We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Downtown Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Downtown Hostel
Ranked #344 of 736 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hostel for 5 nights...while we thought it was overpriced so was every other hotel in town. I will definitely say this place exceeded our expectations. The hostel was extremely clean. Most other visitors were similar to us...late 20s early 30s couples and were rather quiet. The staff were very helpful and happily helped us book reservations/tickets and print out ticket confirmations. The location is spectacular...steps from LA rambla and the liciu metro station. La rambla is overrated but where most want to stay their first visit. While some guide books warn of safety issues in raval, we felt very safe in this location, it is a quiet street steps from the opera. Its also close to a neighborhood grocery store with pastry shop that got us cheap drinks and breakfast. The bar on the northern corner is also a great breakfast joint. We were worried about not having ac in July, but the fan and windows gave adequate ventilation. We also were upgraded to a ensuite bathroom, but the biggest downside is we were next to the kitchen. Our windows were 3 feet from the kitchen windows, all of which were open. This meant people could see in our room and if someone disobeyed the kitchen closed hours and didn't turn out the light when they left, we had a light shining in our room. This was only a problem one night. Also, there was little outside light, but some other rooms had a lot of light.

Other downsides
WiFi only in common area
Poor labeling of hostel...look for hostel valencia and prep by looking at Google map street view. The banner on street view is no longer there.
Small room

5% charge for credit card, 2? charge for towel

While I think this was overpriced, I think we would've had to spend at least 20? a night more for similar location and slightly better accommodations and we were very satisfied. If you plan to spend time in your room (we don't) then a hostel isn't your place.

Thank cpfoutz
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 81 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

We have just spent 5 nights in Barcelona at the Downtown Hostel.

Location is great, close to la Rambla, la Boqueria and the Old Hospital de la Santa Creu.
Shared bathroom, well equipped kitchen, a nice terrace to have breakfast / meal.
No street noise but wall are thin and some noise from corridors or other rooms can be heard.

If you don't expect luxury, but a rest point, I do recommend the Downtown Hostel.

Just be aware - 20 euro deposit, 2 euro per towel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pawel27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The Photo's in the review are of the 2 best rooms and do not reflect all the other rooms.
We paid extra for a double room and own bathroom and it was like a prison cell! with a tiny high up window.
The walls must be made of meringue as you can hear everything, even conversations at reception at the other end of the hall.
On top of being overcharged for a terrible room they added 5% (EUR15) to our bill for paying with a visa debit card!

Room Tip: Pot luck if you get a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed at this hostel this weekend just gone.We picked it for the closeness and proximity to La Rambla and the centre of Barcelona.However, be aware, to stay here, YOU MUST BE A VERY DEEP SLEEPER!!!! The hostel is so noisy, from seagulls to TV's blasting to running showers and cleaners moving furniture about in the early morning!!! Me and my partner hardly slept at all from the noise.We got a room with its own bathroom which was good but the room was tiny, with a small window, it did feel like sleeping in a prison cell unfortunately! The price for the hostel is well over for what you get and be aware THEY STING YOU FOR A 5% SERVICE CHARGE ON TOP WHEN PAYING WITH CREDIT CARD!! The hostel is clean and funkily decorated with a nice outside terrace and seating area, and there is a kitchen you can use with a kettle and fridge etc.The staff we dealt with were really friendly and helpful (giving maps and directions to various locations). However the main issues are the NOISE/SMALL ROOMS/OVERPRICING and it is hard to find as the hostel has no sign outside (we had to find it from looking at the numbers on the wall of the buildings, its number 13 incidentally, a few doors down from and on the same side of the street as the organic restaurant). Also if you're an easily worried person, there are a few prostitutes hanging around when you turn right down the bottom of the street! If you want a central location and don't mind lots of noise, then go, if you want a good night's kip, pick somewhere else!!

Room Tip: Maybe ask for the biggest room they have!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I only stayed for one night but I enjoyed the location of the hostel and friendliness of the staff! It was very clean and very comfortable. They were really nice to keep my luggage for me after checkout so that I could do a little more sightseeing before I left Barcelona! Totally recommend this place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knitcritter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Amazing hosts, super helpful and kind. They made the stay worthwhile.
Overall, this is a very cool (a lot of images and colors) and laid back hostel...with a real kitchen and tv common area / pc and wifi (not in all the hostel).
Few minutes far from La Rambla and La Boqueria, in the middle of Raval: a great experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krysty F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

The room i stayed was colorful and clean. The hostel is located in a very nice place, 2 min far from Rambla, metro station Liceu and a lot of places to go out or dinner. Other than that, the staff is very honest and helpful. I left a small bag with money on it, it was the money for the rest of my trip, and they kept it for me! I

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Gracia
Generator Hostel Barcelona
Generator Hostel Barcelona
#22 of 736 in Barcelona
1,600 reviews
Garden House Hostel Barcelona
#122 of 308 in Barcelona
108 reviews
Urbany Barcelona Hostel
#67 of 736 in Barcelona
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#101 of 516 in Barcelona
3,893 reviews
Barcelona City North
#205 of 308 in Barcelona
89 reviews
Hesperia Sant Joan
#211 of 516 in Barcelona
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downtown Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Hostel

Address: 13 Ppal., 08001 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Downtown Paraiso Hostel)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #344 of 736 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range: $33 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Downtown Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Hostel offers you comfortable and affordable accommodation on a perfect location. Situated in central Barcelona, 150 meters from the Ramblas, La Boqueria Market and the main tourist attractions, our place is designed for you to have a great time on a warm and friendly atmosphere. There are three subway stations that allow you to access all the others: Liceu (L3, Green), San Antoni (L2, Violet) and Poble Sec (L3, Green)The Hostel has no curfew, no lock out, it's open 24hs. Easy to reach from all Airports, Bus and Train Stations and surrounded by cafes, restaurants, theaters, supermarkets, bakeries, laundromats, post office, and of course nightlife! Also available for guests use is a lounge and cable TV/DVD room with international channels. Hang out in the common room and chat with new friends or relax with a movie on our plasma TV (choose some DVD for free at the front desk!) Free High speed Internet access is available as well as free WiFi access for guests with their own laptop.Our multilingual staff is on hand to answer your queries 24hs. Downtown Hostel is your home away from home and a brilliant place for making friends and enjoy all the sights Barcelona has to offer! We hope to see you son! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Downtown Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Paraiso Hotel Barcelona
Downtown Hostel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing