We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brillian Sangria!”
Review of Taverna El Glop

Taverna El Glop
Ranked #339 of 9,610 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $36
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Gracia
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Brillian Sangria!”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

What more can I say than 10 euro Sangria!!! Friendly service, great food, good atmosphere and potent Sangria! Don't be put off by the tacky/uninviting exterior - the food is good and well worth it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    444
    345
    96
    34
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Friendly Home made meal~”
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

We chose this restaurant after reading tripadvisor review n we were tired of tapas :p the staff were friendly, food was nice but you really need to ask how they cook it as it was a bit different from our expectation. we ordered half liter sangria and I doubt if they actually gave us 1L!! A bit too sweet for me but not bad~~ will definitely go an try some other dishes!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trip2theMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“ Local surprise, great food, great service”
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

After visiting park quell we decided to visit the restaurant from the reviews. Service was perfect, food is local and tasty, specially octopus with patotos ...
Go there... Enjoy

Helpful?
Thank Can Y
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Amazing value”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We chanced on this restaurant in the street next to our hotel on our very last night and, despite the off-putting name (what IS the English translation??), decided to save our sore feet from any more walking and took a pavement table.

The food was a treat and such good value. I had an amazing fish soup which arrived in a tureen and was ladled out so that my dish was brimming with a delightful stock and huge shell-on prawns, langoustine, clams, mussels and rice. I would have been happy to have nothing else but had ordered the 'secreto' pork which arrived as an enormous flattened pork fillet, well seasoned and griddled. Only disappointment was the fried potatoes which I had expected to be fried chunks - like patatas bravas without the bravas - but were chips, though very nice chips. My friend was equally enthusiastic about her onion soup - topped, as in France, which cheesey bread - and salad with cod and artichokes, a seasonal special.

Cost, with a half bottle of red wine and mineral water (I was off the drink by this stage!) was under 50eu for two.

The only disadvantage to outdoor eating is passing (and dining) smokers but Brits have so few chances to eat al fresco that it was a shame to sit indoors on a warm night.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dottie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São José dos Campos
Level Contributor
93 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent value in Barcelona”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Excellent restaurant by downtown Barcelona, I wished I had found it sooner! I would have eaten better and cheaper in Barcelona, myself and my wife went there twice in our last day in Barcelona, first for lunch, we were warmly welcome, we ordered two paellas, used to the single portion size we have been getting, and were surprised by two big pans! We could have ordered just one, and better, very well done, I don''t remember last time I got so well coocked calamari, prawns, etc, tender and coocked to perfection, we got a sangria jar, very good as well, they used good wine, and all that for around 35 euro, we went back for dinner and again tried what we thought were just two tapas, a beef grilled and a charcutery - botifarra - with a salad, a bier and an orange juice, as we were not really hungry after good lunch, an again, good surprise! full sized portions, this time we adventured to share a desert, and paid only 25 euros! A must go place if you are in Barcelona, good coock, good prices, friendly staff, good space, all good!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexandre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna El Glop also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Taverna El Glop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing