We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The reviews don't lie. So book in advance!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pla Restaurant

Pla Restaurant
Ranked #324 of 9,396 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Description: A 18 years old Barcelona Center Restaurant. We love Mediterranean cuisine, with proximity food and seasonnal products. But without leaving outinfluences from other cultures and International and innovative cuisine with salads, meats, fish and vegetarian options Cosy, Warm, intimate and Romantic place with a young and carefree service when we speak Catalan, Spanish, English and French. We are behing the City Hall in Sant Jaume Square. With the City Hall at you right hand, the first street, called CIUTAT, after that the second to the lefht hand, in that case: Bellafila Street
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
“The reviews don't lie. So book in advance!”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We picked Pla as a Saturday night dining option in Barcelona. And being picked as one of the top Travellers Choice 2012 restaurants we had high expectations. And they were fully met! The food was excellent, the ambience romantic and a decoration of good taste. Acoustics are good as walls are decorated with sound dimming cork plates (!). Try the slightly grilled Tuna. And if you're ind a mood of adventure, try the gorgonzola icecream with chocolate cake and almond pudding. Not a home run if you are the banana split kind, but at least you can tell your grandkids that you had moldy cheese icecream.

Only reason why I cannot top rate this place is that when the waiter spilled over the wine of the couple next to us and broke a glass into her (empty) plate, they were not offered even a free desert, coffee or anything.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacobboll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    732
    302
    98
    50
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent service and food”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We arrived at 8pm to a fairly empty restaurant (only one table taken) on a Friday and were third in the line after two couples who also had no reservations. Both couples were given a table and we were told that they were only able to sit us at the bar as they were fully booked. So definitely call to book beforehand, apparently they don't take bookings via email (we emailed). However, after finding out that the next table was only going to come in at 930pm(the Spaniards dine really late!) we said we'd take that table and leave by then as we were not very hungry and had not planned on staying long. The restaurant had dim romantic lighting and used wooden table and chairs. We were shown to a table upstairs and a very friendly waiter told us the specials (celery soup and baked sea bream - I cannot remember all the other fancy ingredients that accompanied it). We ordered the chargrilled beef steak with chard and cheesy potato stack(€22), as well as the lamb with white bean sauce and roasted aubergine and cheese (three slender slices of cheese which were quite strong tasting) for €17. The steak was cooked to perfection (medium rare) and the lamb was really tender, we were both really satisfied with our meal. We ordered a glass of orange and apple juice at €4.10 each. Total bill approximately €50.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skeppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Winner!”
Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Stumbled upon this restaurant after being turned down by two others. Arrived without a booking at 9:15pm, there were no tables left. Defiantly book! We managed to get two seats at the bar which was perfect for us. The place was rammed with two live mandolin players downstairs. We were served quickly and food arrived shortly after. The menu was great, steak was cooked perfectly. Small portion but with great taste, texture and flavours.

Would definitely recommend. Is slightly off the beaten track in an alleyway behind the church.

3 course meal for two, with bread, water and a glass of house red came to 82E

Helpful?
Thank RobRaskovsky
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We ate here on our last night in Barcelona in early September 12 and it was the best feed of our holiday.
It's a little bit out of the way, but well worth finding. We called into them at approximately 5.30pm (not yet open) and were able to get a reservation for 7.30pm. I think we were lucky to get a table and would recommend booking if you can.
Both starters and mains were fabulous - the steaks in particular were amazing.
The staff are very friendly and pull up a stool to your table while going through the menu and taking your order.
A little pricier compared to other restaurants you can find in Barcelona but it was well worth it. We would definitely return on our next visit to Barcelona.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank XshellyX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
145 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great recommendation, not the easiest to find but worth it”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My friend Barcelona recommended this place and I thanked him for it. Its a little harder to find but worth it. We were in La Cave part, which was lovely. The food was fantastic. To be honest everything looked so good, it was hard to choose. I went with the mackerel starter which was light but yet so flavoursome. My friend went with the special which was quickly demolished. For mains I went with the tuna, I was torn between the beef and tuna but the. mmmmm at the end of the menu meant tuna it was, my friend went with the beef so I was able to taste both. Happy faces all around. The tuna came with a variety of sauce samples. Delicious. Desserts, I was slightly less successful, I went with the special and while it looked pretty it just didnt work for me but my friend went with the Peach tarte tartin and was kind enough to give me some before he cleared his plate and it was amazing. I ended with a glass of Muscat, which was perfect. The price we paid for the food was very reasonable and we were very happy. Definitely highly recommend

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank cjudge109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pla Restaurant also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Pla Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing