We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad word to say!”
Review of HelloBCN Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
HelloBCN Hostel
Ranked #67 of 722 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not a bad word to say!”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Last stop on our europe travels and by far the best. Security was tip top you were given a fob to enter the hostel, then your room and it was also for your personal locker which was super secure. Everywhere was super clean, even though the kitchen was a little smelly but still not bad! Breakfast was free in the morning which was a perk! The hostel organised events every single night whatever type of traveller you are, nights out, film watching, magic fountain. We loved it and would be perfect for a solo traveller as its very socialable. Location also perfect and we felt safe in the area...future travellers just be aware of nights out generally in Barcelona as we heard of lots of people getting passports/money stole while in clubs! Loved Hello BCN thank you!!! Would recommend everyone

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aimee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    110
    36
    5
    3
See reviews for
12
29
64
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Good Location, Good price, quiet rooms, even though near to busy road, inside it is quiet. WiFi is available and the staff we met was very helpful. I travelled with 2 other friends and all of us liked it and we recommend it.

Room Tip: room nect to reception is NOT quiet as the new arriving guests are talking and you can hear them, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gurinder79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campo Grande
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The staff is super nice, the hostel is super clean, the kitchen is great, the bar is lovely, excellent position. Any way... best hostel in my life.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafa2309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed at helloBCN for two nights. Upon arrival we were greeted by this LOVELY spanish looking girl with a pretty smile with ear spacer - she was amazing! So helpful and willing to help. The Australian guy at the bar was also very nice and helpful! I was extremely happy until our last day when we checked out we had a bus that wasn't leaving until midnight so we asked for our luggage to be held by the two ladies sitting at reception. Usually they allow until 8pm but we asked to extend as we had no where to keep it. They made us feel so unwanted and unwelcomed. They allowed us to leave until 10(which meant sitting at a bus depot for nearly 2 hrs with all our luggage) but even that seemed like they really didn't want to do it and they made it felt to us. when we came to pick up the luggage we tried to be thankful but still felt like all they wanted was for us to be out of their sight. This reason alone made me never want to return. We were going to return later with another group but have since cancelled that reservation.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirk_is_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We checked into the private double with ensuite bedroom on top level and found it to be very comfortable and quiet. The bed was really big and comfortable and room had air con. The staff were super helpful despite being faced with question after question from travelers. They always appeared to be genuinely concerned with giving you the best advise. Daily activities on the board in the common room were good. Always felt safe in the neighborhood or for the 10 minute walk to Las Ramblas.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTravelCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2012

This hostel was so clean, friendly and helpful. the staff were all lovely and got you in party mode every night really well with lots to see and do. Showers and toilets all clean and working. Not too far from the center 10minute walk and felt always safe. Great place :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kstar1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

great. club nights every night. wifi only half worked in room, but always worked downstairs.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abbbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hola Hostal Eixample
Hola Hostal Eixample
#124 of 722 in Barcelona
299 reviews
Eixample
Backpackers BCN
Backpackers BCN
#29 of 722 in Barcelona
243 reviews
Eixample
Black Swan Hostel
Black Swan Hostel
#18 of 722 in Barcelona
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gracia
Jam Hostel Barcelona
Jam Hostel Barcelona
#28 of 722 in Barcelona
157 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Kabul Hostel
Kabul Hostel
#86 of 722 in Barcelona
952 reviews
Montjuic
Hostel One Paralelo
Hostel One Paralelo
#27 of 722 in Barcelona
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HelloBCN Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HelloBCN Hostel

Property: HelloBCN Hostel
Address: C/ Lafont 8-10, 08004 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Montjuic , El Poble Sec
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 722 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — HelloBCN Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello Barcelona!! Let us help you make your stay unforgettable. HelloBCN Hostel is designed with the backpacker/traveler in mind: breakfast, sheets, Internet, and use of the kitchen are all included in the price, so you don't have to worry about 'hidden extras' when you arrive (towels available for hire) and best of all you're sure to make loads of new friends and travel companions!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your HelloBCN Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hellobcn Hotel Barcelona
HelloBCN Hostel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing