We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great sushi, very good value, great service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurante Japones Tempura-ya

Restaurante Japones Tempura-ya
Ranked #516 of 9,334 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $146
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Eixample
Menlo Park
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great sushi, very good value, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

Came here with the family on the recommendation of a Japanese friend... all of us were very pleased. I have three kids with very different palates (12, 10, and 7 years old), and all of us found something that we loved.

Tempura portions are generous, as are the maki (rolls). They served the best California roll I've ever had, anywhere.

This is a popular restaurant, so either show up early, or get a reservation.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JP N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    108
    20
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not sure what to expect”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

Okay, beware, this is written by someone who isn't sure what to expect from japaneese cuisine.. so take this review with a grain of salt please.
We went here because of the recommendations both here on Tripadvisor and the Spotted by locals-app (saying this was where the Japanese went when having japaneese food). So figured this must be good... well, as said, not sure what to expect from japaneese cuisine. But apparently, what you order is what you get (ie - tempura without extras, just the tempura dishes you ordered...meat/steak - only meat/steak). For someone used to eat food with something on the side this was slightly weird. The experience can be summed up in...clean taste...the tempura (we had mixed and scampi) was good, tasted pretty clean, but nothing more. The steak with sauce was good, but again..nothing more..it feels weird eating pieces of meat with sauce...and nothing else... the sushi was fine...have tasted better.. so.
To sum it up... it was fine..but had expected more tbh. And uh, I should have asked, but I thanked yes to Japanese green tea..which's actual green tea, ie tasted and smelled like seaweed hot water. Ugh. My mistake. On the plus side - English speaking waiters, English menu and it was okay priced.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Noamii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

I love japaneese food and this restaurant did not disappoint. Tempura was excellent as was the tuna and chicken we had. Wines were good quality and reasonably priced. All told worth the walk in the beautiful Barcelona evening.

Helpful?
2 Thank Barryohss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
132 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

A Japanese chef recommended this restaurant. The decoration is beautiful, the staff extremely polite, fast and helpful, and the food is the best Japanese food I've eaten in Barcelona.
I love tempura, but I find it hard on my stomach, because it's usually too fat or maybe it's the frying oil they use, but at Tempura-Ya, the tempura was light as a feather, crunchy and tasty,
The gioza were extraordinary too. I tried eel with rice, which was delicious!!
Desserts were really good too.Price for 2, with a cup of wine and a beer was around 50 euros, so it's good value. I definitely want to return many times to try all the dishes in their menu!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ariana60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“one of my favs japanese in Bcn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

you normally fin 'decent' sushi places in bcn, but this one is one step above this. the udon with clams is in my opnion their signature dish. imperdible!!! sushi is ok, but honestly their kitchen is too good to order sushi. try the black sesame flan.... amazing. just amazing, they have a sake in the menu, the last one of the 3 which is to die for. good japanese at good prices, ah! u have to book though,,,,

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lola d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Japones Tempura-ya also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Restaurante Japones Tempura-ya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing