for any help choosing it so I can't really blame the restaurant for that. The bill was presented along with some homemade sweets which was a nice touch. The price of the food and wine was a bit too steep, but overall the atmosphere was good and we had an enjoyable evening.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SCSLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pla Restaurant also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Pla Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing