We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (397)
Filter reviews
397 results
Traveler rating
344
44
8
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
344
44
8
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswonderful hostsmetro stophome from homeceiling fanself cateringplace to stayresidential areawithin easy reachquiet at nightrooftop terraceairportapartmentcitycavastops
Filter
Updating list...
177 - 182 of 397 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

We spent the first 5 days of our trip In the very busy tourist part of Barcelona by the coast. We spent the last 3 days here and It's a great little spot. We stayed in The Flat a self service apartment. It's was close to the subway, trains and was situated in a great neibourhood and Tony and Liz were unbelievably help full they had coupon books and knowledge that proved to be invaluable for our stay while there. Thank you

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The Patio is uniquely located in the central district of L'Eixample, Barcelona. It is one of a row of fireman's cottages hidden at the back of the large apartment blocks in L'Eixample. You walk through the ground floor and out the back to find an amazingly quiet spot. You can't hear a thing.

Liz and Tony are extremely warm and knowledgeable hosts. Although they sound like a traditional English couple, Tony is Catalan and plays darts for a pub team! Liz, who has been in Barcelona for 30 years, will greet you with a Yorkshire/Lancashire accent that is still there when she speaks Spanish.

Staying in B&Bs is about experiencing interesting places, meeting people and getting a better insight into what's going on. Liz and Tony are very easy to speak to, know their area extremely well and make you feel immediately at home. We have been to Barcelona a number of times, so it was good to get recommendations off the usual list.

There is a shared bathroom, which is clearly stated in the blurb, but if there are people using the other room, it's easy to suggest timing slots for the morning.

We really enjoyed our time there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This B and B is one of the best we have stayed in during our 5 month travels. There have been many good reviews on Trip advisor and all are true..we liked the fact that the B and B was in a local community and not a tourist area.we got a "feel" for the area and this reflected a real Barcelona. It is very safe and secure.It was extrememely easy to get anywhere by Metro..across the street.Liz and Tony are exceptional hosts and helped with so many details..local resaurants and areas to visit not necessarily in the guidebooks. Tony helped me park our car locally!! What a star!
The B and B is spacious, comfortable, clean and stylish and the breakfast excellent.
This is THE place to stay when you visit Barcelona..without doubt. Acommodation with character and charm!!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank lyndsay r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Conveniently located. An express train from the airport to the train station which is a short walk or one subway stop from this very clean, secure, relaxing bed and breakfast allows for easy exploration of the many attractions of Barcelona as well as allowing you to feel what it would be like to live in this interesting city. Liz and Tony are super hosts. From the very beginning of our 5 day stay we were treated as friends and made to feel welcomed and at home. Our room was decorated with stunning pieces of furniture and a comfortable bed. The ceiling fan provided just enough relief from some very hot summer days.The bathroom is shared with one other room but that was never an issue. Place settings for breakfast were set out the night before in an elegant dining room that added to the warmth of the greeting from Liz each morning. Delicious fruit salad, lots of choices of yogurt, cereal, toast , juices, coffee or tea were the usual although Liz was attentive to any requests. Assistance with restaurants and planning the activities of each day were offered by Liz in a genuine, generous, friendly manner. She knows and loves her city and neighbourhood and provides the correct amount of information and encouragement that allows you to discover the charms of Barcelona in your own way. We would return in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whundas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Friendly B & B, Liz & Tony are very hospitable. However we would not stay here again if we came back to Barcelona. We do like staying in the smaller more personal properties, however The Patio was not for us. The reason being, the rooms are not air conditioned and very hot during the summer. It is away from the main tourist sites, so you need to either take the metro or taxi. We booked a double room, and were given a twin. Liz tried to change us to the double, but Tony wouldn't let us move, even though there was no one staying in the double room for the next two nights. The beds are really hard. You have to share the bathroom, and toilet. The brick wall behind our bed was covered in dust - not very clean.

We found Liz's recommendations not suited for us. We were in Barcelona & wanted to try Tapas. However Liz recommended a Hotel restaurant that had three courses for 15 euros. It was pretty bad. No atmosphere and very bland food. The next night we used trip advisor and found a wonderful tapas restaurant in the Gothic Quarter.

We would stay in a small B & B in the Gothic Quarter on our next visit.

Room Tip: Confirm at the time of booking what room type you require. Also email a few days before your arrival to ensure the room hasn't been change.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JCamNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews