We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thai Barcelona Royal Cuisine Restaurant

Thai Barcelona Royal Cuisine Restaurant
Reserve with
Thai Barcelona Royal Cuisine Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #699 of 9,334 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $33 - $60
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Eixample
Description: In September 1998 Thai Gardens Barcelona opens its doors for the first time. At the time the city lacked thai cuisine restaurants. Opening our doors to the public every single day throughout these past sixteen years, we have seen how the offer of Asian cuisine was growing in Barcelona and how, at the same time, our role as Royal Thai Cuisine ambassadors was being consolidated. Our restaurant is the result of the efforts of a great team that day after day transform any meal in a pleasant moment in the ancient kingdom of Siam.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Fabulous food. Delicious flavours and lovely ambience. Staff were very friendly and service was flawless

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Grainne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    384
    414
    198
    93
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malta
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The worse dining experience in a week - a compelte sham.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Whilst visiting Barcelona we decided to visit the Thai Gardens. We viewed the restaurant and had high expectations. We decided and booked on the day, a Saturday. Our booking was for 8.00PM. We were about 8 minutes late and given a table and menu. We chose the sampling menu which consisted of about 6 starters and 5 or 6 small dishes for the main course, a bottle of wine and water, coffee or tea and desert, with fruit “from our Thai gardens”.

The starter was brought a few minutes after ordering. A spring roll, a shrimp wrapped in filo and fried, a fritter of corn and some stuffing, a skewer of chicken satay, rice vermicelli and half a meat dumpling.
As soon as we finished our starters, our table was cleared and in five minutes flat our main course was on the table. This consisted of a very, very dry piece of chicken cooked in a leaf wrapping, a shrimp coconut curry with 1 ½ shrimps per guest which was the best of the lot, a type of beef curry made from the meat one uses to make beef stock and which was stringy and bland, a chicken serving with sauce, a serving of noodles and plain boiled rice. We ate, not being at all impressed by the food. The ambience of the place does betray, because when you enter the place your first thought is, “Ah this must be a good place”. The furnishings and decorations are beautiful but the food is a complete sham. Again as soon as we had finished our main course our table was cleared up and in two minutes our “Thai” desert appeared. A small serving with chocolate cream with a sprinkling of desiccated coconut, the surprise fruit “from our Thai garden” was a piece of chewy sour pineapple and there was a portion of crème caramel (very Thai!!). Tea for me and coffee for my wife were served. When they wanted us to leave the server came and just SNATCHED the sugar box from the table without a comment. By 8.50PM we were done and out!

During our meal three gentlemen dressed is suits were literally quickly pacing about looking at the guests. Their interest was in clearing the tables. The usual Thai tradition which I have always been accustomed to i.e. of having dishes with carved vegetables and flowers, beautiful just to look at does not exist. Maybe this is Spanish Thai which is different to what I am used to. Without being offensive to the Spaniards. This is a complete sham where the owner has a conveyor-belt method of sitting people down to a meal and the only aim is how quick he is going to get the guests out and having a new customer on that table. The enjoyment of pleasing the customer is just, well, not there. As for wine, well I thought that being in Spain, at least I should expect a decent bottle of wine....sorry there’s a surprise there too. I don’t mean any harm to the restaurant however when you spend about €80.00 for a meal which you have been looking forward to, especially when on holiday...it should be enjoyable and a bit, if I can say so, memorable (in the positive sense). I could have gone to a hamburger franchise shop, I would have known what to expect and would have got exactly what I paid for. Don’t be disillusioned, chose somewhere else.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank bonnicimario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Decent Thai in Paseo de Gracia area”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Thai Gardens is a good option if you want a relaxing meal close to the Paseo de Gracia area.
You will appreciate the quiet atmosphere, the exotic decoration.
Food is OK and probably not the main reason to go.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nicofrombcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good, tasty but expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Perfect place place for a dinner for two. Nice deco, good ambience (air conditioning was too cold, though). Food is good, wide choice of dishes but it's not extraordinary. Too expensive for the food quality.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lizlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“always a great experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

I used to be a frequent customer of this lovely restaurant when I lived in BCN . After 6 years nothing has changed . Quality of service and food still very good . Good job !!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cbfj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Barcelona Royal Cuisine Restaurant also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Thai Barcelona Royal Cuisine Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing