We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BarcelonaBB

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
BarcelonaBB
Ranked #4 of 325 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

I'll start off by saying I struggled a little bit deciding where to stay in Barcelona, but was delighted we chose Barcelona B&B.

We arrived early (10am) and our room was already ready for us. We quickly freshened up and Kiku was kind enough to leave out breakfast for us so we could have a snack and a cup of coffee. He spent a good 30 minutes with us pointing out all the sites and suggesting a few restaurants near the hotel. One of the restaurants Kiku suggested was Morryson's and we had a fabulous time there. We struck up a conversation with the locals sitting next to us and -- between their good English and my bad Spanish -- we got a few suggestions of things to do around the city. We had a pitcher of Sangria and several tapas and our bill was ~25 Euros. They also had free internet, which was a big plus!

A few notes on Barcelona:
--We took the bus to Plaza Catalunya and then a cab to the hotel. This cost us roughly 18 Euros in total, which is more than taking the subway, but much less than taking a cab directly from the airport.
--I was apprehensive about the location of the B&B, thinking I wanted to be closer to Las Ramblas. As it turns out, I was really glad to be in Eixample! Las Ramblas is extremely busy and crowded and it was nice to be in a quiter area at night.
--I really struggled with how much time to spend in Barcelona. We ended up spending three nights at Barcelona B&B and then two nights at the Hilton Diagonal and am glad we went with this schedule. The beds at the B&B are not overly comfortable and after three days I, personally, was ready for my own bathroom. We are able to see all the sites we wanted to see in Barcelona in three days and then spent a day on the beach relaxing before we were onto our next adventure.
--If you need to buy train tickets on RENFE -- I had a very difficult time even with all the tips I found on the internet. I used Petrabax -- a US based travel agent -- and they were great. They charge a bit more than buying from RENFE direct, but are much less than Rail Europe.

Hope you have an amazing trip!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ESAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    51
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
65
263
55
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2011

This B&B is the BEST place to stay on your travels to Barcelona. Kiku and John are so great! On our first day Kiku sat with us for an hour telling us where to go and what to do. We took all of his suggestions and everything was perfect. Especially his restaurant suggestions! We had a great time the next day chatting with both Kiku and John about Barcelona football. We were so happy to hear that Barcelona won the Championship against Man U! The rooms were very spacious and nice. Breakfast was great And the location was PERFECT! great access to metro! To get to the airport from here we just hopped on the Metro to the train station (Sants Estancio) and then hopped on the Renfe train to the airport. Super easy and super cheap! We had such a wonderful time and we cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank irishchk333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW ORLEANS
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2011

My friend and I visited Barcelona this April and had a wonderful experience. My first impression was the beautiful and very friendly B&B. It is located in a very lovely and safe neighborhood. It is very clean and has a homey and welcoming feel with great people. It is very centrally located making your excursions very manageable. We loved it there and have made special friends that we hope to keep in touch with for a very long time. Thanks for the memories.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ginnypearl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
Level Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2011

My friend and I stayed here for a girls getaway for 5 days prior to going on a cruise. It was the PERFECT place to really have a 'home' base to see the sights in Barcelona. Our taxi driver was great - cost just under 30Euros from the airport and he waited to make sure we were at the right place. Once inside, Kiku gave us a run down, even marking out places to eat and prices on the maps we had - and every single restaurant we checked out was exactly as he said and delicious! (compared to randomly stopping at restaurants, as we made the occational mistake of doing, that LOOKED nice but didnt have great food). He was knowledgeable about so much in the city and how to get around to different tourist areas and what places to miss.

The house was pristine, we stayed in the Yellow room which was great for the 2 of us, the decorations through out were perfect, big screen tv in the lounge, super comfy couches, free fast wifi access (we brought laptops), yummy breakfast in the morning with coffee waiting, totally well cleaned bathrooms with hot water and good pressure. It was a dream to stay here.

We walked everyday to a major tourist attraction, missed the colossal lineup at the Sagrada Familia by pre-buying tickets as Kiku told us how to, took the tourist bus for 2 days to orient ourselves to different areas, then walked up and down Passig de Gracia (4 blocks away) and window shopped.

I really can't recommend this place more. it was a perfect place to stay in Barcelona

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chocolatetwistcone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2011

My friend and I spent a week in Barcelona that turned out to be delightful largely due to the help and advice of our B&B hosts. After flying overnight we were welcomed by Kiku with the offer of coffee/tea and lots of practical advice. His guidance made it easier for us to navigate the city and locate wonderful eateries and tourist sites. We weren't disappointed with any of his recommendations. He also helped us out with some credit card glitches we had. The B&B itself is in a great location, within walking distance of La Sagrada Familia, the Mercat de Concepcion, many restaurants,and two metro stops that took us everywhere. Each morning we received a lovely breakfast that gave us sustenance for our day of sightseeing. We were able to make use of the B&B's laptop and the many travel and art books available in the living area. Our bedroom, the Yellow room, was more than adequate by European standards. We could hear street traffic, but not enough to keep me awake at night. I would certainly recommend this B&B to anyone who is looking for a very reasonably priced, centrally located place to stay that has the added feature of a charming host who makes you feel at home.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ChasingBirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2011

Barcelona B & B is one of the best finds in Barcelona. Minutes away from a metro stop, only a fifteen minute walk from the Sagrada Familia and other attractions it is the best place to make your temporary home. The minute you enter the beautiful apartment you feel welcome. Kiku and John go out of their way to make sure you understand the transit system and how to get to your destination. They are a font of information about Barcelona and the surrounding area. While visiting Barcelona I took a day trip to Figueres to the Dali Museum and Kiku made sure I had the train situation down before I left.
The apartment is spotless and beautifully decorated. As has been stated before, if you are looking for room service and other hotel amenities this is not for you. This is a home and you will be made to feel like part of the family. As a single traveler this made my Barcelona experience one I'll never forget.
Breakfast is delicious with coffee that competes with Starbucks, and wins!! Kiku even explained the differences between the kinds of ham that you sample. It's fun to visit with other travelers and share stories as well.
Everything about this establishment is top notch. This is the place to stay when you visit Barcelona!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trav2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2011

I prefer to stay at B&Bs when I travel because I dislike the sterile, impersonal feeling in a hotel setting. Barcelona B&B offered a comfortable, friendly setting and much more! When we arrived bleary-eyed from an overnight flight, Kiku offered us coffee and tea, and proceeded to give us an overview of the city, its restaurants, transit, museums, etc. While at first overwhelming, everything he marked on our map was indispensable. We stayed in the yellow room which overlooks the street. As a light sleeper, the street noise didn't bother me in the least. The living area is very comfortable, and a perfect place to get to know the other guests. A lovely breakfast of several Spanish hams (we received an informative tutorial from Kiku) and cheese, croissants and jams, juice, coffee, tea, etc. are offered each morning. There is a laptop available for guests, and many volumes of books on Barcelona, Spain, Gaudi, etc. The bathroom is spotless and hot water is never a problem. In terms of location, you are minutes away from La Sagrada Familia on foot, and there are metro stops within a few blocks that can take you anywhere in Barcelona. Kiku is a wonderful and caring host, and he goes out of his way to make his guests feel at home. A reminder that a B&B is not a hotel; if you want room service and television, this is not for you. If on the other hand you want to feel welcome in a home-away-from-home, this place fits the bill.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 522 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#35 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#6 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
Eixample
Barcino 147
Barcino 147
#2 of 325 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Gracia
Yeah Barcelona Hostel
Yeah Barcelona Hostel
#3 of 760 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BarcelonaBB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BarcelonaBB

Property: BarcelonaBB
Address: Mallorca corner of Girona, 08037 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 325 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our B&B is in the center of Barcelona, in the heart of the Art Noveau district, steps away from Passeig the Gracia and its Gaudi Houses, also from la Sagrada Familia and most places of interest. We are in a beautiful Art Noveau building in a flat with high ceilings typical "Modernista". Our B&B is very warm as well as tastefuly decorated for your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your BarcelonaBB reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelonabb Hotel Barcelona
BarcelonaBB Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing