We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (397)
Filter reviews
397 results
Traveler rating
344
44
8
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
344
44
8
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswonderful hostsmetro stophome from homeceiling fanself cateringplace to stayresidential areawithin easy reachquiet at nightrooftop terraceairportapartmentcitycavastops
Filter
Updating list...
166 - 171 of 397 reviews
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I recently spent five days in Barcelona with a friend and we chose to stay in the twin room at the Patio Barcelona B&B. We had a wonderful experience and would highly recommend this clean and quiet B&B to others. Liz and Tony were friendly hosts, providing lots of valuable local information. In particular Liz provides an extensive list of good local restaurants including reviews from past guests. The B&B is located in a quiet residential neighbourhood within a reasonable walk from the main sights of Barcelona. For those who do not want to walk, there is a metro stop just across the street providing easy access to wherever you want to go. A nice breakfast of fresh fruit, yogourt, bread, cereal, tea and coffee is provided each morning. There is a single bathroom shared between two rooms, but we never found this to be a problem.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mehalse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Liz and Tony were incredible people. We had a fantastic time and their knowledge was boundless. From the simple T10 metro card, Tony showing us how to obtain tickets for the Familia from a cash machine and stating what time and day we wanted to go, Liz's recommendations for local Spanish authentic Tapas! Bus routes and general plans for the day. You need a week at least to really take in this fantastic city. The people were so friendly and helpful. The Patio is a truly beautiful jewel in this city. You just wouldnt believe the setting and how central it is. We felt safe at all times ( as everyone who spoke to us prior to our trip said watch out for the usual suspects). November is deffo a great time to go, as it was not busy busy. We are planning to go back to see a Barca game in 2013. Thnaks to Liz and Tony for a real treat, dont hover book it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nails55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Travelling to Barcelona at short notice, I mailed Tony and Liz and they were able to help with putting me up in The Patio. I've stayed several times in The Loft, their self-catering apartment around the corner from their B&B, so am something of a regular!

The Patio is extremely conveniently located right by a metro stop and close to Sants station. For a central Barcelona location, it's incredibly peaceful, just off a courtyard in the centre of a block of apartments. The furnishings are first rate and comfortable, with ample storage and lots of room to move around in. Liz and Tony know all the good local restaurants (and, importantly, the ones to avoid!) and also all the good places to visit across the city.

Breakfast is ample and the odd glass of cava (not at breakfast, you understand...) goes down well with convivial conversation.

Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon_Hawkhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed at the 'loft' last year and had a really relaxing time (out of the central Barcelona bustle). Stayed at the 'patio' b&b this time as only over for three days. Lovely quiet rooms (ground floor) in an unusual building with a very large roof terrace (where I had drinks with the helpful and knowledgable owners on arrival). Close to a great food market, bakery and reasonably priced (but good) eating places. Slept well but that may have been the wine!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have just got back from the Patio. we decided to take advantage of being met at the airport to take any stress out of finding the Patio, arrived in the evening to rain but Liz pointed us in the direction of the nearest restaurant and lent us big umbrella's.
The Patio is behind a multi storey block which you have to go through., so it is very quiet. Quirky yes, but so much better than impersonal hotels, we loved it
There are only 2 rooms in the Patio and they share a bathroom, we didn't find this any problem. The breakfasts are excellent as is the facility to come back and have the use of the lounge and roof terrace at any time (It stopped raining the following lunchtime and was a lovely 20c for the rest of the time)
The bed was big and comfortable and Liz's recommendations for food and entertainment were excellent. As others have commented Liz pointed us to a little Italian restaurant for the second night, buzzing , wonderful salad with a pizza base thrown in, large portions of pasta and a bottle of wine and remarkably cheap.
It was so good we returned for lunch the following day.
We had a great time, Liz couldn't have been more helpful (Tony had gone off to Turkey managing the Catalan darts team)
We will be back

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sacrebleu_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews