We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of HelloBCN Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
HelloBCN Hostel
Ranked #80 of 754 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A good stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed two nights here. Arrived late but it wasn't a problem, the man on reception was friendly and checked us in and gave us all the info we needed. It's a 10euro cash deposit for your wristband which gives you access to the hostel, your room, and your locker in your room.
The lockers are fantastic! They were so big that I could fir my whole pack in there and there was still a bit of room for loose things. We stayed in a 6 bed mixed dorm, and were lucky to have really friendly roomies. The rooms have aircon units, but we had the window open most of the time anyway. Watch your head if you get a bottom bunk, as there isn't enough room to sit up! Standard Ikea bunks though. Room and bathroom were both really clean. The ladies bathroom on our floor had 3 toilets and 3 showers in it. They're push the button showers so you have to keep pushing them to get the water flowing which is a little annoying, but it's only a small thing, and the pressure was good.
There are laundry facilities on level 6 - buy tokens for reception for 3euros per machine, and powder for 0.50c. The dryer on the right didn't dry our stuff properly so not sure what's going on with that, but use the left one if you can!
Breakfast between 8 and 10 in the mornings, cereal, toast, juice, coffee etc all available for free.
There is a gym if you are into that, and there is luggage storage available until 8pm on the day you check out. Plenty of walking tours, pub entries, meals etc organised there too.
Overall we had a good stay here and would definitely recommend it.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ekh86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    107
    36
    5
    3
See reviews for
11
29
63
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Almeria, Spain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

I paid 30€ for one night in an 8 bed room here. It was clean, quiet with a decent atmosphere. The breakfast was well stocked, but pretty meager in terms of the variety. The bathrooms had no mats on the floor or anything so the floor was always covered in shower water. I almost slipped every time I went in there. The staff were rude. I had to stand outside after ringing the bell to check in for 5 minutes while the man behind the desk talked on the phone. Once he finally let me in, he didn't say anything and I waited for 10 more minutes just to check in while he was messing around with some papers. Same thing happened with the girl when I wanted to check out. She was outside smoking and talking, not paying attention at all to what was going on at the desk. Also, VERY annoying that they only hold your luggage until 8pm. I needed it until about 8:30 and they said no exceptions.
The common rooms are nice though, and its neat that they have a gym. Over all, I only picked this hostel to be close to the FINA World Championships. When I visit Barcelona again I will go back to my regular hostel Casa Gracia. Which for the same price as this one, I HIGHLY recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alli8489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

For €27 a night I wasn't really impressed with this hostel. On arrival they took forever to check us in and just handed us a pack of sheets to make up our beds for ourselves.
The shower have bad water pressure and the breakfast is fairly average.
On the plus side the nightlife activities and free pub crawls that the hostel offer are awesome and there is a fantastic common area.
Wifi works in the rooms and the whole hostel is fully air conditioned.
The hostel works on a electronic wristband system so their is added safety for the rooms.
The hostel was fine, just think it was a bit expensive.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raanzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Its a hostel, I was lucky with the roomies, bathrooms are always busy, as well as runners. Very young environment. The beer sold cheap, and has public phones with cheap rates. laundry I found expensive. the staff were very good, always attentive. Breakfast was to be desired. For a hostel is good

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank betaguiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

This was a great choice for a hostel in Barcelona. The place was very clean and the staff was friendly. There is a huge common area in the first floor with a computer area and a bar. Everyone meets there each night, socialized, and then heads out to a bar and club. It is a great place to meet new friends from around the world. It is also in a great location, not far from the beach or Las Ramblas. I would highly recommend HelloBCN!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kylie_124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here early July 2013. The rooms were clean, had to pay £3 for a towel. Cost ?375 for four nights in a private room. Breakfast was basic, but had to get down before 10am. Staff weee friends. At night there were drinks and everyone socialised down stairs.

Helpful?
Thank Nathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

great time..near La Rambla and Monjuic hill,friendly stuff,big common area!We stayed there for 5 nights with fellows for a conferece and we are absolutely satisfied.Everything is close to the hostel as bars,restaurants as also Plza Espana,Barceloneta and other significant places in Barcelona.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kostiskok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Montjuic
Pars Teatro Hostel
Pars Teatro Hostel
#83 of 754 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Mambo Tango Youth Hostel
#168 of 754 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Eixample
Hola Hostal Eixample
Hola Hostal Eixample
#128 of 754 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montjuic
Hostel One Paralelo
Hostel One Paralelo
#16 of 754 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
El Raval
Be Sound Hostel
Be Sound Hostel
#271 of 754 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Eixample
Don Moustache Hostel
Don Moustache Hostel
#92 of 754 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HelloBCN Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HelloBCN Hostel

Property: HelloBCN Hostel
Address: C/ Lafont 8-10, 08004 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Montjuic , El Poble Sec
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 754 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — HelloBCN Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello Barcelona!! Let us help you make your stay unforgettable. HelloBCN Hostel is designed with the backpacker/traveler in mind: breakfast, sheets, Internet, and use of the kitchen are all included in the price, so you don't have to worry about 'hidden extras' when you arrive (towels available for hire) and best of all you're sure to make loads of new friends and travel companions!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your HelloBCN Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hellobcn Hotel Barcelona
HelloBCN Hostel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing