We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good tapas but cheated me by applying a currency exchange to my credit card bill without asking first”
Review of Tapa Tapa

Tapa Tapa
Ranked #3,515 of 9,770 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $12 - $23
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Eixample
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good tapas but cheated me by applying a currency exchange to my credit card bill without asking first”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

I'm sorry to have to criticize as I would recommend this tapas bar highly on the choice of tapas, service and location on the passeig de gracia. However, without asking me, they chose to convert my credit card payment from euros into £, at their own rate, so charging a 2% markup. This is outrageous but as my spanish is limited (not limited enough to know that I wasn't given the choice though) there was nothing I could do. Please beware and if your spanish is good enough be clear that you want to pay in euros!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,691 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    383
    854
    719
    362
    373
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“negletive service makes for poor experience”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

On the surface Tapa Tapa seemed promising.. great location, open throughout the afternoon, which is convenient when dining with kids and a large selections of tapas.
We arrived at about 6 PM and the place was empty, but other than attending to their guests the waitresses much preferred to talk among themselves.
We were seated and waited to get menus. When that didn't happen, we got up and ask for menus.. we then had to remind the waitress again that we are ready to order.
We ordered a few tapas and a paella. The tapas arrived quickly and were of average quality but the paella never did arrive. When we finally gave up and decided to head elsewhere, the paella was still on our bill. When we asked for it to be removed it turned out it takes 30 minutes to prepare a paella, but of course no one bothered to mention that when we ordered.

We left with a bad taste and will not come back again..

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelingbunch123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Croatia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

It was excellent. The waitress was very sweet. The restaurant is very clean and the food was very good!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Antonella G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Tasty Tapas!”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

This joint was recommended to me by a few people re. getting quick and tasty tapas dishes; all dishes were exactly that, and I'd be happy to return to this restaurant esp. given its very central location.
I think that there are a few restaurants called 'Tapas Tapas', so be careful not to get them confused.
(Remember that reviews can be absolute or comparative!)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Niro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle area
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nice Selection”
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

We ate at Topa Topa three straight nights. It is convenient to our Hotel SixtyTwo location and the variety and quality are top notch. We especially enjoyed the seafood salad, Russian salad, colamares, mussels, and grilled vegetables. Topped by a good European beer and friendly service for about 30 Euros for the two of us to enjoy two or three dishes each.

Hard to beat.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank JohnFabian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tapa Tapa also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Tapa Tapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing