We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Creative food, great atmosphere and special service!!”
Review of Rosal 34

Rosal 34
Ranked #841 of 9,540 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Spanish, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Montjuic
Ridgefield, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Creative food, great atmosphere and special service!!”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We were there in April. We'd been to many wonderful restaurants in both Madrid and Barcelona but Rosal 34 topped them all! We went with the tasting menu which was supposed to come with 7 plates but the chef sent over a couple of extras at no cost...including an amazing dessert mousse that had chocolate dipped chocolate on the side. We were also treated to an incredible walnut liquor - just amazing. We were so impressed with the creative tapas, the atmosphere and the wonderful chef who we were able to watch as he put together these creations. DO not miss this restaurant!! Its in a cute neighborhood with little windy roads.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    59
    25
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Liked it - a LOT!”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

After a few days in Barcelona, we spent the last night at Rosal 34. After some days with tapas it was really nice to end it all with surprisingly different and very tasty up-scale version. Friendly and helping staff, relaxing atmosphere and fabulous food! And a good selection of nice (and not too expensive) local red wines. Rosal have a couple of bottles of nice Grappa that just rounded of this perfect dinner. Hughly recommended, and I know for sure that I will visit it again next time in Barcelona.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cato D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

We took the tapas menu for 30 € per person and it was amazing. 7 different plates of modern tapas - something we would have not expected. A couple of glasses of cava and two coffees altogether about 70 €. Not bad at all.

We would recommend this restaurant to anyone!

Helpful?
1 Thank Rosmo33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“An eye-opening experience; not your standard tapas”
Reviewed March 9, 2012

I can only reiterate what other reviewers have said. The tasting menu is exemplary and well worth the price.

Just a few things more, though. We found that every dish that was served carried with it some "wow" factor—something subtle that revealed a creative cunning of the chef, some combination that both stunned and appealed, or just something that we'd never seen before. This is a place where the chef is enthused and the service staff carry the spirit.

Just a few clarifications on the tasting menu: the fois gras is topped with flaked sea salt and served with a fig confiture. The artichokes were exquisite, steamed to proper tenderness, the thistle scooped out, the contents of a quail egg put in its place, broiled to a crisp on top and then topped with tobiko (flying fish roe). The mousse of patatas bravas was amusing in its presentation, looking more like a dessert, but stunning in it's layered complexity.

The atmosphere here is pleasant. Yes, it's not dark and romantic, but neither is it harsh and blinding. The light tone is warm, bright and pleasant; candles won't cast a flicker, but at least you can see the wonder of the food you're getting.

Don't miss this place. If you do, just know that the people who got your table aren't going to be sorry about that.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SageSalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SATU MARE
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“too expansive”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

we paid for a few tapas 60 euro.They tasted ok but i think it was too expansive.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank GOASCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosal 34 also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Rosal 34? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing