We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
HelloBCN Hostel
Ranked #98 of 736 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Really nice hostel, clean, organized front desk staff, nice breakfast in the morning. My only complaint is that it was a little too strict--no visitors allowed. I really see where they're coming from, but it just felt a little too much like a strict college dorm. Otherwise, I would stay there again...

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amelie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

132 - 138 of 276 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2011

This hostel was really good for what we needed. Being fairly close to a metro stop made it easy to get to the main attractions at the start of the day. Furthermore, there is a great Tapa place just round the corner.
The rooms were quite tight but clean and fairly cool when the air con was on. There were secure lockers for everyone too! The key was a sort of bracelet thing that you could strap on your wrist and you had to show it to the staff each time you entered the foyer. The whole hostel was very secure.
The showers were really clean but small, but that is a picky comment. Breakfast is included in the common room which was a bonus. The common rom was nice actually, a good place to meet fellow travellers.
All in all, a really good hostel, so if I went there again on a trip, Id stay there again!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xavierwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

This place was great! It's better if you make a reservation in advance, you will probably have to share a room with less people and might get a better rate. They had most anything you could want in a hostel though. The staff was very helpful and informative of any questions you might have on where to site see, where to eat, where to get cash, and where to party. When you arrive they give you a bracelet which has a chip in it. This is awesome, it acts as your key to enter hostel, key to room and key to your locker in your room, which is also really nice. They have 4 computers with free interenet(no printer, you will need to go to the internet cafe around the corner to print). They have a washer and dryer(3 euros to wash and to dry). Community bathrooms, there's 3 toilets and 3 showers and 3 sinks on each floor(1 for guys and 1 for girls). Gym access, kitchen if you want to cook and they even have a bar where they serve good sangria and super pints(20-24 oz) of Heineken beer for 2 euros each. Pete & Chad were the bartender and event coordinator when we were there. They were both great and got us into some sweet clubs at night for free. You get a stamp on your hand and they usually leave around 12:00-12:30am to go out. Because if you don't know, the party in Barcelona goes all night long. I came back one night at 4:30am and they were still going at it. If you are up early enough, you can see people coming back from the clubs around 6am sometimes. I hope you enjoy.

Mike

Room Tip: book in advance, share a room w/ less people
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank michaelv313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2011

I spent 4 nights at HelloBCN Hostel, the hostel was easy to find with the directions provided by the hostel. I liked the location of the hostel as it is not too far from the hub of the city and i enjoyed walking back to the hostel at night through all the hustle and bustle-i didn't feel worried walking by myself at night.

The rooms have electronic keys for the lockers-no extra charge, this was something i hadn't seen before and thought it was really secure and practical. The hostel was a bit noisey at night with people outside and in the hostel going out/coming back from a night out but this is to be expected in Barcelona really and it wasn't unbearable. I was in a four bed room, it was quite compact but i think for the price it was fine and also breakfast is included too,

I didn't cook but there was a small kitchen and a lounge area too. There is also a gym in the hostel, free to use! The hostel had a bar with 1 euro wine 2 euro beer and there was a good atmosphere if you don't fancy going out in the city.

Metro is really close and staff were helpful.
The bathroom is kept really clean, however, the showers could be improved, you have to wait quite a while for the hot water to come through, you get used to it though!

I enjoyed my stay at the hostel and would definately recommend staying there.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelbugging22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2011

I stayed in the Hello BCN hostel for 3 nights.. And I can really say I had one of the best times EVER! We found the hostel really easy, and the rooms were small but cosy and good to meet new people! The rooms and bathrooms were amazingly clean and the beds were soft and I had a goodnight rest everynight!

The hostel has a bar and the hostel takes you out to different clubs every night! You get a stamp so you can get in for free and you first go drinking at a cheap bar.

The people in the hostel were really friendly and helped you whenever you needed something! It's really close to the subway and you can get around the whole city really easily

If i can recommend anything else it would be a cafe near the subway where you get of for the hostel. The stop is called Paral.lel and when you get out of the metro, across the road of the Teather there is a bar called Cafe Espagnol.. Definately go there! they serve really good cocktails, even in 1 L glasses!

If you're up for a good time in Barcelona and meet lots of new cool amazing people, you should really stay there! I'm going back there,absolutely!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicicici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

Hello BCN is very good.
About the location, If it were closer to the Rambla, it would be better... but you can get there by foot (at about 20 minutes walking, I guess). It's not a place full of people at night... which means that you have to pay attention and take care. But I don't consider the place dangerous at all!
The hostel is very, very, very clean... the beds are great... my room (double bed private) was so beautiful and cozy!
The breakfast is OK... much better than others I've tried!
There's a bar inside, but I thought it could be funnier... with some music, etc.
The staff is very nice and helpfull... they can help you with everything you need.
I would stay there again for sure!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TatianaRoque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2010

the staff were a mixed bunch, some were very friendly and talkative, others just didnt seemed interested, but they were still helpful once you asked the right question.
The twin room was great for the amount of time we spent at the hostel, was great to have a private ensuite in the room too.
the hostel is slightly out of the way behind the apollo theatre, but once you find its very handy for catching the metro or bus. slightly disappointed with the so called 'bar' to say the least, was expected a bit more that a single tap behind a counter. although you can pop a few seconds down the road for an ice cold damm, soo good! I cant say anything about the kitchen or gym as i was no where near them. I had a problem with the wifi connection with the iphone but i did see others having no problem what so ever. i just used one of the pc in the hostel for the internet.
PS they have table tennis which is pretty awesome, and the wrist band keys are very impressive

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gregdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Fabrizzios Terrace Barcelona
Fabrizzios Terrace Barcelona
#91 of 736 in Barcelona
124 reviews
Eixample
Don Moustache Hostel
Don Moustache Hostel
#130 of 736 in Barcelona
124 reviews
Eixample
Urbany Hostel BCN GO!
Urbany Hostel BCN GO!
#70 of 736 in Barcelona
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Buba House
Buba House
#164 of 736 in Barcelona
167 reviews
Eixample
Hola Hostal Eixample
Hola Hostal Eixample
#108 of 736 in Barcelona
317 reviews
El Raval
Pars Tailor's Hostel
Pars Tailor's Hostel
#73 of 736 in Barcelona
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HelloBCN Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HelloBCN Hostel

Address: C/ Lafont 8-10, 08004 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Montjuic , El Poble Sec
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 736 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range: $18 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — HelloBCN Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello Barcelona!! Let us help you make your stay unforgettable. HelloBCN Hostel is designed with the backpacker/traveler in mind: breakfast, sheets, Internet, and use of the kitchen are all included in the price, so you don't have to worry about 'hidden extras' when you arrive (towels available for hire) and best of all you're sure to make loads of new friends and travel companions!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your HelloBCN Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hellobcn Hotel Barcelona
HelloBCN Hostel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing